Availability for the Always-On Enterprise
Post Reply
Bunce
Expert
Posts: 258
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Sep 18, 2009 9:56 am
Full Name: Andrew
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

Backing up source replica during planned failover

Post by Bunce » Nov 22, 2017 6:27 pm

Hi All,

We're doing our scheduled BCP testing tonight using failover to our replica's. Its a live test so we'll be running from our DR site for 48 hours and then either failing back, or 'undoing' failover depending on the nature of each VM.

I have a couple of questions:
  • If using planned failover I understand the source VM is automatically shutdown after the first sync and just prior to the second sync that picks up any remaining changes. I'm guessing we have no way to trigger the shutdown/final sync for scheduling & notification purposes? (given we can't be sure how long the first sync will take)
  • During failover is it possible to continue standard local backup jobs of the source replicas without corrupting or interrupting the failover process? The local backup jobs will be actioned from a local console while a separate console located in the DR is managing the failover process
Thanks.

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15140
Liked: 1141 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Backing up source replica during planned failover

Post by v.Eremin » Nov 23, 2017 11:08 am

If using planned failover I understand the source VM is automatically shutdown after the first sync and just prior to the second sync that picks up any remaining changes.
Correct.
I'm guessing we have no way to trigger the shutdown/final sync for scheduling & notification purposes?
Correct, it's done automatically, and there is no way to interact manually with that process.
During failover is it possible to continue standard local backup jobs of the source replicas without corrupting or interrupting the failover process?
No issues with such scenario.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16832
Liked: 1361 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Backing up source replica during planned failover

Post by foggy » Nov 23, 2017 11:52 am

Bunce wrote:During failover is it possible to continue standard local backup jobs of the source replicas without corrupting or interrupting the failover process? The local backup jobs will be actioned from a local console while a separate console located in the DR is managing the failover process
Since there are two different backup servers, make sure backup and replication/failover jobs do not overlap, if they concur for making the VM snapshot, this could result in unwanted consequences.

Bunce
Expert
Posts: 258
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Sep 18, 2009 9:56 am
Full Name: Andrew
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

Re: Backing up source replica during planned failover

Post by Bunce » Nov 28, 2017 10:34 am

Thanks all.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 33 guests