Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
hyvokar
Expert
Posts: 367
Liked: 23 times
Joined: Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm
Contact:

Initial backup copy job fails

Post by hyvokar » Sep 29, 2015 3:48 am

Hi!

I'm trying to run a backup copy job to a cloud repository. The copying should take around 15 hours. I start the job at 16:00 but it fails at 00:00 -

Copy interval has expired - Initial copy did not complete, and will resume on the next copy interval.


How can I set the initial job run for 16 hours and not to expire at midnight?
When the warning message says "resume", will it actually resume, or rather start over?
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18550
Liked: 1606 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Initial backup copy job fails

Post by foggy » Sep 29, 2015 9:13 am

You can set the longer interval until the initial run completes and then configure it back to the required value. Another option is to seed the backup job by sending the offline copy of the backup to the cloud provider, if that is applicable.
hyvokar wrote:When the warning message says "resume", will it actually resume, or rather start over?
During the next interval the copy will resume and attempt to copy all the missing blocks to the next restore point.

hyvokar
Expert
Posts: 367
Liked: 23 times
Joined: Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Initial backup copy job fails

Post by hyvokar » Sep 29, 2015 3:02 pm

Thanks! Seeding isnt possible at this case, but longer interval will propably save me :-)
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17134
Liked: 1481 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Initial backup copy job fails

Post by veremin » Sep 29, 2015 3:09 pm

The subsequent incremental runs should take less time. So, you can increase interval just temporarily in order for the first run to pass. Thanks.

Baldy27
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 20, 2016 2:39 pm
Full Name: Chris Baldwin
Contact:

[MERGED] Initial copy did not complete

Post by Baldy27 » Jul 20, 2016 2:54 pm

HI,

Quite new to Veeam but we currently have a Backup Copy job running which we keep receiving warnings from saying "Initial copy did not complete, and will resume on the next copy interval"

I have had a search but cant see a related topic.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18550
Liked: 1606 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Initial copy did not complete, and will resume on the ne

Post by foggy » Jul 20, 2016 3:30 pm

Chris, this is typical for the initial sync, when the configured copy interval is not long enough to allow sending the entire full backup. You can extend the interval until the sync is performed and then set it back to the current value for further incremental runs.

Baldy27
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 20, 2016 2:39 pm
Full Name: Chris Baldwin
Contact:

Re: Initial backup copy job fails

Post by Baldy27 » Jul 21, 2016 7:06 am

How do i extend the interval Veeam 8

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18550
Liked: 1606 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Initial backup copy job fails

Post by foggy » Jul 21, 2016 9:42 am

Open backup copy job properties and set the copy interval to an extended value.

mohd.omar
Influencer
Posts: 12
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Sep 07, 2016 5:23 am
Full Name: Mohd Omar
Contact:

Re: Initial backup copy job fails

Post by mohd.omar » Jun 18, 2017 4:30 am

Hello everyone,
I am having the same issue for the 3rd day , it's 1.94TB backup Copy job and I already set the interval only "one copy every day", longest possible duration. and this warning still there ? may I know how to remove it please? and why the job is taking very long time over than 24 hours to finish , although it's coping from reverse incremental backup and I don't have over than 30GB incremental data to copy every day.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17134
Liked: 1481 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Initial backup copy job fails

Post by veremin » Jun 18, 2017 7:54 pm

The only way to remove it is to make backup copy finish its copy cycle. In your case for some reason backup copy job fails to transfer changes within allocated interval. Thus, the warning.

Have you considered initial seeding or setting weekly copy interval and lowering it down gradually, if the job manages to cope with generated changes?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Mildur, vaicsimmons and 48 guests