Maintain control of your Microsoft Office 365 email data
Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
Posts: 5000
Liked: 530 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Feature Request - Excluded Mailboxes

Post by Mike Resseler » Apr 13, 2017 4:49 am

Hi Larry,

For now you should exclude those mailboxes manually by editing the job (disable first).

What type of mailboxes are those?

larryg
Influencer
Posts: 23
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Aug 10, 2016 1:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Feature Request - Excluded Mailboxes

Post by larryg » Apr 13, 2017 12:53 pm

But I thought you said update one would change them from Error to Warning?

I'm not sure what you mean by type. They are all valid AD accounts, that were in our Exchange before we migrated, but were never assigned O365 licenses.

larryg
Influencer
Posts: 23
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Aug 10, 2016 1:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Feature Request - Excluded Mailboxes

Post by larryg » Apr 13, 2017 12:57 pm

Also - There is only a manual INCLUDE option, right? So I have to select the mailboxes I want backed up? Then, if a new one is added, it won't be included automatically?

Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
Posts: 5000
Liked: 530 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Feature Request - Excluded Mailboxes

Post by Mike Resseler » Apr 13, 2017 1:01 pm

Hi Larry,

If you choose: All mailboxes, then new ones get included automatically but if you use the selection then they won't. We are looking into changing that so that you can select all mailboxes but exclude certain ones (and new ones get added automatically). But that is something we hope to have in our next version

So for those mailboxes that are unlicensed, they are basically mailboxes that are sitting in your O365 account but are disabled?

larryg
Influencer
Posts: 23
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Aug 10, 2016 1:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Feature Request - Excluded Mailboxes

Post by larryg » Apr 13, 2017 1:04 pm

Mike Resseler wrote:Hi Larry,

So for those mailboxes that are unlicensed, they are basically mailboxes that are sitting in your O365 account but are disabled?
Well, not disabled so much as never enabled. They were created in O365 when we migrated, but licenses were never assigned, so they've never done anything as far as O365 is concerned.

Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
Posts: 5000
Liked: 530 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Feature Request - Excluded Mailboxes

Post by Mike Resseler » Apr 13, 2017 1:46 pm

Ah, got it. Thanks for that extra information.

larryg
Influencer
Posts: 23
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Aug 10, 2016 1:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Feature Request - Excluded Mailboxes

Post by larryg » Apr 13, 2017 1:48 pm

Any update on when the reporting will change from Error to Warning, for non licensed accounts?

Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
Posts: 5000
Liked: 530 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Feature Request - Excluded Mailboxes

Post by Mike Resseler » Apr 13, 2017 3:40 pm 1 person likes this post

Unfortunately I don't know that at this moment. Hopefully in the next version

Kostya
Veeam Software
Posts: 104
Liked: 28 times
Joined: Jun 18, 2012 9:38 am
Full Name: Kostya Yasyuk
Contact:

Re: Feature Request - Excluded Mailboxes

Post by Kostya » Apr 21, 2017 6:43 pm

Fake disabled job can be used as a temporary workaround to exclude some mailboxes from the All mailboxes job. Just create a new job and add mailboxes you want to exclude into that job, once done All mailboxes job would skip them, because they are already in another one.

larryg
Influencer
Posts: 23
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Aug 10, 2016 1:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Feature Request - Excluded Mailboxes

Post by larryg » Apr 21, 2017 7:13 pm

Kostya wrote:Fake disabled job can be used as a temporary workaround to exclude some mailboxes from the All mailboxes job. Just create a new job and add mailboxes you want to exclude into that job, once done All mailboxes job would skip them, because they are already in another one.
I just created a new job, added the accounts without licenses, saved it, then disabled it. I'm leaving now, but hopefully when I get in on Monday I will not have error reports from my 'backup all' job.

larryg
Influencer
Posts: 23
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Aug 10, 2016 1:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Feature Request - Excluded Mailboxes

Post by larryg » Apr 25, 2017 3:38 pm 1 person likes this post

Kostya - That worked. I am no longer getting Error emails.

Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests