Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
MicErd
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 29, 2012 4:23 pm
Full Name: Michael Erdmann
Contact:

Preparation for the day my veeam backup server crashes

Post by MicErd » Oct 29, 2012 4:29 pm

Hi there,
I would like to know, how to prepare for the case my veeam backup server crashes. Is it enough to backup the backupfiles to tape, and in case of crash install veeam backup new and import the backup files? But what info stores the database?
Help needed!
Regards
Michael

Helqasem
Expert
Posts: 226
Liked: 28 times
Joined: Jan 27, 2012 11:31 am
Full Name: Hani El-Qasem
Contact:

Re: Preparation for the day my veeam backup server crashes

Post by Helqasem » Oct 29, 2012 4:44 pm

Hi Micheal,

Before v6.5, you could replicate the Enterprise Manager, Console and DB if they were installed in a VM.

In v6.5 however, we have introduced the ability to back-up the configuration to a repository. To recover from this you simply install Veeam and import the configuration. This works great where the Veeam Server is physical.

Hope this helps.

kjc3303
Expert
Posts: 167
Liked: 24 times
Joined: Dec 02, 2010 12:25 pm
Full Name: Kevin Clarke
Location: Cheshire
Contact:

Re: Preparation for the day my veeam backup server crashes

Post by kjc3303 » Oct 29, 2012 4:52 pm

Hi Michael. Yes backup files can be imported into a new install of Veeam. Restores can even be performed with out a B&R server with extract.exe
How you want to protect you backup files is entirely up to you as you suggested you can use tape or you could replicate to an offsite location.

I personally have a local (working day to day backup)
Offsite backup (Backup of the backup) I am currently running Veeam jobs for this but will be moving to replication tool soon.
Offsite Replicas (For DR)
I back up and replicate my Veeam server to my DR site too. Edit I will no longer be doing this once I get round to upgrading to 6.5 :D

Kev

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22984
Liked: 1556 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Preparation for the day my veeam backup server crashes

Post by Vitaliy S. » Oct 29, 2012 4:54 pm

Hani is referring to the functionality which is described in our User Guide (page 297), please take a look.

betster
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 20, 2011 5:25 pm
Full Name: Simon Labbett
Contact:

[MERGED] Warm Site DR Question

Post by betster » Nov 26, 2012 2:54 pm

Hi

Have a unique situation here as we are leveraging our main IT Department and their offsite DR. We use VBR to backup our production servers, currently to our iSCSI SAN, soon to be a volume from their Fibre SAN.
They will use a job to copy that volume to offsite storage every day utilizing their fibre connection, not over network. They have VMWare Infrastructure out there that we would like to use as a warm backup ready to deploy quickly if we have an issue.

What options do i have to make that area a warm site that is ready to deploy if we experience issues here? My thoughts were to have another VBR server out there that is installed on their DR VMWare Infrastructure that can utilize that copied volume to reinstantiate our VMs. Is that a licensing issue? Would it work for that purpose?

If I have missed anything pertinent please let me know and I will try to answer. Thanks.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18257
Liked: 1560 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Preparation for the day my veeam backup server crashes

Post by foggy » Nov 26, 2012 3:07 pm 1 person likes this post

You can always import the backup file to another/newly installed Veeam B&R console and make it ready for restore. Otherwise, you can use a standalone utility (extract.exe) coming with Veeam B&R and allowing to restore VMs from any VBK file created by Veeam B&R, even without the product installed.

There will be no licensing issues since only the hosts where the backed up/replicated VMs reside should be licensed.

homerjnick
Expert
Posts: 211
Liked: 35 times
Joined: Feb 20, 2012 4:13 pm
Full Name: Nick Mahlitz
Contact:

Re: Preparation for the day my veeam backup server crashes

Post by homerjnick » Nov 26, 2012 4:35 pm

Helqasem wrote:Hi Micheal,

Before v6.5, you could replicate the Enterprise Manager, Console and DB if they were installed in a VM.

In v6.5 however, we have introduced the ability to back-up the configuration to a repository. To recover from this you simply install Veeam and import the configuration. This works great where the Veeam Server is physical.

Hope this helps.
Surely you would need a copy of your SQL server database?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24789
Liked: 3523 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Preparation for the day my veeam backup server crashes

Post by Gostev » Nov 26, 2012 4:50 pm 1 person likes this post

No, all you need is the configuration backup. With that, you will be able to restore the complete configuration into to the fresh/clean database.

betster
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 20, 2011 5:25 pm
Full Name: Simon Labbett
Contact:

Re: Preparation for the day my veeam backup server crashes

Post by betster » Nov 27, 2012 1:44 pm

Thanks for the responses, I will continue on with my planning then. Appreciate the help!

squirrelly
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 14, 2013 6:11 pm
Full Name: Patrick Hurley
Contact:

Re: Preparation for the day my veeam backup server crashes

Post by squirrelly » Apr 14, 2013 11:22 pm

The default backup repository is on the server that might fail. How do I point the default backup repository to another device?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24789
Liked: 3523 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Preparation for the day my veeam backup server crashes

Post by Gostev » Apr 15, 2013 5:03 am

Just create the new backup repository on another device.

squirrelly
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 14, 2013 6:11 pm
Full Name: Patrick Hurley
Contact:

Re: Preparation for the day my veeam backup server crashes

Post by squirrelly » Apr 15, 2013 5:05 am

Where is that done within the application?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24789
Liked: 3523 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Preparation for the day my veeam backup server crashes

Post by Gostev » Apr 15, 2013 6:17 am

Please refer to the "Adding backup repositories" section of the User Guide.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], igavrilov and 56 guests