Availability for the Always-On Enterprise
rhunt
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Dec 13, 2011 7:14 pm
Full Name: Robert G. Hunt
Contact:

Change Path of Default Backup Repository

Post by rhunt » Dec 13, 2011 7:24 pm 1 person likes this post

I wanted to change the path of the default backup repository, from C:\backup to E:\backup but can not and it greyed out.

Gostev
Veeam Software
Posts: 22992
Liked: 2888 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Change Path of Default Backup Repository

Post by Gostev » Dec 13, 2011 7:38 pm

The capability to edit default backup repository is disabled on purpose. Please create the new backup repository instead. Thanks!

withanh
Expert
Posts: 262
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 21, 2009 3:19 pm
Full Name: Darhl
Location: Pacific Northwest
Contact:

Re: Change Path of Default Backup Repository

Post by withanh » Dec 22, 2011 4:06 pm

After I create a new repository, I don't see any way to remove or disable the 'Default Backup Repository'.

h
For every expert there is an equal and opposite expert - Arthur C Clarke's Fourth Law

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16832
Liked: 1361 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Change Path of Default Backup Repository

Post by foggy » Dec 22, 2011 4:15 pm

This capability is also disabled by design.

withanh
Expert
Posts: 262
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 21, 2009 3:19 pm
Full Name: Darhl
Location: Pacific Northwest
Contact:

Re: Change Path of Default Backup Repository

Post by withanh » Dec 22, 2011 4:17 pm

OK, so how do I prevent it from using the repository on the C:\ drive?
For every expert there is an equal and opposite expert - Arthur C Clarke's Fourth Law

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16832
Liked: 1361 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Change Path of Default Backup Repository

Post by foggy » Dec 22, 2011 4:23 pm

Just do not specify this repository in any of your backup jobs.

withanh
Expert
Posts: 262
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 21, 2009 3:19 pm
Full Name: Darhl
Location: Pacific Northwest
Contact:

Re: Change Path of Default Backup Repository

Post by withanh » Dec 22, 2011 7:14 pm

Got it, I just hadn't worked that far through the new process. Thanks Alexander!
For every expert there is an equal and opposite expert - Arthur C Clarke's Fourth Law

smile_dav
Enthusiast
Posts: 44
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Sep 26, 2011 9:47 am
Contact:

Re: Change Path of Default Backup Repository

Post by smile_dav » Dec 30, 2011 4:39 am

Is there any way to hide the default proxy in the GUI or remove it using power shell?
Even though we can work around it by changing the transport mode and disable network mode, we'd prefer to remove it altogether.

Thanks!

Sethbartlett
Expert
Posts: 282
Liked: 25 times
Joined: Nov 10, 2010 6:51 pm
Full Name: Seth Bartlett
Contact:

Re: Change Path of Default Backup Repository

Post by Sethbartlett » Dec 30, 2011 5:17 am

I think Anton has stated that you shouldn't do this, but here is the code:

Code: Select all

$Proxy = Get-VBRViProxy -name "VMware Backup Proxy"
$Proxy.Delete()
You could also just disable it:

http://vpowercli.wordpress.com/2011/12/ ... -v6-proxy/
Skype: Sethbartlett88 - Make sure to label who you are and why you want to add me ;)
Twitter: @sethbartlett
If my post was helpful, please like it. Sometimes twitter is quicker to hit me up if you need me.

withanh
Expert
Posts: 262
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 21, 2009 3:19 pm
Full Name: Darhl
Location: Pacific Northwest
Contact:

Re: Change Path of Default Backup Repository

Post by withanh » Dec 30, 2011 5:21 am

Hi Seth,

Can you do something similar with the default backup repository? I guess I could look through the PowerShell cmdlets :-)

Is there a reason why we shouldn't delete the default proxy or default repository? I get that you guys say it's a bad idea, but why is it a bad idea? If I create my own repositories & proxies, then unless there's a compelling reason to not remove them, I should be able to.

h
For every expert there is an equal and opposite expert - Arthur C Clarke's Fourth Law

Sethbartlett
Expert
Posts: 282
Liked: 25 times
Joined: Nov 10, 2010 6:51 pm
Full Name: Seth Bartlett
Contact:

Re: Change Path of Default Backup Repository

Post by Sethbartlett » Dec 30, 2011 5:25 am

From what I have looked at(I'm not R&D ;)), it doesn't seem that it would hurt anything as long as you have another repository added. I could see a problem where you have no repositories and you go to create a job and the repository picked is NULL, this may crash the software but adding a repository would probably resolve that(if that happened). For Repository:

Code: Select all

$Repository = Get-VBRBackupRepository -name "Default Backup Repository"
$Repository.Delete()
Skype: Sethbartlett88 - Make sure to label who you are and why you want to add me ;)
Twitter: @sethbartlett
If my post was helpful, please like it. Sometimes twitter is quicker to hit me up if you need me.

withanh
Expert
Posts: 262
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 21, 2009 3:19 pm
Full Name: Darhl
Location: Pacific Northwest
Contact:

Re: Change Path of Default Backup Repository

Post by withanh » Dec 30, 2011 5:29 am

Cool, thanks Seth!

And I'll fully acknowledge the disclaimer "Your mileage may vary"

:-)
For every expert there is an equal and opposite expert - Arthur C Clarke's Fourth Law

Gostev
Veeam Software
Posts: 22992
Liked: 2888 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Change Path of Default Backup Repository

Post by Gostev » Dec 30, 2011 8:54 am

I heard from devs that there are some ties in the code to the Default Backup Repository and the default Backup Proxy, so the problems are pretty much expected if you remove them. We plan to clean this up in the later updates, and allow removing any proxy or repository as long as it is not the last one.

withanh
Expert
Posts: 262
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 21, 2009 3:19 pm
Full Name: Darhl
Location: Pacific Northwest
Contact:

Re: Change Path of Default Backup Repository

Post by withanh » Dec 30, 2011 2:30 pm

Thanks Anton, that now makes it a good reason to not remove them. I'll be patient :-)

h
For every expert there is an equal and opposite expert - Arthur C Clarke's Fourth Law

johnlong
Enthusiast
Posts: 73
Liked: 11 times
Joined: May 12, 2012 3:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Change Path of Default Backup Repository

Post by johnlong » May 12, 2012 3:40 pm 1 person likes this post

My OCD brought me to this thread. :)

Sure would be nice to be able to change the path of the default repository or delete it after creating a new one.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests