-
- Enthusiast
- Posts: 29
- Liked: 3 times
- Joined: Apr 10, 2015 4:59 am
- Full Name: Simon Roggli
- Location: Bern, Switzerland
- Contact:
VAW Configuraion API
If i want to deploy veeam agent for windows with sccm or another tool i don't want to manually configure each agent.
Is there a possibility to provide a config file or something else?
Is there a possibility to provide a config file or something else?
-
- VP, Product Management
- Posts: 27475
- Liked: 2827 times
- Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
- Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
- Contact:
Re: Veeam Agent for Windows 2.0
Yes, that would be possible to do in the paid edition of Veeam Agent for Windows (see beta blog post for more details). Remote deployment and configuration of agents is also going to be available in Veeam Availability Console.
-
- Enthusiast
- Posts: 29
- Liked: 3 times
- Joined: Apr 10, 2015 4:59 am
- Full Name: Simon Roggli
- Location: Bern, Switzerland
- Contact:
Re: Veeam Agent for Windows 2.0
Thanks Vitaliy but i cant find any information how to do it. Is there a Whitepaper? I have the Beta already installed and i want to test it before the test license period runs out.
-
- Product Manager
- Posts: 14793
- Liked: 1728 times
- Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
- Full Name: Dmitry Popov
- Location: Prague
- Contact:
Re: VAW Configuraion API
Simon,
Do you have VAW 2.0 Beta installed?
Do you have VAW 2.0 Beta installed?
-
- Service Provider
- Posts: 43
- Liked: 1 time
- Joined: Feb 02, 2017 4:11 pm
- Full Name: Brent Barnett
Re: VAW Configuraion API
I am testing the Beta and have an agent installed configured to use a Veeam 9.5 Update 1 backup repository and see nothing on the backup server allowing me to make any changes.
I do have the trial licenses installed and the agent is showing a server license. (proof being I enabled indexing and SQL logs).
Do I need to install something on the backup server to control the agents?
I do have the trial licenses installed and the agent is showing a server license. (proof being I enabled indexing and SQL logs).
Do I need to install something on the backup server to control the agents?
-
- Product Manager
- Posts: 14793
- Liked: 1728 times
- Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
- Full Name: Dmitry Popov
- Location: Prague
- Contact:
Re: VAW Configuraion API
Hi,
Management API is a set of cmd commands (i.e. install license / import config xml / export config xml).
No. Agent management is not supported from Veeam B&R console.Do I need to install something on the backup server to control the agents?
Management API is a set of cmd commands (i.e. install license / import config xml / export config xml).
-
- Service Provider
- Posts: 43
- Liked: 1 time
- Joined: Feb 02, 2017 4:11 pm
- Full Name: Brent Barnett
Re: VAW Configuraion API
The quote below sure sounds like you can do a lot more than install a license.
"Yes, that would be possible to do in the paid edition of Veeam Agent for Windows (see beta blog post for more details). Remote deployment and configuration of agents is also going to be available in Veeam Availability Console."
"Yes, that would be possible to do in the paid edition of Veeam Agent for Windows (see beta blog post for more details). Remote deployment and configuration of agents is also going to be available in Veeam Availability Console."
-
- Product Manager
- Posts: 14793
- Liked: 1728 times
- Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
- Full Name: Dmitry Popov
- Location: Prague
- Contact:
Re: VAW Configuraion API
Brent,
You can import /export job configuration via GPO, scripting or third party deployment tools, so it’s not only abut license installation.
You can import /export job configuration via GPO, scripting or third party deployment tools, so it’s not only abut license installation.
-
- Novice
- Posts: 3
- Liked: never
- Joined: Feb 17, 2017 2:27 pm
- Full Name: Nathan Weigel
- Location: Wisconsin
- Contact:
Re: VAW Configuraion API
When you export the configuration file, where does the config file go?
-
- VP, Product Management
- Posts: 27475
- Liked: 2827 times
- Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
- Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
- Contact:
Re: VAW Configuraion API
Should be in the same folder where VAW product is installed to.
-
- Veeam Software
- Posts: 1828
- Liked: 657 times
- Joined: Mar 02, 2012 1:40 pm
- Full Name: Timothy Dewin
- Contact:
Re: VAW Configuraion API
The export tool itself is in the program files folder but I believe the config is dumped by default to %programdata%\Veeam\Endpoint\!Configuration\Config.xmlNWeigel wrote:When you export the configuration file, where does the config file go?
-
- Novice
- Posts: 3
- Liked: never
- Joined: Feb 17, 2017 2:27 pm
- Full Name: Nathan Weigel
- Location: Wisconsin
- Contact:
Re: VAW Configuraion API
Thanks for the reply! I have a problem getting the import to work. Can you show me an example of a batch command to use? I have a feeling my formatting is off on the command and I cannot seem to find an example anywhere.
Thanks!
Thanks!
-
- Product Manager
- Posts: 14793
- Liked: 1728 times
- Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
- Full Name: Dmitry Popov
- Location: Prague
- Contact:
-
- Novice
- Posts: 3
- Liked: never
- Joined: Feb 17, 2017 2:27 pm
- Full Name: Nathan Weigel
- Location: Wisconsin
- Contact:
Re: VAW Configuraion API
That does help but I am getting an "invalid email notification occurred" error when I try to import. Any ideas as to what would cause that?
-
- Veeam Software
- Posts: 1828
- Liked: 657 times
- Joined: Mar 02, 2012 1:40 pm
- Full Name: Timothy Dewin
- Contact:
Re: VAW Configuraion API
Hi Nathan, that is a known issue that is already reported with the beta. Here is some of my ps code to fix it. $xmlstring should contain the xml output from the export (eg, you can use something like $xmlstring = get-content config.xml)
Basically, you didn't configure the email settings so during export, the to, from and server are exported as an empty string (you can validate this in the xml file by opening it with notepad). However during import this is refused. So removing the notifcationsettings completely fixes this. Alternatively, you can fill in to, from and server with some fake values. The third line is actually an example on how you can change the amount of restore points. At the end you should write $xmlstring again to a config file (e.g with $xmlstring | set-content -path config.xml)
Code: Select all
$xmlobj = [xml]$xmlstring
$null = $xmlobj.ExecutionResult.Data.AppSettings.RemoveChild($xmlobj.ExecutionResult.Data.AppSettings.NotificationSettings)
$xmlobj.ExecutionResult.Data.JobInfo.RetentionInfo.RestorePointsCount = "4"
$xmlstring = $xmlobj.OuterXml
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests