Standalone backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)
Post Reply
SRMETAS
Influencer
Posts: 20
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Apr 10, 2015 4:59 am
Full Name: Simon Roggli
Location: Bern, Switzerland
Contact:

VAW Configuraion API

Post by SRMETAS » Feb 01, 2017 6:55 am

If i want to deploy veeam agent for windows with sccm or another tool i don't want to manually configure each agent.
Is there a possibility to provide a config file or something else?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22431
Liked: 1442 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Veeam Agent for Windows 2.0

Post by Vitaliy S. » Feb 01, 2017 8:50 pm

Yes, that would be possible to do in the paid edition of Veeam Agent for Windows (see beta blog post for more details). Remote deployment and configuration of agents is also going to be available in Veeam Availability Console.

SRMETAS
Influencer
Posts: 20
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Apr 10, 2015 4:59 am
Full Name: Simon Roggli
Location: Bern, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Veeam Agent for Windows 2.0

Post by SRMETAS » Feb 02, 2017 7:05 am

Thanks Vitaliy but i cant find any information how to do it. Is there a Whitepaper? I have the Beta already installed and i want to test it before the test license period runs out.

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 9911
Liked: 789 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: VAW Configuraion API

Post by Dima P. » Feb 02, 2017 2:11 pm

Simon,

Do you have VAW 2.0 Beta installed?

BrentBPPI
Service Provider
Posts: 43
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 02, 2017 4:11 pm
Full Name: Brent Barnett
Contact:

Re: VAW Configuraion API

Post by BrentBPPI » Feb 02, 2017 4:15 pm

I am testing the Beta and have an agent installed configured to use a Veeam 9.5 Update 1 backup repository and see nothing on the backup server allowing me to make any changes.

I do have the trial licenses installed and the agent is showing a server license. (proof being I enabled indexing and SQL logs).

Do I need to install something on the backup server to control the agents?

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 9911
Liked: 789 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: VAW Configuraion API

Post by Dima P. » Feb 02, 2017 5:26 pm

Hi,
Do I need to install something on the backup server to control the agents?
No. Agent management is not supported from Veeam B&R console.

Management API is a set of cmd commands (i.e. install license / import config xml / export config xml).

BrentBPPI
Service Provider
Posts: 43
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 02, 2017 4:11 pm
Full Name: Brent Barnett
Contact:

Re: VAW Configuraion API

Post by BrentBPPI » Feb 02, 2017 5:37 pm

The quote below sure sounds like you can do a lot more than install a license.

"Yes, that would be possible to do in the paid edition of Veeam Agent for Windows (see beta blog post for more details). Remote deployment and configuration of agents is also going to be available in Veeam Availability Console."

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 9911
Liked: 789 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: VAW Configuraion API

Post by Dima P. » Feb 02, 2017 5:42 pm

Brent,

You can import /export job configuration via GPO, scripting or third party deployment tools, so it’s not only abut license installation.

NWeigel
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 17, 2017 2:27 pm
Full Name: Nathan Weigel
Location: Wisconsin
Contact:

Re: VAW Configuraion API

Post by NWeigel » Feb 17, 2017 5:38 pm

When you export the configuration file, where does the config file go?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22431
Liked: 1442 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: VAW Configuraion API

Post by Vitaliy S. » Feb 20, 2017 10:42 am

Should be in the same folder where VAW product is installed to.

tdewin
Veeam Software
Posts: 1381
Liked: 454 times
Joined: Mar 02, 2012 1:40 pm
Full Name: Timothy Dewin
Contact:

Re: VAW Configuraion API

Post by tdewin » Feb 20, 2017 12:15 pm

NWeigel wrote:When you export the configuration file, where does the config file go?
The export tool itself is in the program files folder but I believe the config is dumped by default to %programdata%\Veeam\Endpoint\!Configuration\Config.xml

NWeigel
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 17, 2017 2:27 pm
Full Name: Nathan Weigel
Location: Wisconsin
Contact:

Re: VAW Configuraion API

Post by NWeigel » Feb 20, 2017 4:48 pm

Thanks for the reply! I have a problem getting the import to work. Can you show me an example of a batch command to use? I have a feeling my formatting is off on the command and I cannot seem to find an example anywhere.
Thanks!

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 9911
Liked: 789 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: VAW Configuraion API

Post by Dima P. » Feb 20, 2017 8:20 pm

Nathan,

Check this port and let me know if it helps.

NWeigel
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 17, 2017 2:27 pm
Full Name: Nathan Weigel
Location: Wisconsin
Contact:

Re: VAW Configuraion API

Post by NWeigel » Feb 21, 2017 3:41 pm

That does help but I am getting an "invalid email notification occurred" error when I try to import. Any ideas as to what would cause that?

tdewin
Veeam Software
Posts: 1381
Liked: 454 times
Joined: Mar 02, 2012 1:40 pm
Full Name: Timothy Dewin
Contact:

Re: VAW Configuraion API

Post by tdewin » Feb 21, 2017 7:25 pm

Hi Nathan, that is a known issue that is already reported with the beta. Here is some of my ps code to fix it. $xmlstring should contain the xml output from the export (eg, you can use something like $xmlstring = get-content config.xml)

Code: Select all

 
$xmlobj = [xml]$xmlstring
$null = $xmlobj.ExecutionResult.Data.AppSettings.RemoveChild($xmlobj.ExecutionResult.Data.AppSettings.NotificationSettings)
$xmlobj.ExecutionResult.Data.JobInfo.RetentionInfo.RestorePointsCount = "4"
$xmlstring = $xmlobj.OuterXml
Basically, you didn't configure the email settings so during export, the to, from and server are exported as an empty string (you can validate this in the xml file by opening it with notepad). However during import this is refused. So removing the notifcationsettings completely fixes this. Alternatively, you can fill in to, from and server with some fake values. The third line is actually an example on how you can change the amount of restore points. At the end you should write $xmlstring again to a config file (e.g with $xmlstring | set-content -path config.xml)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DGrinev, GianlucaCroci and 17 guests