Multiple IP for Repositories?

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Multiple IP for Repositories?

Veeam Logoby jpoehls » Wed Feb 15, 2017 2:29 pm

We have a backup storage device that has multiple NICs, each with its own IP. The device does not support load balancing across the NICs, so we have to use the individual IPs to balance it manually.

Currently, several jobs are using a single repository, and each create their own subfolder on the share. I would like to create the new repositories to split out the load between the NICs, instead of putting it all through one. When configuring repositories in Veeam, will it cause any issues if we were to use the same CIFS share for each NIC, and just change the IP?

Example:

Repository1 - \\10.1.1.1\Veeam
Repository2 - \\10.1.1.2\Veeam
Repository3 - \\10.1.1.3\Veeam
etc

Would this work, or would I need to create new shares for each repository?
jpoehls
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 1:24 pm
Full Name: Jeremy Poehls

Re: Multiple IP for Repositories?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Feb 15, 2017 2:54 pm

Jeremy, this kind of setup is highly not recommended, since in this case the same backups will be registered in several repositories, which might result in different issues. Having a separate folder for each repository is a correct approach.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14094
Liked: 1027 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Multiple IP for Repositories?

Veeam Logoby jpoehls » Wed Feb 15, 2017 5:08 pm

I was wondering if that would be the case or not. Thanks!
jpoehls
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 1:24 pm
Full Name: Jeremy Poehls

Re: Multiple IP for Repositories?

Veeam Logoby jpoehls » Wed Feb 15, 2017 5:19 pm

In the same hardware scenario, could I move a repository to a different IP on the device by doing the following:

Veeam1 and Veeam2 are currently on 10.1.1.1, but I only want Veeam1 on that IP. I want to move Veeam2 to 10.1.1.2.

Create new repository for the share, using new IP address (ex. \\10.1.1.2\Veeam2)
Edit the job to use the new repository
Delete the old repository (the one that was pointing to \\10.1.1.1\Veeam2)

Or is there another way it should be done?
jpoehls
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 1:24 pm
Full Name: Jeremy Poehls

Re: Multiple IP for Repositories?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Feb 16, 2017 10:41 am

The procedure for moving to a new repository is described in this thread. I believe you would need to add the repository server to Veeam B&R console using its another IP prior to that.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14094
Liked: 1027 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 22 guests