Moving Veeam B&R to another server?

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Re: Moving Veeam B&R to another server?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Jan 19, 2015 9:34 am

Is this a supported method?

Yep, and you can refer to this KB article.

Anything special to keep in mind when moving the database?

Backup the database/server first before moving it to a different server.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13075
Liked: 949 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Moving Veeam B&R to another server?

Veeam Logoby masonit » Fri Feb 13, 2015 12:55 pm

foggy wrote:
masonit wrote:What exactly will be retained during the move? Is it only the passwords we have to re-enter or will managed credentials list be empty after the move?

Only the passwords. The list of credentials will be still populated, however all the passwords will be empty.

masonit wrote:Is there a way around this? If we move the database instead of using configuration backup? We have atleast 100 different credentials in this VBR server..

Yes, backing up/moving the entire Veeam B&R database is a workaround, if you need to keep passwords on v7. Another solution is to upgrade to v8 and use encrypted configuration backup.



Hi

I have now moved to a new server. But so far I have had to re-type all paswords for proxy servers and vcenter server! Shouldn't this be non issue after a database move???

Re-typing password is alright for proxy and vcenter servers. But I really don't want to do it on application aware passwords. Haven't reach that stage yet in my testing...

\Masonit
masonit
Service Provider
 
Posts: 141
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 2:30 pm
Full Name: Magnus Andersson

Re: Moving Veeam B&R to another server?

Veeam Logoby masonit » Fri Feb 13, 2015 2:36 pm

All passwords is lost, Not a ideal situation. :( What can be done?

\Masonit
masonit
Service Provider
 
Posts: 141
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 2:30 pm
Full Name: Magnus Andersson

Re: Moving Veeam B&R to another server?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri Feb 13, 2015 2:59 pm

Do you still have an ability to connect Veeam B&R to the old SQL Server instance (using instructions given in the mentioned KB)? Apparently passwords are encrypted with the machine key so lost upon database migration to another server. Seems like encrypted configuration backup in v8 is the only option to keep passwords during migration.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14560
Liked: 1060 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Moving Veeam B&R to another server?

Veeam Logoby masonit » Fri Feb 13, 2015 4:06 pm

Old Veeam installation is up and running again. No damaged done. But not good with missleading information. A lot of time lost..

\Masonit
masonit
Service Provider
 
Posts: 141
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 2:30 pm
Full Name: Magnus Andersson

Re: Moving Veeam B&R to another server?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri Feb 13, 2015 4:24 pm

My apologies for misleading. I haven't tried that personally, this just looked like a viable workaround to try. The fact that passwords are encrypted with the machine-specific key has completely slipped my mind, since in v8 this does not produce any issues (passwords are decrypted prior to being stored in encrypted configuration backup and then re-encrypted again with the new server's key upon restore). Is there any reason why you do not want to upgrade to v8?
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14560
Liked: 1060 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Moving Veeam B&R to another server?

Veeam Logoby masonit » Mon Feb 16, 2015 8:09 am

foggy wrote:My apologies for misleading. I haven't tried that personally, this just looked like a viable workaround to try. The fact that passwords are encrypted with the machine-specific key has completely slipped my mind, since in v8 this does not produce any issues (passwords are decrypted prior to being stored in encrypted configuration backup and then re-encrypted again with the new server's key upon restore). Is there any reason why you do not want to upgrade to v8?


Yes if this does not work upgrading to Veeam 8 would be the next step. But I would like to make the move before I upgrade to Veeam 8 if possible.
I have also started a support case about this (00759579). They say it should work to move with the credentials intact. So right now I don't know what to think.. :?

\Masonit
masonit
Service Provider
 
Posts: 141
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 2:30 pm
Full Name: Magnus Andersson

Re: Moving Veeam B&R to another server?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Feb 25, 2015 2:01 pm

masonit wrote:I have also started a support case about this (00759579). They say it should work to move with the credentials intact. So right now I don't know what to think.. :?

So just to make a conclusion on this, credentials are left intact, but cannot be decrypted with the new server's key, so re-entering credentials will be still required.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14560
Liked: 1060 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

[MERGED] Virtualizing the Veeam server

Veeam Logoby marius roma » Mon Jul 17, 2017 8:36 am

The Veeam B&R 9.0 server is currently hosted by a physical HP DL360 server.
I am considering virtualizing it.
The idea is using VMware Converter to create a VM (hosted by the same VMware vSphere infrastructure where the VM managed by Veeam B&R reside) with the same name and IP address of the current Veeam server.
Veeam B&R will be uninstalled from the current physical server.
The new VM will use the same product key of the current physical server.
Is there any issue to consider, from either the licensing and the technical point of view?
Is there any documentation about the best way to virtualize the Veeam B&R server?
Regards
Marius
marius roma
Expert
 
Posts: 311
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 12:04 pm
Full Name: Mario

Re: Moving Veeam B&R to another server?

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Mon Jul 17, 2017 10:04 am

Hello Mario,
technically you can virtualize physical machine. I would suggest to go through steps described in this KB article, i.e. to do configuration backup and restore it on new installation.
Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4759
Liked: 385 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Moving Veeam B&R to another server?

Veeam Logoby marius roma » Wed Jul 19, 2017 2:35 pm

Can I simply convert the physical server to a VM and keep the same IP and hostname?
Regards
marius
marius roma
Expert
 
Posts: 311
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 12:04 pm
Full Name: Mario

Re: Moving Veeam B&R to another server?

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Wed Jul 19, 2017 3:37 pm

I`ve never tested it, but theoretically it should work. Don`t forget to make a backup before you give it a try.
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4759
Liked: 385 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Previous

Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: adapterer, Bing [Bot] and 28 guests