Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
wonderboy
Influencer
Posts: 19
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Aug 25, 2010 11:15 am
Full Name: peter
Contact:

Feature Request: "Last Run" Column on Main Window!

Post by wonderboy » Jun 12, 2018 2:46 pm

I have again come across a client whose backup job was not running correctly, and they never noticed becaus ethe last result says "Success", they think it's OK.

There's a few reasons I have seen for this over the years, but so far we have: -

a) Job Chained to a job that has been deleted (and usually re-created under another name).
b) Veeam Backup server freezing.
c) Schedule changed by mistake.

so I'd really, really like to see a Last Run Time/Date added to the "jobs" summary screen and ideally a selectable Warining colour or something if it has not run within a few days (user-selectable, default to 2 days).

Small feature but would be great!

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24092
Liked: 3280 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Feature Request: "Last Run" Colum on Main Window!

Post by Gostev » Jun 12, 2018 2:56 pm 1 person likes this post

I just heard the same request from a very big brand, also our existing customer. But I did not like to put the actual date into the column - there is already a columns with date, plus date/time value is hardly readable at a glance. I proposed to instead have the "Last run" column that will say, for example, "4 days ago" - and they thought it is an excellent idea. What do you think?

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 9911
Liked: 790 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Feature Request: "Last Run" Colum on Main Window!

Post by Dima P. » Jun 12, 2018 3:10 pm

Hello Peter,

Thank you for your post.
Job Chained to a job that has been deleted (and usually re-created under another name).
Just checked, with schedule option to ‘start after this job’ you get a confirmation dialog with all dependent jobs listed and if the name of the job was modified - it's automatically propagated to the dependent job schedule.

From the top of my head your challenge can be easily solved by VeeamOne reporting capabilities. For instance take a loot at Protected VMs report. Thanks!

Rascii
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 14, 2014 7:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Feature Request: "Last Run" Colum on Main Window!

Post by Rascii » Jun 12, 2018 6:51 pm

Gostev wrote:I just heard the same request from a very big brand, also our existing customer. But I did not like to put the actual date into the column - there is already a columns with date, plus date/time value is hardly readable at a glance. I proposed to instead have the "Last run" column that will say, for example, "4 days ago" - and they thought it is an excellent idea. What do you think?
Love the idea. Better than a long and cumbersome date for sure.

A very needed column as I agree with the OP.

wonderboy
Influencer
Posts: 19
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Aug 25, 2010 11:15 am
Full Name: peter
Contact:

Re: Feature Request: "Last Run" Column on Main Window!

Post by wonderboy » Jun 13, 2018 9:46 am

Hi Gostev,

yes that sounds like it will do the trick!

thanks

damind
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 25, 2012 7:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Feature Request: "Last Run" Column on Main Window!

Post by damind » Oct 25, 2018 4:48 pm

I would also like to see last run date information in the Job information window of the Veeam B&R Console. However, I would like to expand the request to include selectable columns for many other job options such as Secondary Targets, Free space on target, Guest Processing options, Last run duration, etc. Thanks for a great product.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24092
Liked: 3280 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Feature Request: "Last Run" Column on Main Window!

Post by Gostev » Oct 26, 2018 6:55 pm 2 people like this post

In Update 4, we've added the requested column, as well as the ability to select which columns to display in the job grid. So, we're no longer limited in the number of columns we can fit in the grid, and will be able to add additional columns in future based on your requests. The only consideration that remains in place is how fast the corresponding information can be queried before it can be displayed, as this part is the number one reason for "slow UI" issues.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: backupquestions, Bing [Bot] and 39 guests