Moving Veeam B&R to another server?

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Re: Moving Veeam B&R to another server?

Veeam Logoby deduplicat3d » Sun Oct 06, 2013 1:22 am

Isn't there a step missing where you could backup the configuration from the app and then after installing the new version you would not only point to the DB but also restore the configuration?
deduplicat3d
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 98
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 8:21 pm
Full Name: Corey

Re: Moving Veeam B&R to another server?

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Sun Oct 06, 2013 8:52 am

No need in cases when remote SQL is used, such as the latest one... you just point the new install to the same database.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21644
Liked: 2424 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Moving Veeam B&R to another server?

Veeam Logoby deduplicat3d » Sun Oct 06, 2013 5:54 pm

I have a remote SQL server, and scheduled configuration backup... so that's unnecessary?
deduplicat3d
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 98
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 8:21 pm
Full Name: Corey

Re: Moving Veeam B&R to another server?

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Sun Oct 06, 2013 6:11 pm

Unnecessary, assuming you are backing up that remote SQL server.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21644
Liked: 2424 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Moving Veeam B&R to another server?

Veeam Logoby jompiz » Mon Oct 14, 2013 9:36 am

Going to upgrade 6.5 to 7 this week and at the same time migrate to a new server. Can I just install v7 to the new server and import the configuration from 6.5? Or do I need to migrate the database?
jompiz
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 4:08 pm

Re: Moving Veeam B&R to another server?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Oct 14, 2013 9:45 am

Please be aware, that importing backup configuration between different product version isn’t supported. For more details and step-by-step process, please refer to the Upgrade section of the Release Notes document or take a look at the answers provided above.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13845
Liked: 1036 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Moving Veeam B&R to another server?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Oct 14, 2013 11:11 am

The proper way to keep your current jobs and settings would be to perform an in-place upgrade of you current v6.5 to v7, backup its configuration (using built-in configuration backup functionality), and then restore the configuration to the new v7 installation.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15377
Liked: 1139 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

[MERGED] SQL DB Migration

Veeam Logoby nholman » Tue Dec 10, 2013 3:48 pm

Hi

Our current installation of Veeam 7 is pointing to a SQL server 2008R2 server. We would like to move the Veeam database and users to our new SQL 2012SP1 server and point veeam to use this.

Can anyone offer any advice or guidance on doing this - is there documentation for this?

thanks
nholman
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 60
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 10:23 am
Full Name: Nick Holman

Re: Moving Veeam B&R to another server?

Veeam Logoby nholman » Tue Dec 10, 2013 4:04 pm

Not sure why my post was merged? my question isnt relating to moving the Veeam server but changing the database server
nholman
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 60
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 10:23 am
Full Name: Nick Holman

Re: Moving Veeam B&R to another server?

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Dec 10, 2013 4:06 pm

Your question is covered on the first page of this topic. In addition to this you can use built-in configuration backup functionality to transfer existing data to the new SQL Server. Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 20088
Liked: 1157 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Moving Veeam B&R to another server?

Veeam Logoby masonit » Thu Jan 08, 2015 1:18 pm

Hi!

In the userguide under performing restore of conf backup. I say that:

At the Credentials step of the wizard, specify a password for every object in the list. When Veeam Backup & Replication exports configuration data, it does not save passwords for objects. Therefore, you need to specify them anew.

What does this mean? That we have to re-enter the password for all managed credentials?

\Masonit
masonit
Service Provider
 
Posts: 141
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 2:30 pm
Full Name: Magnus Andersson

Re: Moving Veeam B&R to another server?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Jan 12, 2015 11:21 am

That's correct, if you're on v7. v8 now is able to backup creds and, upon restore, displays those that existed at the time when configuration was backed up, allowing you to specify new values if some of them have changed.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15377
Liked: 1139 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Moving Veeam B&R to another server?

Veeam Logoby masonit » Mon Jan 12, 2015 11:38 am

foggy wrote:That's correct, if you're on v7. v8 now is able to backup creds and, upon restore, displays those that existed at the time when configuration was backed up, allowing you to specify new values if some of them have changed.


What exactly will be retained during the move? Is it only the passwords we have to re-enter or will managed credentials list be empty after the move?

Is there a way around this? If we move the database instead of using configuration backup? We have atleast 100 different credentials in this VBR server..

\Masonit
masonit
Service Provider
 
Posts: 141
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 2:30 pm
Full Name: Magnus Andersson

Re: Moving Veeam B&R to another server?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Jan 12, 2015 12:30 pm

masonit wrote:What exactly will be retained during the move? Is it only the passwords we have to re-enter or will managed credentials list be empty after the move?

Only the passwords. The list of credentials will be still populated, however all the passwords will be empty.

masonit wrote:Is there a way around this? If we move the database instead of using configuration backup? We have atleast 100 different credentials in this VBR server..

Yes, backing up/moving the entire Veeam B&R database is a workaround, if you need to keep passwords on v7. Another solution is to upgrade to v8 and use encrypted configuration backup.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15377
Liked: 1139 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Moving Veeam B&R to another server?

Veeam Logoby masonit » Mon Jan 19, 2015 9:15 am

foggy wrote:
masonit wrote:Is there a way around this? If we move the database instead of using configuration backup? We have atleast 100 different credentials in this VBR server..

Yes, backing up/moving the entire Veeam B&R database is a workaround, if you need to keep passwords on v7. Another solution is to upgrade to v8 and use encrypted configuration backup.


Sounds good. :)

Anything special to keep in mind when moving the database? Is this a supported method? If I run in to trouble. Will then support help me?

\Masonit
masonit
Service Provider
 
Posts: 141
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 2:30 pm
Full Name: Magnus Andersson

PreviousNext

Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CoreyE, Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest