Initial backup copy job fails

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Initial backup copy job fails

Veeam Logoby hyvokar » Tue Sep 29, 2015 3:48 am

Hi!

I'm trying to run a backup copy job to a cloud repository. The copying should take around 15 hours. I start the job at 16:00 but it fails at 00:00 -

Copy interval has expired - Initial copy did not complete, and will resume on the next copy interval.


How can I set the initial job run for 16 hours and not to expire at midnight?
When the warning message says "resume", will it actually resume, or rather start over?
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE
hyvokar
Service Provider
 
Posts: 267
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm

Re: Initial backup copy job fails

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Sep 29, 2015 9:13 am

You can set the longer interval until the initial run completes and then configure it back to the required value. Another option is to seed the backup job by sending the offline copy of the backup to the cloud provider, if that is applicable.

hyvokar wrote:When the warning message says "resume", will it actually resume, or rather start over?

During the next interval the copy will resume and attempt to copy all the missing blocks to the next restore point.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15266
Liked: 1131 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Initial backup copy job fails

Veeam Logoby hyvokar » Tue Sep 29, 2015 3:02 pm

Thanks! Seeding isnt possible at this case, but longer interval will propably save me :-)
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE
hyvokar
Service Provider
 
Posts: 267
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm

Re: Initial backup copy job fails

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Sep 29, 2015 3:09 pm

The subsequent incremental runs should take less time. So, you can increase interval just temporarily in order for the first run to pass. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13691
Liked: 1020 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

[MERGED] Initial copy did not complete

Veeam Logoby Baldy27 » Wed Jul 20, 2016 2:54 pm

HI,

Quite new to Veeam but we currently have a Backup Copy job running which we keep receiving warnings from saying "Initial copy did not complete, and will resume on the next copy interval"

I have had a search but cant see a related topic.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks
Baldy27
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 2:39 pm
Full Name: Chris Baldwin

Re: Initial copy did not complete, and will resume on the ne

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Jul 20, 2016 3:30 pm

Chris, this is typical for the initial sync, when the configured copy interval is not long enough to allow sending the entire full backup. You can extend the interval until the sync is performed and then set it back to the current value for further incremental runs.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15266
Liked: 1131 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Initial backup copy job fails

Veeam Logoby Baldy27 » Thu Jul 21, 2016 7:06 am

How do i extend the interval Veeam 8
Baldy27
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 2:39 pm
Full Name: Chris Baldwin

Re: Initial backup copy job fails

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Jul 21, 2016 9:42 am

Open backup copy job properties and set the copy interval to an extended value.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15266
Liked: 1131 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Initial backup copy job fails

Veeam Logoby mohd.omar » Sun Jun 18, 2017 4:30 am

Hello everyone,
I am having the same issue for the 3rd day , it's 1.94TB backup Copy job and I already set the interval only "one copy every day", longest possible duration. and this warning still there ? may I know how to remove it please? and why the job is taking very long time over than 24 hours to finish , although it's coping from reverse incremental backup and I don't have over than 30GB incremental data to copy every day.
mohd.omar
Influencer
 
Posts: 12
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2016 5:23 am
Full Name: Mohd Omar

Re: Initial backup copy job fails

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Sun Jun 18, 2017 7:54 pm

The only way to remove it is to make backup copy finish its copy cycle. In your case for some reason backup copy job fails to transfer changes within allocated interval. Thus, the warning.

Have you considered initial seeding or setting weekly copy interval and lowering it down gradually, if the job manages to cope with generated changes?
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13691
Liked: 1020 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests