"Components Update" Windows after B&R 9 Update 1

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

"Components Update" Windows after B&R 9 Update 1

Veeam Logoby jmeisel » Wed Mar 30, 2016 6:08 am

Hello,

we applied Veeam Backup & Replication 9 Update 1 yesterday. Everything ran smoothly and without any error messages. The build number is 9.0.0.1491.
But now, each time the Veeam Console is started, we get an "Components Update" Window that is completely empty. No managed Servers to update. Nothing.

Anybody else facing this issue?
I am able to open a case too, if that is necessary.
jmeisel
Influencer
 
Posts: 11
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2015 1:06 pm

Re: "Components Update" Windows after B&R 9 Update 1

Veeam Logoby vmniels » Wed Mar 30, 2016 7:02 am

Best to open a case to see why this is happening. Might be an invalid reference in the database or something.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be
vmniels
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1633
Liked: 362 times
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen

Re: "Components Update" Windows after B&R 9 Update 1

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Mar 30, 2016 9:53 am

If you go to backup infrastructure, will you see there any outdated components?
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13734
Liked: 1027 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: "Components Update" Windows after B&R 9 Update 1

Veeam Logoby jmeisel » Wed Mar 30, 2016 9:59 am

Yes ... under managed Servers there is still an standalone hyperv-Server that no longer exists.
But because it has been discovered by adding our System Center Virtual Machine Manager, it can't be removed from Veeam.
Strange...
jmeisel
Influencer
 
Posts: 11
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2015 1:06 pm

Re: "Components Update" Windows after B&R 9 Update 1

Veeam Logoby jmeisel » Wed Mar 30, 2016 10:55 am

I just created a case. Case Number is 01746090

I guess we have to remove the orphaned HyperV-Servers (that no longer exist on SCVMM) manually from Veeam Database. Deleting the entry under dbo.hosts won't be enough, I guess.
jmeisel
Influencer
 
Posts: 11
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2015 1:06 pm

Re: "Components Update" Windows after B&R 9 Update 1

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Mar 30, 2016 4:22 pm

It seems that there are indeed orphaned references inside the product database that need to be cleaned. Knowledgeable support engineer will be able to assist you with that process. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13734
Liked: 1027 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: "Components Update" Windows after B&R 9 Update 1

Veeam Logoby jmeisel » Mon Apr 11, 2016 12:08 pm 2 people like this post

FYI: the issue has been resolved by deleting old, orphaned HyperV-Servers from the Veeam-Database.
We received the SQL-Script from Veeam-Support.

In case you have a similar issue: just open a case and you will receive help :)
jmeisel
Influencer
 
Posts: 11
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2015 1:06 pm

Re: "Components Update" Windows after B&R 9 Update 1

Veeam Logoby GladstoneRC » Wed Apr 20, 2016 2:06 am 1 person likes this post

Same issue here. Guess I'll open a ticket.
GladstoneRC
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 4:28 am
Full Name: GladstoneRC

[MERGED] Veeam 9 Component Upgrade Prompt

Veeam Logoby jconk711 » Tue Jul 12, 2016 2:12 pm

Good morning,

I have been working with a Veeam representative on a case I opened (#01825339). I am not 100% certain exactly when this annoyance appeared as I inherited the environment but we recently Upgraded to Veeam 9 update 1 and every time the console is opened the component upgrade window appears but no components appear listed that require an update and you have to cancel out of the window.

In working with Veeam we have attempted the following:
1. Cleaned out extraneous managed servers that are no longer in use.
2. Verified SP1 and hotfix1 were applied.
3. Reviewed the util.clientlauncher.log
4. Reviewed SVC.VeeamBackup.log
5. Rescanned all managed servers to verify no errors
6. Rescanned all WAN accelerators to verify no errors
7. Worked with Veeam support to clean up stale database entries for old managed servers

I have found multiple posts from people who have seen this behavior and wanted to see if anyone has overcome this as nothing has corrected the behavior yet and we are at the point of either living with this or attempting a reinstall which I would like to avoid.

Other articles:
Not solved
vmware-vsphere-f24/remote-console-update-1-t35146.html

Solved by cleaning up the configuration database:
veeam-backup-replication-f2/components-update-windows-after-b-r-9-update-1-t34072.html

Any help is appreciated!
jconk711
Service Provider
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 1:58 pm
Full Name: Jesse

Re: [MERGED] Veeam 9 Component Upgrade Prompt

Veeam Logoby jbennett » Wed Nov 23, 2016 6:13 pm 1 person likes this post

No condoning digging into the SQL DB without support, but it looks like HostComponent may have an orphaned component. Seemed to by my issue.

This is how I was able to check:
Code: Select all
SELECT *
  FROM [VeeamBackup].[dbo].[HostComponents], [VeeamBackup].dbo.PhysicalHosts
  WHERE HostComponents.physical_host_id = PhysicalHosts.id and HostComponents.is_up_to_date = 0

  Select *
  FROM [VeeamBackup].[dbo].[HostComponents]
  WHERE HostComponents.is_up_to_date = 0
-Justin
[@cajeeper]|[http://www.allthingstechie.net]
jbennett
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 33
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2015 3:47 pm
Location: Hemet, CA
Full Name: Justin Bennett

Re: "Components Update" Windows after B&R 9 Update 1

Veeam Logoby jconk711 » Thu Feb 02, 2017 6:11 pm

I was able to find stale entries using Justin's query. As he stated I would not edit without Veeam Support being present or before taking a backup of the database.
jconk711
Service Provider
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 1:58 pm
Full Name: Jesse


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest