Random folder name.

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Random folder name.

Veeam Logoby Simpleacc » Mon Nov 13, 2017 10:17 am

Hello,

I am using Veeam Backup and Replication 9.5 and Hyper-V on Windows Server 2012 R2.
We have a problem with the replicated VMs folder names.

Our scenario is.. We have 2 locations with Veeam server for eachone. Location ‘A’ do daily backups, then we have configured a replication job to move the VM backup from the backup repository ‘A’ to the location ‘B’. It is working fine, really. The only problem is the folder name…

When location ‘A’ do the backup, it creates a folder with the same name as the VM then inside this, we can find the copy (It is correct). But when location ‘A’ do the replica to ‘B’, it creates a folder with random names like 7205f18a90104a448a3461c771af3661, 84cdd495deaf41a4710a49330d932bff, 49609e5abc1d42cbab51839ae159de8b… on ‘B’ destination.

Can I configure the replication job to use the VM name as folder and not use a random name. It will help us to find the VM quickly.

Best regards.
Simpleacc
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 10:02 am
Full Name: Javier

Re: Random folder name.

Veeam Logoby DGrinev » Tue Nov 14, 2017 2:21 pm

Hi Javier and welcome to the community!

There is no option to use the VM name for the folders, however, if you want to place VM replicas in different folders, you can manually create those folders on the target with desired names and specify where to store replicas for every VM in the job.
Please review this article in the User Guide to find out how to specify replica destination. Thanks!
DGrinev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 678
Liked: 73 times
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev

Re: Random folder name.

Veeam Logoby Simpleacc » Tue Nov 14, 2017 3:02 pm

Hello,

Thanks for your answer, it should be a solution. The only problem is that our backup jobs target are CSVs not selected VMs. If we use this solution and we deploy a new VM, we will need modify the job adding the new one, and the same if we remove one of the existing VMs.
Anyway I am going to try your solution. Let's see if it fix our issue.

Thank you for your help :D
Simpleacc
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 10:02 am
Full Name: Javier


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google Feedfetcher and 1 guest