Maintain control of your Microsoft Office 365 email data
GregorS
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 31
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Apr 10, 2013 12:11 pm
Full Name: Gregor Smerke
Location: Ljubljana, SI - Slovenija
Contact:

Feature Request - Excluded Mailboxes

Post by GregorS » Jan 17, 2017 12:46 pm

I badly need to exclude some mailboxes, after I created a backup job and checked "Backup all mailboxes". Some unlicensed mailboxes were created recently and the backup job is now failing for them and each time sending me an e-mail notification about this benign error.

Regards
Gregor

Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
Posts: 4988
Liked: 525 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Feature Request - Excluded Mailboxes

Post by Mike Resseler » Jan 18, 2017 6:24 am

Hi Gregor,

1. You should be able to edit the job again (disable it first) and then instead of choosing backup all mailboxes, choose only the correct ones (without those unlicensed ones)
2. In Update 1 we have changed the behavior of the solution when we come across those. We will now give a warning and not an error anymore. Update 1 should be out very soon

Mike

cdlane
Enthusiast
Posts: 51
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Aug 09, 2015 5:48 pm
Full Name: Chris Lane
Contact:

Re: Feature Request - Excluded Mailboxes

Post by cdlane » Jan 18, 2017 11:50 am

Hi Mike,

I just came across this after posting here --> veeam-backup-for-microsoft-office-365-f ... 55-60.html

A job option to "Exclude unlicensed mailboxes" may be useful. Due to the (historic) structure of our on-prem AD, it is easier to DirSync (or what ever it's called now) the entire OU etc to Azure...which includes the Administrator account. It doesn't require a mailbox so I'm not going to waste a license on it.

Just an idea...(now I really must get back to re-structuring my AD...ooohh a YouTube video of a kitten!)

Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
Posts: 4988
Liked: 525 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Feature Request - Excluded Mailboxes

Post by Mike Resseler » Jan 18, 2017 11:56 am

Chris,

What surprises me (as you stated in previous post) is that you never had an error before. That was the default behavior pre-update 1. Hence we made it into a warning. But I understand your concern and will take it with me on the table for a next version (no promises, as always ;-))

SSIRichard
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 01, 2017 3:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Feature Request - Excluded Mailboxes

Post by SSIRichard » Feb 01, 2017 5:10 pm

I would just like to throw my support behind this request. In our case, there are some rather large mailboxes that do not need to be backed up. Being able to just exclude those few cases would then allow us to not be concerned with changing the backup job when we add new employees/mailboxes.

satheesh
Enthusiast
Posts: 38
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 06, 2009 8:12 pm
Full Name: Satheesh Varadharajan
Contact:

Re: Feature Request - Excluded Mailboxes

Post by satheesh » Feb 05, 2017 9:26 am

Not to mention always to remember to add the mailbox to the backup job whenever a new user is created is very tiresom. Having "Backup all mailboxes" AND a simple exclude option is better than the implemeted feature as of now.

Just my two cents.
Satheesh.net

Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
Posts: 4988
Liked: 525 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Feature Request - Excluded Mailboxes

Post by Mike Resseler » Feb 05, 2017 9:35 am

Thanks all! All these items are good feedback. Keep it coming ;-)

Mike

JoshuaPostSAMC
Expert
Posts: 124
Liked: 17 times
Joined: Jul 30, 2015 7:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Feature Request - Excluded Mailboxes

Post by JoshuaPostSAMC » Feb 06, 2017 3:18 pm

+1 on both the option to exclude certain mailboxes while keeping any new mailboxes automatically inclued, and not backing up unlicensed accounts.

jonsibar
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 24, 2017 9:52 am
Contact:

Re: Feature Request - Excluded Mailboxes

Post by jonsibar » Feb 08, 2017 1:23 pm

+1 on the feature request! This would be a very welcome feature,

BSlattery
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 03, 2009 2:21 pm
Full Name: Brad Slattery
Contact:

Re: Feature Request - Excluded Mailboxes

Post by BSlattery » Mar 30, 2017 3:59 pm

+1 for this feature request.

rntguy
Service Provider
Posts: 82
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jan 29, 2016 8:31 pm
Full Name: Rnt Guy
Contact:

Re: Feature Request - Excluded Mailboxes

Post by rntguy » Apr 04, 2017 12:38 pm

Not sure if this feature is implied, but can a box be added where you've deselected some mailboxes but want all future new mailboxes to automatically get backed up? So you can exclude who you want but not have to constantly go in and turn on backups for new employees?

Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
Posts: 4988
Liked: 525 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Feature Request - Excluded Mailboxes

Post by Mike Resseler » Apr 04, 2017 12:42 pm

Hi Rnt Guy,

We are thinking in that direction indeed. A exclude selection that overrules the ALL mailboxes, but at the same time new mailboxes will get into the selection list. That is what you mean?

JoshuaPostSAMC
Expert
Posts: 124
Liked: 17 times
Joined: Jul 30, 2015 7:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Feature Request - Excluded Mailboxes

Post by JoshuaPostSAMC » Apr 10, 2017 2:53 pm

That is what I'm looking for.

larryg
Influencer
Posts: 23
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Aug 10, 2016 1:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Feature Request - Excluded Mailboxes

Post by larryg » Apr 12, 2017 7:27 pm

cdlane wrote:A job option to "Exclude unlicensed mailboxes" may be useful
I'd like to see this too.

larryg
Influencer
Posts: 23
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Aug 10, 2016 1:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Feature Request - Excluded Mailboxes

Post by larryg » Apr 12, 2017 7:29 pm

Mike Resseler wrote:Hi Gregor,

1. You should be able to edit the job again (disable it first) and then instead of choosing backup all mailboxes, choose only the correct ones (without those unlicensed ones)
2. In Update 1 we have changed the behavior of the solution when we come across those. We will now give a warning and not an error anymore. Update 1 should be out very soon

Mike
I have Update 1 installed and it still reports errors for unlicensed boxes.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests