Exchange 2010 DAG backup ?

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Exchange 2010 DAG backup ?

Veeam Logoby durgabaps » Thu Aug 04, 2011 4:17 pm

Do we need to create separate backup jobs for each server in a DAG or just taking a single node backups assuming all the mail boxes are sitting on that server will accomplish the job?

Thanks,
durgabaps
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 4:10 pm
Full Name: Durga Mishra

Re: Exchange 2010 backup ?

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Thu Aug 04, 2011 6:27 pm 1 person likes this post

I believe someone posted earlier that he backs up all DAG nodes with the same job. Dedupe ratio is fantastic he said :)
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21156
Liked: 2304 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Full Name: Anton Gostev

Re: Exchange 2010 backup ?

Veeam Logoby durgabaps » Fri Aug 05, 2011 12:44 pm

Is there a best practice for adjusting the heartbest setting for the cluster which will avoid the failover between the DAG while the VSS snapshot get's triggered ?
durgabaps
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 4:10 pm
Full Name: Durga Mishra

Re: Exchange 2010 backup ?

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Fri Aug 05, 2011 12:47 pm

Yes, there is big existing topic discussing this issue and best practices - please search the forum.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21156
Liked: 2304 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Full Name: Anton Gostev

Re: Exchange 2010 backup ?

Veeam Logoby durgabaps » Fri Aug 05, 2011 1:03 pm

Issue with VMware & Exchange 2010 DAG

I know Veeam 5.0.2 has application aware feature which takes care while when the VSS Snapshot is triggered. I'll try an search more and see if I get anything specific to adjusting cluster heartbeat..
durgabaps
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 4:10 pm
Full Name: Durga Mishra

Re: Exchange 2010 backup ?

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Fri Aug 05, 2011 1:57 pm

I am almost positive I saw discussion somewhere on discussing DAG cluster heartbeat, but that might be when I was Googling researching this issue. So if you don't find any references on this forum, try to Google instead.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21156
Liked: 2304 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Full Name: Anton Gostev

Re: Exchange 2010 backup ?

Veeam Logoby Bunce » Fri Aug 05, 2011 5:17 pm

That was the correct thread Anton. I linked to the cluster settings in one of my posts.
Bunce
Expert
 
Posts: 254
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2009 9:56 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Full Name: Andrew

Re: Backup Configuration question

Veeam Logoby nkearns » Mon Sep 26, 2011 11:04 am

[merged]

Looking at it from that angle I can now see how that would work.

Got a new Question Exchange 2010 DAG

Ok so I got 2 x Exchange 2010 CAS / Hub Transport Server (VM's) and 2 x Exchange 2010 mailbox servers in DAG (VM'S)

What’s the best way to back these up,

Do I back the lot up in one job or split out to 2 jobs.

Are there any issues I need to be aware off

Regards

Nick
nkearns
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 1:07 pm
Full Name: Nick Kearns

Re: Exchange 2010 backup ?

Veeam Logoby mill3502 » Wed Sep 28, 2011 5:39 pm

This may help for those looking for a way to increase DAG Fail Over Cluster timeout values.

Decreasing Exchange 2010 DAG Failover Sensitivity by Increasing Cluster Timeout Values.

Filed under: VMware, ESX, Microsoft, Windows 2008 R2, Exchange, vSphere, Virtualisation, Veeam, Disaster Recovery, Backups — internationalmanofawesome @ 2:21 pm

When running an Exchange 2010 DAG over a WAN, you may run into some of the limitations of Microsoft FCS (Failover Cluster Service). This service defaults to fairly low timeouts for fast failover in LAN environments. In a WAN environment, where latency may be higher, and some packet loss may occur, you may need to tweak the timeouts for FCS. I advise to tweak most of the settings via the FCS admin tool. However, there are a few settings to tweak via the command line, and here are the maximum values you can configure to make it “less sensitive”:

Exchange 2010 DAGs use Windows Failover Clustering. By default, FCS has fairly low timeouts that are ideal for use in fast localised LAN environments

If you operate your Exchange 2010 DAGs over a WAN where issues such as latency and packet loss can occur, you may find that your email databases are failing over. By default, heartbeat frequency (subnet delay) is 1000ms for both local and remote subnets and when a node misses 5 heartbeats (subnet threshold) another nod within your DAG cluster will initiate a failover.

You can change these values to their maximums by issuing the commands below on a DAG mailbox server in a command box.

cluster /prop SameSubnetDelay=2000:DWORD
cluster /prop CrossSubnetDelay=4000:DWORD
cluster /prop CrossSubnetThreshold=10:DWORD
cluster /prop SameSubnetThreshold=10:DWORD
You can check that the properties have been applied by executing the following command on a DAG mailbox server in a command box.
cluster /prop

If you virtualise your Exchange 2010 mailbox servers, this may also assist in preventing failover when backing up your VMs using backup products that take snapshots of your VMs like Veeam Backup and Replication. Note that doing backups in this manner is NOT supported by Microsoft at this time.
Reference – Configure Heartbeat and DNS Settings in a Multi-Site Failover Cluster – http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/libr ... 7562(WS.10).aspx
mill3502
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 3:57 pm
Full Name: bob miller

Correct way to Backup Microsoft Exchange 2010 DAG

Veeam Logoby sdelacruz » Thu Jan 05, 2012 5:40 pm

[merged]

We recently migrated our physical Exchange server 2003 (Single Server) to a multiple Exchange 2010 (Virtual)
I am looking for some advice on how to properly backup a MS Exchange 2010 DAG.

