mix Standard and Enterprise License/Backup

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

mix Standard and Enterprise License/Backup

Veeam Logoby ChrisRoad » Tue Oct 19, 2010 8:39 am

I've already read in an official post, that it's not possible to mix the news Standard and Enterprise Versions/Licenses of Veeam Backup&Replication, at least not in the same installation.

But is it allowed/possible to upgrade only some of our existing Standard Licenses to Enterprise, split the up and use them on a secondary Installation of Veeam?
ChrisRoad
Service Provider
 
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2010 8:24 am
Full Name: Christoph Roethlisberger

Re: mix Standard and Enterprise License/Backup

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Tue Oct 19, 2010 9:55 am

No, mixing licenses is not allowed in the same environment.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21396
Liked: 2350 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: mix Standard and Enterprise License/Backup

Veeam Logoby tsightler » Tue Oct 19, 2010 12:57 pm

Gostev wrote:No, mixing licenses is not allowed in the same environment.


Seriously, even with two different Veeam servers? That's pretty big. What do you consider the "same environment"? A single ESX cluster. I can envision many customers who might want the Enterprise features for their datacenter but might not be interested for their remote sites.
tsightler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4775
Liked: 1742 times
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 12:57 pm
Full Name: Tom Sightler

Re: mix Standard and Enterprise License/Backup

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Tue Oct 19, 2010 1:48 pm

I meant site/datacenter (physical location). You can deploy Standard in the remote offices. However, it is important to realize that it will also take separate install of Enteprise Manager in that remote office (in other words, completely separate Veeam Backup install). So, if you choose to go this path you will loose centralized management, monitoring, VM or guest file search, etc.

Generally, Standard Edition is positioned for very small IT shops (just a few sockets). We expect majority of users to use Enterprise. This is also one of the reason why we are grandfathering all of our existing customers (as of end of Q2 2010) to Enteprise Edition at no charge.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21396
Liked: 2350 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: mix Standard and Enterprise License/Backup

Veeam Logoby tsightler » Tue Oct 19, 2010 7:15 pm

OK, got it. I think it's quite generous that Veeam is grandfathering existing customers into the higher end of the product line. Most companies would look at this as an opportunity to gain more dollars from existing customers.
tsightler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4775
Liked: 1742 times
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 12:57 pm
Full Name: Tom Sightler

Re: mix Standard and Enterprise License/Backup

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Tue Oct 19, 2010 7:21 pm

Well, we learn from other companies' mistakes... we had a chance to observe how did it go for VMware with vSphere Enterprise Plus ;) did not work very well. May be they made some extra money, but their image was a bit spoiled over this too.

And in addition, how else we can thank all of the customers who sticked with us from early days, and who helped to make this product what it is now. There was certain risk, but you made the bet on us, and apparently your bet won! :D
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21396
Liked: 2350 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

[MERGED] Mix VBR enterprise and Veeam essentials plus licens

Veeam Logoby skayser » Wed May 04, 2011 11:26 am

Is it possible to combine regular VBR enterprise licenses with a Veeam essentials plus bundle? Scenario: an internal VMware cluster (licensed with VMware enterprise) and a separate DMZ VMware cluster (licensed with VMware essentials plus). Could one order VBR enterprise SKUs for the internal cluster and a Veeam essentials plus SKU for the DMZ cluster and get a combined license? The whole setup should be backed up by the same VBR host.
skayser
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 27
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 8:28 am
Full Name: Sebastian Kayser

Re: mix Standard and Enterprise License/Backup

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed May 04, 2011 12:25 pm

No, mixing different license types within the same site/environment is not allowed.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19575
Liked: 1106 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

[MERGED] Veeam License Question

Veeam Logoby simeonh » Thu May 19, 2011 3:05 am

Is it possible to have 1 license file which has both versions of Veeam in it, that being Standard and Enterprise?

For Example, if we had 4x standard licenses and a fifth license was an Enterprise license, so that you can do granular restores of objects from dbs, so you tie down the Exchange Server and SQL to the Host that is assigned the Enterprise License, and you have the standard license used for the other hosts that don't host those vms.

Is this possible?
simeonh
Influencer
 
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 11:10 pm
Full Name: Simeon Hemus

Re: mix Standard and Enterprise License/Backup

Veeam Logoby devzero » Sat Jun 22, 2013 11:04 am

Hello !
>No, mixing different license types within the same site/environment is not allowed.

I`m curious - does that still apply? Then we have a problem, as we ordered enterprise to use it for our primary serverfarm and want to combine it with standard at the same site - as we do with VMware standard and enterprise.

I`m really wondering, why the distributor did not tell about that limitation. As it was not my decition to buy enterprise i consider dropping enterprises and go back to standard for everything.
devzero
Influencer
 
Posts: 15
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 9:05 pm
Full Name: rolandk

Re: mix Standard and Enterprise License/Backup

Veeam Logoby NightBird » Sat Jun 22, 2013 5:17 pm

What you can do is mixing Tiers (Tier A, B, C) of the same type.
NightBird
Service Provider
 
Posts: 148
Liked: 20 times
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 8:33 am
Location: Strasbourg, FRANCE

Re: mix Standard and Enterprise License/Backup

Veeam Logoby devzero » Sat Jun 22, 2013 5:33 pm

what is a tier in terms of veeam licenses?
devzero
Influencer
 
Posts: 15
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 9:05 pm
Full Name: rolandk

Re: mix Standard and Enterprise License/Backup

Veeam Logoby NightBird » Sat Jun 22, 2013 8:55 pm

0-6 cores per CPU
7-12 cores
13-unlimited cores
NightBird
Service Provider
 
Posts: 148
Liked: 20 times
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 8:33 am
Location: Strasbourg, FRANCE

Re: mix Standard and Enterprise License/Backup

Veeam Logoby devzero » Sat Jun 22, 2013 9:03 pm

so i cannot mix standard with enterprise, if all my servers have 4-6 cores?
devzero
Influencer
 
Posts: 15
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 9:05 pm
Full Name: rolandk

Re: mix Standard and Enterprise License/Backup

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Mon Jun 24, 2013 8:07 am

Correct, you cannot mix editions. Number of cores is irrelevant.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21396
Liked: 2350 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Next

Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 33 guests