Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
daveshel
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 25, 2012 6:44 pm
Contact:

Deleting a Virtual Lab

Post by daveshel » May 04, 2012 10:28 pm

On Page 155 of the Veeam B&R User Guide, an Important! box cautions to delete a Virtual Lab from B&R instead of from vSphere. I deleted it from B&R and it left its components behind - the VM, a port group, a switch and who knows what else. The implication of the Important! box was that deleting it from B&R would delete it from everywhere, but this does not seem to be the case. What is the proper procedure for deleting a Virtual Lab? If I need to manually delete these remnants, is there a list of items that need to be deleted?

(The background is that I'm testing SureBackup in a new installation. I had problems creating the lab - it failed to detect my network, possibly because my environment requires that a new MAC address must be approved before it can get a DHCP address. I had to do a manual configuration. When I went to start the Recovery Verification job, it was unable to start the routing engine. I wanted to rip it out and start over but I don't want to damage my vmware infrastructure.)

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24466
Liked: 3413 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Deleting a Virtual Lab

Post by Gostev » May 04, 2012 10:56 pm

3 things come to my mind:
1. Switch.
2. Resource pool.
3. Proxy VM folder with ISO and VM configuration files.

daveshel
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 25, 2012 6:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Deleting a Virtual Lab

Post by daveshel » May 04, 2012 11:28 pm

Thanks. There was no resource pool. I wonder if that was why the routing engine couldn't start.

daveshel
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 25, 2012 6:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Deleting a Virtual Lab

Post by daveshel » May 07, 2012 4:23 pm

OK, I'm back to trying to create this virtual lab. On the Networking step, I select Basic and get 2 error messages: first it is "Unable to automatically choose masquerade network address for non private network address [ ]. Production network name: Client VLAN." Then "Unable to resolve default network settings."

Is this something I should open a support case for? (I tried doing the advanced configuration the other day - the result was I was unable to start the routing engine.)

Thanks in advance.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24466
Liked: 3413 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Deleting a Virtual Lab

Post by Gostev » May 07, 2012 10:01 pm

Yes, please open a support case as this kind of stuff is impossible to troubleshoot over forum messages. Thanks!

mike.suter
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Nov 29, 2012 8:34 pm
Full Name: Mike Suter
Contact:

Re: Deleting a Virtual Lab

Post by mike.suter » Mar 08, 2013 5:08 am 1 person likes this post

I'm new to Veeam and in the process of setting up the backup infrastructure using Veeam B%R 6.5. I'm not sure if this is something new in the recent releases, but with I right-click the Virtual Lab and select Delete, there is a optional checkbox in the bottom left of the confirmation window that says Cleanup ESX. Checking that box and clicking ok with prompt Veeam to remove and permanently delete the Virtual Lab from the VBR server as well as the Virtual Lab VM, files, port groups, vSwitch and Resource Pool.

Hope this helps!

Zew
Expert
Posts: 214
Liked: 42 times
Joined: Mar 17, 2015 9:50 pm
Full Name: Aemilianus Kehler
Contact:

[MERGED] Deleting Virtual Lab, Does not remove resource pool

Post by Zew » Feb 01, 2016 2:10 pm

Hey there,

Was just cleaning up my one stand alone ESXi host and noticed the Virtual Lab resource pool I created a while back, I went a head and logged into Veeam server and opened up B&R and deleted the Virtual lab.

At this point I had assumed whatever the virtual lab created to exist on the selected ESXi host it would remove them. (this type of practice leads to stale objects in different environments)

Is this expected behaviour?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18037
Liked: 1533 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Deleting a Virtual Lab

Post by foggy » Feb 01, 2016 4:54 pm

There should be a check box "Remove virtual lab objects from host" when you delete the lab from Veeam B&R, have you checked that?

Zew
Expert
Posts: 214
Liked: 42 times
Joined: Mar 17, 2015 9:50 pm
Full Name: Aemilianus Kehler
Contact:

Re: Deleting a Virtual Lab

Post by Zew » Feb 03, 2016 8:34 pm

Oh FFS... how did I miss that... I personally think it should be defaulted to on, and should be required to uncheck if you want to keep them.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 36 guests