Availability for the Always-On Enterprise
Post Reply
Dima P.
Veeam Software
Posts: 8426
Liked: 616 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Exchange 2013 DAG backup

Post by Dima P. » Mar 08, 2016 12:29 pm

Hi,

Have you seen this thread, its related to Exchange 2010 DAG backup, however all the advises remain valid. Thanks.

conextra
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 01, 2015 4:29 pm
Full Name: conextra GmbH
Contact:

Re: Exchange 2013 DAG backup

Post by conextra » Mar 08, 2016 3:39 pm

hi,

this is all about backup. i can backup both nodes in a lab succesful - there is no database switchover during snapshot creation and deletion. my unsecureness is, what happens in a Desaster Scenario, when i recover just one node, either active or passive. i am not sure, if this works (indeed i am doing application Aware backups).
i know, the Option with recovery Switch during exchang install, but i want to avoid this, since i Need to build a complete Server first, with all Patches, ... it would be much more efficient, if i can just recover the broken node with Veeam and then power it on.

pronto
Enthusiast
Posts: 48
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Apr 20, 2016 7:03 am
Contact:

[MERGED] Exchange 2010: Backup DAG passive node

Post by pronto » Apr 20, 2016 7:23 am

Hi Community,

we are planning to migrate from an Exchange 2010 single server setup to a two server active/passive DAG environment (Exchange 2010). Both on vSphere 5.1 hosts. We are in touch with an engineer of our service partner for Exchange and he want to know if Veeam Backup & Replication can process an incremental backup of the passive node?

I read already the KB article https://www.veeam.com/blog/how-to-backu ... ation.html and learned that Veeam can do a backup of the passive node but I didn't found any hint if it works with incremental backups on the passive node also.

I'm not aware how a DAG works in detail right now but please allow the question if the behavior of incremental backups changed in a DAG environment compared to a single server setup? Normally an incremental backup deals with the transaction logs and should be no problem if the copy of the database is in use or not but this question let me took notice that this behavior could be changed in a DAG environment, especially on the passive node.

We have a meeting today with the service partner and it would be great if I could answer his question.

Thanks in advance & Bye Tom

vmniels
Veeam Software
Posts: 1969
Liked: 430 times
Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen
Contact:

Re: Exchange 2010: Backup DAG passive node

Post by vmniels » Apr 21, 2016 10:26 am

This depends on the backup job configuration but if you use incremental backups (forever forward incremental or incremental with synthetic full) and disable active full backups we will only make 1 active full backups (first time we backup the machine) and from there on only incrementals. So the answer to your question in short is: yes it is possible to do this.

Some additional tips & tricks: https://www.veeam.com/kb1744
And the following blog post by one of our solution architects: http://andyandthevms.com/exchange-dag-v ... plication/
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be

Guido
Influencer
Posts: 24
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 17, 2012 10:56 am
Full Name: Guido
Contact:

[MERGED] Not confident to enable Exchange truncation with da

Post by Guido » Feb 14, 2017 9:57 am

Hello

We are doing backups of 2 Exchange 2010 servers fine for a long time. The VSS application-aware processing is on.
The truncate was done by another backup product (HPE DP). Now we want to enable the truncation in Veeam.
Do I have to enable the truncation on both servers within the backup job?

Thank you

DGrinev
Veeam Software
Posts: 1175
Liked: 125 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev
Location: St.Petersburg
Contact:

Re: Not confident to enable Exchange truncation with dag

Post by DGrinev » Feb 14, 2017 11:39 am

Hi Guido,

You can enable truncation on the passive Database and it will be replicating to the second node through DAG.
For additional information, review this thread above.

Thanks!

Guido
Influencer
Posts: 24
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 17, 2012 10:56 am
Full Name: Guido
Contact:

Re: Exchange 2010 DAG backup ?

Post by Guido » Feb 14, 2017 12:17 pm

Thank you DGrinev for merging my post into a this large threat with 5 pages.

So I can enable it on the passive Database. But I think you mean that I can enable it on the server running the passive database.
The question was if I have to enable truncation on both dag servers within the job. Is you answer a NO?

Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
Posts: 2818
Liked: 478 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: @AndyandtheVMs Veeam PM
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Exchange 2010 DAG backup ?

