Copy job from Nimble replica

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Copy job from Nimble replica

Veeam Logoby bubbagump » Mon Apr 24, 2017 1:12 am

The Nimble integration has turned out to be a very powerful tool for us. What I am wondering, as I can't find away to do this, is seeing that you can use a Nimble replica as a data source (See here: https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... tml?ver=95) can you also use the replica as a data source for Copy Jobs? My thinking being, maintain replica snapshots for weeks on the secondary array as a primary backup source. Then, create copy jobs from the snaps to a tertiary medium... tape, other JBOD, whatever. it just seems like you would impact IO on the primary storage array unnecessarily when the snaps are available on the replica. Or am I thinking about this wrong?
bubbagump
Influencer
 
Posts: 18
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mon May 30, 2016 12:18 am

Re: Copy job from Nimble replica

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Apr 24, 2017 9:40 am

Backup copy jobs are using backup files as a source, so you first need to create VM backups (using Nimble replica snapshots as a source) and then perform backup copy from them, if required. Though, if I'm getting your scenario right, it would be enough to use regular backup jobs.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15086
Liked: 1110 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Copy job from Nimble replica

Veeam Logoby bubbagump » Mon Apr 24, 2017 8:51 pm

You are indeed understanding my scenario, how ever I lose the GFS management ability using normal jobs.

My hope was:

Create snaps on the primary that replicate to the secondary.
Maintain the secondary replica as the data source for "off array" copies (which you can do)
Then, in the same job, setup a secondary target of a copy job.

Though it sounds like I will need to

Create snaps on primary array, replicate to secondary.
Use secondary replica as data source to create backup files on the JBOD thus keeping my initial "14 days" off the array as well as keeping IO off of the primary array.
Create a copy job on the JBOD to maintain GFS and replicate via the JBOD.


Is that more in line with what is typical? Essentially, i am trying to avoid setting up multiple jobs, but that may just not be feasible.
bubbagump
Influencer
 
Posts: 18
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mon May 30, 2016 12:18 am

Re: Copy job from Nimble replica

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Apr 25, 2017 11:39 am

Yes, your understanding is correct, since currently GFS is available in the backup copy jobs only.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15086
Liked: 1110 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google Feedfetcher, PTide, Shestakov and 75 guests