Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
icoleman_uk
Influencer
Posts: 12
Liked: never
Joined: May 07, 2015 3:40 pm
Full Name: Iain Coleman
Contact:

Chain jobs, backup > copy > replicate?

Post by icoleman_uk » Jul 05, 2018 2:10 pm

Hi,

We have two sites, our main production site and a DR site. Each has it's own VMWare hosts, Veeam repository and Veeam proxy. They're basically mirrored.

I want to set up a job that does the following:

1. Backup VM from production environment to local repository.
2. Copy the backup to the remote repository.
3. Remote replicate on the remote hosts from the remote repository.

I can fire off the replication job after the backup job but because the copy job is effectively running continuously and only checks for changes at each interval there's no way to guarantee that the copy job has completed before the replication task starts.

I'm probably missing something here but I can't find a definitive answer to what I'm trying to do.

Does anyone have any suggestions on how best to do this?

Thanks for your help.

-Iain.

DGrinev
Veeam Software
Posts: 1726
Liked: 221 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev
Location: St.Petersburg
Contact:

Re: Chain jobs, backup > copy > replicate?

Post by DGrinev » Jul 05, 2018 3:49 pm 1 person likes this post

Hi Iain,

You can schedule the replication job any time after the backup job, so even if the backup copy job in processing state, the replication job should be delayed until it completes.
Also, you can use a post-job script to run replication after a copy job. Thanks!

icoleman_uk
Influencer
Posts: 12
Liked: never
Joined: May 07, 2015 3:40 pm
Full Name: Iain Coleman
Contact:

Re: Chain jobs, backup > copy > replicate?

Post by icoleman_uk » Jul 06, 2018 7:28 am

Ah great, thank you. :)

icoleman_uk
Influencer
Posts: 12
Liked: never
Joined: May 07, 2015 3:40 pm
Full Name: Iain Coleman
Contact:

Re: Chain jobs, backup > copy > replicate?

Post by icoleman_uk » Jul 06, 2018 12:38 pm

Seems like it's not possible to do what I want. I want the replication job to run after the Copy completes. the copy job has no option to run scripts when it finishes.

Setting the copy job interval to reset just before the backup runs ensures the copy runs just after the backup as desired however if I chain the replication job to occur when the backup job completes it starts before the copy occurs and therefore doesn't see the newly created restore point.

DGrinev
Veeam Software
Posts: 1726
Liked: 221 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev
Location: St.Petersburg
Contact:

Re: Chain jobs, backup > copy > replicate?

Post by DGrinev » Jul 06, 2018 1:22 pm

You can find scripts tab in the backup copy job wizard -> Target -> Advanced -> Scripts.
Please review this great post about why you should better avoid job chaining. Thanks!

icoleman_uk
Influencer
Posts: 12
Liked: never
Joined: May 07, 2015 3:40 pm
Full Name: Iain Coleman
Contact:

Re: Chain jobs, backup > copy > replicate?

Post by icoleman_uk » Jul 06, 2018 1:41 pm

Ah, yes, I missed that, thank you.

I understand that chaining jobs like this isn't generally considered to be "best practice" however Veeam doesn't behave the way I'd expect so I don't see any other option.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Shestakov, stewsie, tcranger, vipthomps and 84 guests