Post by Andreas Neufert » Feb 14, 2017 12:25 pm

You should truncate logs on both DAG members. Yes, truncation is replicated to the other node, but this replication is done by exchange after the backup job, so you do not have any monitoring of this process within Veeam.
When you enable it on both sides, it is done for sure and you have the feedback in the job if it didn´t ran well.

So for both Servers:
- Enable Veeam IngUest processing. Enable "Require successful process (recommended)" and "process transaction logs with this job (recommended)"
https://helpcenter.veeam.com/backup/80/ ... ob_vss.png

Increase Cluster Heart beat if not done:
http://andyandthevms.com/exchange-dag-v ... plication/

Guido
Influencer
Posts: 24
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 17, 2012 10:56 am
Full Name: Guido
Contact:

Re: Exchange 2010 DAG backup ?

Post by Guido » Feb 14, 2017 1:08 pm

Thank you Andreas
Your answered my question.

Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
Posts: 2818
Liked: 478 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: @AndyandtheVMs Veeam PM
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Exchange 2010 DAG backup ?

Post by Andreas Neufert » Feb 14, 2017 2:13 pm 1 person likes this post

I got a PM that this topic is all about passive only backup.

Logfile Truncation get´s replicated within the Exchange cluster in any way if you backup one or multiple DAG members.

When you have the chance, you should backup all DAG members including Logfile Truncation at all of them.

When you want to backup only one DAG member (with all databases) then you need to enable Logfile Truncation there. As the DAG based Logfile Truncation replication runs our of Veeam control, you should monitor this process (Windows Event IDs) to avoid situations when the replication had an error and you server will fill the Logfile disk 100% => Exchange down.

leithm
Service Provider
Posts: 11
Liked: 1 time
Joined: May 19, 2016 12:52 am
Full Name: Leith Magon
Contact:

[MERGED] : exchange 2010 dag

Post by leithm » Feb 17, 2017 11:57 pm

hi,

i have 3 dag members. two of which i want to back up in the same job. when i add 2 dag nodes to a job one will always fail. checking event logs on the server indicates that vss failed due to one of the databases already being backed up (by the veeam job). for some reason i thought veeam would of handled this automatically.

active databases are split across the 2 nodes i wish to back up. application aware processing enabled, truncate logs enabled for both vms.

any advise would be greatly appreciated

cheers

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15077
Liked: 1133 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Exchange 2010 DAG backup ?

Post by v.Eremin » Feb 18, 2017 10:14 am

What particular error did you get? What AAIP settings are specified for those VMs?

leithm
Service Provider
Posts: 11
Liked: 1 time
Joined: May 19, 2016 12:52 am
Full Name: Leith Magon
Contact:

Re: Exchange 2010 DAG backup ?

Post by leithm » Feb 18, 2017 8:14 pm

Just the default settings under AAIP indicating that VSS must complete successfully and to truncate logs. this was based on the recommendation above

'When you have the chance, you should backup all DAG members including Logfile Truncation at all of them.'

error was vss failed at prepare snapshot. according to the application logs on the server vss failed due to the database already being backed up on the other server. basically..veeam tried to simultaneously back up the same databases

Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
Posts: 2818
Liked: 478 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: @AndyandtheVMs Veeam PM
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Exchange 2010 DAG backup ?

Post by Andreas Neufert » Feb 20, 2017 12:12 pm

that should not be a problem at all. Do you use Circular Logging ?
What Microsoft event ID do you see ?

toa1970
Influencer
Posts: 18
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 15, 2010 6:51 pm
Full Name: Torben Andersen

[MERGED] Truncate Exchange log file?

Post by toa1970 » May 17, 2017 1:43 pm

Hi,

Setup: Two Exchange mailbox servers. One with all active mailboxes and one with all passive mailboxes. Exchange version is 2010 with all updates on Server 2008R2 with all updates. Within 3 months it's Exchange 2016 on Server 2016 - Veeam backup is version 9.5.0.823

Question: Let's say that Veeam backup the passive Exchange server only. How to truncate Exchange log file on the active Exchange server after backup? Can Veeam after a backup on the passive Exchange server truncate log file on the active Exchange server? Or is best practice to backup the active Exchange server? Or another solution?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 23 guests