We currently have 4 servers running exchange at our data center and also a remote copy (1)server at our DR site.
I would like to know what is the best practice to backup this type of Exchange 2010 setup.

We currently have the following scenario

----DATA CENTER-----
BACKUP SERVER (Veeam Installed)
___________I__________
| l
V V
FrontEnd1_server FrontEnd2_Server
| l
V V
Backend1_server Backend2_server

Currently Each Server has its own backup job running at different times.
I also would like to know if Veeam will allow me to extract a PST from a past backup. We constantly get request from management to provide a copy of a mailbox that was deleted months ago.

Thanks in advance.

SAM
sdelacruz
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 39
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 8:09 pm
Full Name: Sam De La Cruz

Re: Exchange 2010 DAG backup ?

Veeam Logoby Andreas Neufert » Thu Jan 05, 2012 9:43 pm

Hi Sam,

Yes it is possible to extract things to a pst.
Start the Exchange Server in the Virtual Lab and use a normal outlook client to extract for example a Public Folder.

You can use our U-AIR Exchange Witzes to restore or extract Mails or other objects,too.

Andy
Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2097
Liked: 337 times
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Location: Germany
Full Name: @AndyandtheVMs Veeam PM

Re: Exchange 2010 DAG backup ?

Veeam Logoby Andreas Neufert » Thu Jan 05, 2012 9:56 pm

Oh BTW ...

Your other questions are answered above.

Use one job to backup both DAG Server (Good deduplication Ratio)
Because of VMware snapshot commit delayes increase the Cluster heartbeat Time (See above).

Backup Minimum One CAS Cluster Node and the active Directory DNS Server (the first DNS Server entry of the Exchange Servers). In a multi Domain Environment Backup a AD catalog Server from the Root Domain too (Exchange Security OU).

Andy
Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2097
Liked: 337 times
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Location: Germany
Full Name: @AndyandtheVMs Veeam PM

[MERGED] VMware/Exchange 2010 DAG 2 node cluster

Veeam Logoby Riaz » Wed Nov 21, 2012 2:02 pm

Hi all

I have been trying to find best practices to backup a virtualised Exchange 2010 2 node DAG using Veeam 6.5.

Nodes:
Server1
Server2

Question 1:
Should both nodes be backed up, isn't this just duplicating information and backup window?

Question 2:
If only a single node is recommended should it be Active or Passive?

Question 3:
If passive will truncate logs still work?

Question 4:
If node has mixed active and passive databases, should this be altered so all databases are active on a single node and passive on alternate node?

Question 5:
I have read about snapshot timeouts resulting in DAG failovers, should I increase cluster timeouts (SubnetDelay/SubnetThreshold) from offset or wait and see if this issue affects me?


Thanks all in advance.
Riaz
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 1:37 pm
Full Name: Riaz

Re: [MERGED] VMware/Exchange 2010 DAG 2 node cluster

Veeam Logoby Riaz » Fri Nov 23, 2012 10:45 am

OK I believe I have answers to most of these

Question 1:
Should both nodes be backed up, isn't this just duplicating information and backup window?

For me at least it was easier to just backup both, with job deduplication additional storage usage was not too bad, and window time is good

Question 2:
If only a single node is recommended should it be Active or Passive?

Active, passive can be done but it can be quite troublesome to activate the passive node DAG database in this scenario before a restore can be done.

Question 3:
If passive will truncate logs still work?

Unsure

Question 4:
If node has mixed active and passive databases, should this be altered so all databases are active on a single node and passive on alternate node?

This is an option if you can only backup some of the nodes (eg location/storage/window restrictions), Always try to do active nodes to make restore process easier

Question 5:
I have read about snapshot timeouts resulting in DAG failovers, should I increase cluster timeouts (SubnetDelay/SubnetThreshold) from offset or wait and see if this issue affects me?

I implemented the DAG increased timeout values to be safe


Note
These questions and answers are mostly from information I have found in various sources and may not be applicable to other environments, but thoguht I would update anyway in case it is of some use to others.
Riaz
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 1:37 pm
Full Name: Riaz

Re: Exchange 2010 DAG backup ?

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Nov 23, 2012 10:54 am

Riaz wrote:Question 3:
If passive will truncate logs still work?

Unsure

Here is a detailed forum post (kudos to Haris Cokovic for that) that should answer your question: VSS timeout with Exchange 2010
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19240
Liked: 1071 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Next

Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], leonid.venglinski, NightBird, rkovhaev, stevetNOVUS and 47 guests