Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
ThinkGrid
Enthusiast
Posts: 55
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:18 am
Contact:

feature request: save Job configuration

Post by ThinkGrid » Apr 25, 2012 2:19 pm 1 person likes this post

[merged]

Hi

I'm pretty sure it's being mentioned before but i'll say it again :)

I think it's a good idead that you start looking into the option of saving the Job settings as this would make life so much easier

Just the way you have done with importing the backed up data with .vbm, make it possible that the job settings are exported and imported. This comes about as I have created new vCenters and need to point existing jobs to these new vCenters but it means I'll have to re-create jobs from scratch

Regards
Petrit

lobo519
Expert
Posts: 297
Liked: 34 times
Joined: Sep 29, 2010 3:37 pm
Contact:

Re: feature request: save Job configuration

Post by lobo519 » Apr 25, 2012 3:16 pm

I second the motion!

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17715
Liked: 1481 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: import/Export backup job

Post by foggy » Apr 25, 2012 3:35 pm

Remember that Enterprise edition allows to clone the jobs using Enterprise Manager.

jonan1987
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 14, 2012 12:30 pm
Full Name: Jon Ander Gonzalez Calvo
Contact:

Exporting jobs

Post by jonan1987 » May 09, 2012 11:15 am

[merged]

Hello,

I have a veeam backup server installed in a virtual machine. Now I've purchased a physical server and I've installer a windows server 2008 R2 enterprise.
I want to install the veeam backup in this new server, but in the old virtual server I have all the jobs configured and are a lot of they.
It's possible to export the jobs to a file and import to the new installation of Veeam in the new server?

Thanks

hansis100
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 04, 2011 8:06 am
Contact:

Export configuration

Post by hansis100 » Sep 10, 2012 2:35 pm

[merged]

Hello!

I have to setup a new veeam-Server.
Is it possible to export the settings and the jobs?

thx.
hansi

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17715
Liked: 1481 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: import export job

Post by foggy » Sep 10, 2012 3:24 pm

Upcoming Veeam B&R v6.5 will allow to backup and restore its entire configuration settings (so all jobs - not the individual jobs).

hansis100
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 04, 2011 8:06 am
Contact:

Re: import export job

Post by hansis100 » Sep 18, 2012 6:45 am

when will new version be available?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17715
Liked: 1481 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: import export job

Post by foggy » Sep 18, 2012 8:09 am

Q4

Rumple
Service Provider
Posts: 54
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mar 10, 2010 7:50 pm
Full Name: Mark Hodges
Contact:

Re: import export job

Post by Rumple » Oct 27, 2012 11:18 pm

cloning the jobs is somewhat useless because we typically want to move the jobs to another existing server, not just create an exact same job on the exact same server.
I am in the process of putting all my jobs on my DR server and turning the existing servers into proxyies only, but you can't just clone/move an existing job to a new server.
The import/export is a great feature if I wanted to move to a new hardware, but really thats just as simple to do with SQL manager (backup and restore database)

For the love of freaking god, allow us to move jobs between backup servers...really...its NOT THAT DIFFICULT...its all stored in a damn database...if you can clone the job on the same server (which injects the job into the database, you can inject it into the database on another server.
At that point all we should need to do is edit the repository and force a full backup

I really can't see why this has taken so freaking long to accomplish...its frustrating as hell to have to freaking re-create these jobs.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24019
Liked: 3254 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: import export job

Post by Gostev » Oct 28, 2012 12:09 am

Rumple wrote:I really can't see why this has taken so freaking long to accomplish
Actually, it is very simple. This feature have had a low priority, because there is no use case behind moving the jobs periodically from one server to another. It is a very rare occurrence when you need to do something like this, if at all. Why would prioritize features that are required once in a life time at best, when we have hundreds of pending features which you would benefit from daily?
Rumple wrote:I am in the process of putting all my jobs on my DR server and turning the existing servers into proxyies only
So, how often are you going to do something like this in future in your environment, once you are done with the current move?

