System unresponsive during 1st backup

Backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)

System unresponsive during 1st backup

Veeam Logoby VeaamGuy » Wed May 11, 2016 12:20 am

Hi,
Am quite impressed with Veeam endpoint backup. The value it has as a free product is amazing.

One small glitch we noticed though. My colleague installed Endpoint and ran the backup, since the laptop is connected to an IP phone its limited to a 100MB network and was affecting her ability to use the laptop. I on the other hand am not using an IP phone so get the 1GB speed and hence did not notice and issues at all.
I can see that Veeam does have a throttling option but its just a tick box and isn't not quite elaborate. Previous products we used like shadow protect would let us specify the exact max percentage of resources the backup job was allowed to use. Is this something that will be released in a future version?

PS Wasn't able to raise an email ticket through the app as smtp ports are blocked in our environment.
VeaamGuy
Influencer
 
Posts: 21
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 4:11 am
Full Name: Rushad Irani

Re: System unresponsive during 1st backup

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Wed May 11, 2016 11:48 pm

Rushad,
I can see that Veeam does have a throttling option but its just a tick box

Being enabled - throttling option change the priory of all VEB processes to ‘Background’ (lowest priority in the OS) and let the operating system handle the process scheduling.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6249
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: System unresponsive during 1st backup

Veeam Logoby VeaamGuy » Thu May 12, 2016 5:02 am

Hi Dima,

Dima P. wrote:Rushad,

Being enabled - throttling option change the priory of all VEB processes to ‘Background’ (lowest priority in the OS) and let the operating system handle the process scheduling.


So no further planned changes/improvements on this one I am guessing. Reason for asking is because the way the current option works isn't effective in our case.

Hoping this is an isolated issue as we have just started using it recently and are quite happy with it otherwise.
VeaamGuy
Influencer
 
Posts: 21
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 4:11 am
Full Name: Rushad Irani


Return to Veeam Agent for Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 7 guests