Possibility to keep HP 3par Snapshots after backup?

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Re: Possibility to keep HP 3par Snapshots after backup?

Veeam Logoby jan.westgard@nhn.no » Tue Jun 21, 2016 12:57 pm

Hi,

I have looked at these "cmdlet" which integrates Veeam B&R with different storage systems, but by using these we have to deal with both retention and restore manually. I was hoping that this was possible to handle within Veeam B&R GUI in the same way as ordinary backup/restore functions. Perhaps this may be something that can be included in future versions?

Regards, Jan
jan.westgard@nhn.no
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 1:39 pm
Full Name: Jan Westgård

Re: Possibility to keep HP 3par Snapshots after backup?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Jun 21, 2016 1:42 pm

Perhaps this may be something that can be included in future versions?

It all depends on the amount of demand coming from our customers. So, thank you for the feedback; appreciated.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 12606
Liked: 910 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Possibility to keep HP 3par Snapshots after backup?

Veeam Logoby michaele » Wed Jun 22, 2016 10:53 am

Hi,

i have some customers they this feature also need. In my case the most customers have a StoreOnce as Primary Target. A Instant Recovery from a Dedup-Appliance is very slow (8 Minutes from registration to pingable).
The next Problem with the "add-hp3snapshot" is, that this dosen't have a application integration.

Please add this in one of the next versions.

Regards
Michael
michaele
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2016 9:58 am
Full Name: Michael

Re: Possibility to keep HP 3par Snapshots after backup?

Veeam Logoby DagMoen » Mon Jun 27, 2016 11:02 am

Hi, can you please get this feature implemented? I have several 3PAR customers asking for this feature...

Rgds

Dag
DagMoen
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 10:57 am
Full Name: Dag Moen

Re: Possibility to keep HP 3par Snapshots after backup?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Jun 27, 2016 11:39 am

Let them share the feedback in this thread. The more demand feature request generates, the higher chances it gets implemented. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 12606
Liked: 910 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Possibility to keep HP 3par Snapshots after backup?

Veeam Logoby Aremac » Mon Jun 27, 2016 8:43 pm

Agree this is a major concern for customers moving from NetApp, where this feature as well as snapshot only backup jobs are already in place, to 3PAR. I was told by rep Veeam had feature parity between supported storage vendors as far as snapshot integration is concerned. This is currently not the case.
Aremac
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 57
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2011 11:59 pm
Full Name: Sam Pierce

Re: Possibility to keep HP 3par Snapshots after backup?

Veeam Logoby jan.westgard@nhn.no » Thu Jan 12, 2017 12:51 pm

foggy wrote:Hi Sam, the reason is mentioned in the first Anton's post above - too few requests for this functionality.


Hi, how many customer request do you need to look into and maybe implement such functionality?

Regards, Jan
jan.westgard@nhn.no
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 1:39 pm
Full Name: Jan Westgård

Re: Possibility to keep HP 3par Snapshots after backup?

Veeam Logoby jan.westgard@nhn.no » Thu Jan 12, 2017 12:59 pm

foggy wrote:Thanks for your feedback, guys. This functionality is on our radar, however we cannot provide any estimation on its availability.


Hi, I think a lot of HP 3PAR customers will appreciate the possibility to keep snapshots created by Veeam, hopefully such a feature will be available soon.

Regards, Jan
jan.westgard@nhn.no
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 1:39 pm
Full Name: Jan Westgård

Re: Possibility to keep HP 3par Snapshots after backup?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri Jan 13, 2017 9:53 pm

jan.westgard@nhn.no wrote:Hi, how many customer request do you need to look into and maybe implement such functionality?

This is not the only requested feature, we prioritize all of them this way, so once the particular one gets into the top priority, it gets implemented. I'm assuring you, it is on our radar.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14094
Liked: 1027 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Possibility to keep HP 3par Snapshots after backup?

Veeam Logoby yunales » Fri Jan 20, 2017 4:45 pm

just a friendly reminder for this feature request :)
yunales
Influencer
 
Posts: 11
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2014 7:34 pm
Full Name: P K

Re: Possibility to keep HP 3par Snapshots after backup?

Veeam Logoby FTBZ » Fri Feb 17, 2017 8:49 am

It would be very nice to be able to schedule 3PAR snapshot in a Veeam job like we can do with NetApp.
FTBZ
Influencer
 
Posts: 18
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 11:51 am

Re: Possibility to keep HP 3par Snapshots after backup?

Veeam Logoby ivordillen » Fri Feb 17, 2017 2:30 pm

Indeed a backup (only shapshot) or a backup (leave the snapshot) feature would be nice for 3PAR. It would also be nice if we could choose to do this on primary or remote copy side.

The flexibility would help a lot to create a fully integrated fully managed solution.

kind regard,

Ivor
ivordillen
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 59
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 2:55 pm
Full Name: Ivor Dillen

Re: Possibility to keep HP 3par Snapshots after backup?

Veeam Logoby SBarrett847 » Fri Mar 17, 2017 9:58 pm

yunales wrote:just a friendly reminder for this feature request :)


And here too.

As well as a Snapshot browser for Hyper-V.
SBarrett847
Service Provider
 
Posts: 121
Liked: 21 times
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2016 5:02 pm
Full Name: Stephen Barrett

Re: Possibility to keep HP 3par Snapshots after backup?

Veeam Logoby rampuli » Fri Mar 31, 2017 5:05 am

Feature Request!

I work as a partner of Veeam and we have at least 20 customers with at least 40 3PAR Systems waiting exactly for this feature. On top of this it would also help in selling Veeam.

Please prioritize this feature request!

Best regards,
Roger
rampuli
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2016 4:37 pm
Full Name: Roger Mafli

Re: Possibility to keep HP 3par Snapshots after backup?

Veeam Logoby DeLiriOusNoMaD » Sat Apr 01, 2017 5:31 am

I would also like to see this feature very much. also is there any particular reason VBR doesnt leverage 3PAR RMC as it's api to perform the actual snapshots, instead of directly connecting to the array itself? HPE is advising its customers moving forward it is recommending backup vendors to use RMC instead of connecting directly to array. some backup vendors are actively using RMC to do their backups! Also if you speak with your 3PAR rep and have an active contract they'll give you the software for free. also dont see RMC currently supplanting VBR any time soon.
DeLiriOusNoMaD
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2015 10:25 pm
Full Name: Bill Athineos

PreviousNext

Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 16 guests