Availability for the Always-On Enterprise
jan.westgard@nhn.no
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 20, 2016 1:39 pm
Full Name: Jan Westgård
Contact:

Re: Possibility to keep HP 3par Snapshots after backup?

Post by jan.westgard@nhn.no » Jun 21, 2016 12:57 pm

Hi,

I have looked at these "cmdlet" which integrates Veeam B&R with different storage systems, but by using these we have to deal with both retention and restore manually. I was hoping that this was possible to handle within Veeam B&R GUI in the same way as ordinary backup/restore functions. Perhaps this may be something that can be included in future versions?

Regards, Jan

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15077
Liked: 1133 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Possibility to keep HP 3par Snapshots after backup?

Post by v.Eremin » Jun 21, 2016 1:42 pm

Perhaps this may be something that can be included in future versions?
It all depends on the amount of demand coming from our customers. So, thank you for the feedback; appreciated.

michaele
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 22, 2016 9:58 am
Full Name: Michael
Contact:

Re: Possibility to keep HP 3par Snapshots after backup?

Post by michaele » Jun 22, 2016 10:53 am

Hi,

i have some customers they this feature also need. In my case the most customers have a StoreOnce as Primary Target. A Instant Recovery from a Dedup-Appliance is very slow (8 Minutes from registration to pingable).
The next Problem with the "add-hp3snapshot" is, that this dosen't have a application integration.

Please add this in one of the next versions.

Regards
Michael

DagMoen
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 27, 2016 10:57 am
Full Name: Dag Moen
Contact:

Re: Possibility to keep HP 3par Snapshots after backup?

Post by DagMoen » Jun 27, 2016 11:02 am

Hi, can you please get this feature implemented? I have several 3PAR customers asking for this feature...

Rgds

Dag

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15077
Liked: 1133 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Possibility to keep HP 3par Snapshots after backup?

Post by v.Eremin » Jun 27, 2016 11:39 am

Let them share the feedback in this thread. The more demand feature request generates, the higher chances it gets implemented. Thanks.

Aremac
Enthusiast
Posts: 57
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Sep 30, 2011 11:59 pm
Full Name: Sam Pierce
Contact:

Re: Possibility to keep HP 3par Snapshots after backup?

Post by Aremac » Jun 27, 2016 8:43 pm

Agree this is a major concern for customers moving from NetApp, where this feature as well as snapshot only backup jobs are already in place, to 3PAR. I was told by rep Veeam had feature parity between supported storage vendors as far as snapshot integration is concerned. This is currently not the case.

jan.westgard@nhn.no
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 20, 2016 1:39 pm
Full Name: Jan Westgård
Contact:

Re: Possibility to keep HP 3par Snapshots after backup?

Post by jan.westgard@nhn.no » Jan 12, 2017 12:51 pm

foggy wrote:Hi Sam, the reason is mentioned in the first Anton's post above - too few requests for this functionality.
Hi, how many customer request do you need to look into and maybe implement such functionality?

Regards, Jan

jan.westgard@nhn.no
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 20, 2016 1:39 pm
Full Name: Jan Westgård
Contact:

Re: Possibility to keep HP 3par Snapshots after backup?

Post by jan.westgard@nhn.no » Jan 12, 2017 12:59 pm

foggy wrote:Thanks for your feedback, guys. This functionality is on our radar, however we cannot provide any estimation on its availability.
Hi, I think a lot of HP 3PAR customers will appreciate the possibility to keep snapshots created by Veeam, hopefully such a feature will be available soon.

Regards, Jan

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16691
Liked: 1343 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Possibility to keep HP 3par Snapshots after backup?

Post by foggy » Jan 13, 2017 9:53 pm

jan.westgard@nhn.no wrote:Hi, how many customer request do you need to look into and maybe implement such functionality?
This is not the only requested feature, we prioritize all of them this way, so once the particular one gets into the top priority, it gets implemented. I'm assuring you, it is on our radar.

yunales
Influencer
Posts: 15
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Aug 20, 2014 7:34 pm
Full Name: P K
Contact:

Re: Possibility to keep HP 3par Snapshots after backup?

Post by yunales » Jan 20, 2017 4:45 pm

just a friendly reminder for this feature request :)

FTBZ
Influencer
Posts: 20
Liked: 2 times
Joined: May 05, 2016 11:51 am
Contact:

Re: Possibility to keep HP 3par Snapshots after backup?

Post by FTBZ » Feb 17, 2017 8:49 am

It would be very nice to be able to schedule 3PAR snapshot in a Veeam job like we can do with NetApp.

ivordillen
Enthusiast
Posts: 62
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 03, 2011 2:55 pm
Full Name: Ivor Dillen
Contact:

Re: Possibility to keep HP 3par Snapshots after backup?

Post by ivordillen » Feb 17, 2017 2:30 pm

Indeed a backup (only shapshot) or a backup (leave the snapshot) feature would be nice for 3PAR. It would also be nice if we could choose to do this on primary or remote copy side.

The flexibility would help a lot to create a fully integrated fully managed solution.

kind regard,

Ivor

SBarrett847
Service Provider
Posts: 244
Liked: 39 times
Joined: Feb 02, 2016 5:02 pm
Full Name: Stephen Barrett
Contact:

Re: Possibility to keep HP 3par Snapshots after backup?

Post by SBarrett847 » Mar 17, 2017 9:58 pm

yunales wrote:just a friendly reminder for this feature request :)
And here too.

As well as a Snapshot browser for Hyper-V.

rampuli
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 19, 2016 4:37 pm
Full Name: Roger Mafli
Contact:

Re: Possibility to keep HP 3par Snapshots after backup?

Post by rampuli » Mar 31, 2017 5:05 am

Feature Request!

I work as a partner of Veeam and we have at least 20 customers with at least 40 3PAR Systems waiting exactly for this feature. On top of this it would also help in selling Veeam.

Please prioritize this feature request!

Best regards,
Roger

DeLiriOusNoMaD
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 29, 2015 10:25 pm
Full Name: Bill Athineos
Contact:

Re: Possibility to keep HP 3par Snapshots after backup?

Post by DeLiriOusNoMaD » Apr 01, 2017 5:31 am

I would also like to see this feature very much. also is there any particular reason VBR doesnt leverage 3PAR RMC as it's api to perform the actual snapshots, instead of directly connecting to the array itself? HPE is advising its customers moving forward it is recommending backup vendors to use RMC instead of connecting directly to array. some backup vendors are actively using RMC to do their backups! Also if you speak with your 3PAR rep and have an active contract they'll give you the software for free. also dont see RMC currently supplanting VBR any time soon.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 47 guests