jwhalen
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 14, 2009 9:14 pm
Full Name: Jim Whalen
Contact:

[MERGED] Import Export Job

Post by jwhalen » Apr 22, 2013 8:22 pm

Does Veeam BR 6.5 have the ability to export a job? I have searched some threads and though it appears this was on the drawing board as long ago as 2010 I do not see this functionality in the current version. I see Enterprise manager has the ability to Clone and Edit jobs which is nice but I would like to export the job configuration from one Veeam server and import it on another server. I realize the entire configuration can be exported but I was looking for something more granular. Is this functionality hiding somewhere? If not is this feature on the roadmap?

Jim

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22301
Liked: 1414 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: import export job

Post by Vitaliy S. » Apr 22, 2013 9:41 pm

Jim, you can only import/export backup jobs with the options you've already mentioned in your post, no extra functionality is available. Thanks!

v.eremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16143
Liked: 1318 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: import export job

Post by v.eremin » Apr 23, 2013 10:49 am

Hi, Jim. The job can be also cloned locally by the means of PowerShell:

Code: Select all

Add-PSSnapin VeeamPSSnapin
$Job = Get-VbRjob -name "Name of your Job"
Copy-VBRJob -job $Job
Hope this helps.
Thanks.

v.eremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16143
Liked: 1318 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: import export job

Post by v.eremin » Apr 23, 2013 10:50 am

Otherwise, if you’re willing to copy job from remote VB&R server, you need firstly to connect to remote PowerShell instance, using invoke-command, or whatever, then collect everything you want to.

The following example will give a little more understanding how this process should be scripted:

Code: Select all

#First part (Remote)

Asnp VeeamPSSnapin
$Job = Get-VBRJob -name "Name of the job you're willing to copy"
$Names = ($Job | Get-VBRJobObject).name
$Options = $Job.GetOptions()
$VSSOptions = $Job.GetVssOptions()

#Second part (Local)

Asnp VeeamPSSnapin
$Server = Get-VBRServer | ?{($_.type -eq "vc") -and (($_.name -eq "Name of your VC") )} 
$Entity = foreach ($name in $Names)
{
   Find-VBRViEntity -Server $Server | ? {($_.name -eq $Name)}
}
$Repository = Get-VBRBackupRepository -name "Name of your repository"
Add-VBRViBackupJob -Entity $Entity -Name "Name of the job you're willing to create" -BackupRepository $Repository
Start-sleep -s 5
$Job2 = Get-VBRJob | ? {$_.name -eq "Name of the job you're willing to create"}
$Job2.SetOptions($Options)
$Job2.SetVssOptions($VSSOptions) 
First part of the abovementioned script is responsible for collecting job settings and should be executed on remote machine; second part will create a new job on your local machine and pass previously collected settings to it.

Please be aware that manual input is only required if in the settings of the job which you’re willing to copy there is a particular proxy server specified; it won’t be copied and you will need to set proxy server afterwards.

Hope this helps.
Thanks.

Tobias_Elfstrom
Enthusiast
Posts: 84
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Jul 04, 2012 6:32 am
Full Name: Tobias Elfstrom
Contact:

Re: import export job

Post by Tobias_Elfstrom » Apr 23, 2013 12:12 pm

v.Eremin wrote:Otherwise, if you’re willing to copy job from remote VB&R server, you need firstly to connect to remote PowerShell instance, using invoke-command, or whatever, then collect everything you want to.
I've used the powershell version of moving jobs on multiple times when doing different types of migrations.
Read out objects, job.options and job.vssoptions and then setting repository from within the powershell where I create the new job.

Also note that if you have user password for vss and indexing this password hash till change when moving to a new B&R server. I typicality set up one job manually and copy the hashed password from this job.

This process of exporting and importing jobs between B&R servers works very well and allows me to change repository in the process.

BR Tobias

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot], guillenet22, jmmarton, Karinne, restore-helper and 29 guests