Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
benwaynet
Enthusiast
Posts: 30
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 15, 2009 5:27 pm
Full Name: Jason Benway
Location: West Michigan
Contact:

Redesigning my veeam install

Post by benwaynet » Aug 11, 2011 2:19 pm

Currently I have a windows server with a few TB that I'm filling up. I have veeam installed on that back and I backup over the network.

I need more storage and I'd like to increase the performance. I haven't looked into the veeam virtual machine yet.

Is there any good design docs so I understand more about the virtual machine option and the best way to design it. I also need to figure out how I'm going to get the additional space for backups (more internal storage,DAS,NAS,ISCI,etc)

thanks,jb

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18291
Liked: 1568 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Redesigning my veeam install

Post by foggy » Aug 11, 2011 2:30 pm

Jason, have you read our F.A.Q. section about virtual appliance mode? I think it could give you some understanding of the subject. If you have any further questions, feel free to ask here.

Thanks.

larry
Expert
Posts: 387
Liked: 92 times
Joined: Mar 24, 2010 5:47 pm
Full Name: Larry Walker
Contact:

Re: Redesigning my veeam install

Post by larry » Aug 11, 2011 5:33 pm

With Veeam licensed per esx socket you can add a second Veeam server without a new Veeam license. You can have a mix of physical and VMs veeam servers increasing performance each time you add one. Using a NAS allows to expand storage. You then get the enterprise program which creates one report daily of all jobs. I am up to 4 now, all physical but only because I had backupexec tape servers already in place stuffed with hard drives

benwaynet
Enthusiast
Posts: 30
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 15, 2009 5:27 pm
Full Name: Jason Benway
Location: West Michigan
Contact:

Re: Redesigning my veeam install

Post by benwaynet » Aug 11, 2011 5:54 pm

I think I'm leaning toward a new physical with some HBAs in it. Am I reading correctly that veeam mounts all the LUNs ESX can see (as long as I've zoned correctly) and some how back ups though the mounted LUN?

Now I just need to find about 8TB of storage with good performance but cheap..sounds like Isci is recommend over smb if its not local storage.

thanks for the tips.

larry
Expert
Posts: 387
Liked: 92 times
Joined: Mar 24, 2010 5:47 pm
Full Name: Larry Walker
Contact:

Re: Redesigning my veeam install

Post by larry » Aug 11, 2011 6:48 pm

I have my veeam servers with 100 gig for C and 9 tb F drive of local sata disks on a raid 5 controler. Preaty low cost. I was just using drives without raid but some backups needed more than 2 tb and my controler couldnt run the 3 tb drives . I also added a netgear 2400 with 8 3tb drives, still not to costly.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24813
Liked: 3573 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Redesigning my veeam install

Post by Gostev » Aug 11, 2011 6:48 pm

Jason, that's right. New physical server with direct SAN access is arguably best case for Veeam install, if you have an option to do this. Not just from efficient source data access standpoint, but this also provides you with cheap and fast target storage option with local RAID storage, as Larry had already mentioned.

Daveyd
Expert
Posts: 283
Liked: 11 times
Joined: May 20, 2010 4:17 pm
Full Name: Dave DeLollis
Contact:

Re: Redesigning my veeam install

Post by Daveyd » Aug 11, 2011 7:37 pm

larry wrote:With Veeam licensed per esx socket you can add a second Veeam server without a new Veeam license. You can have a mix of physical and VMs veeam servers increasing performance each time you add one.
For multiple Veeam servers, gotta factor in the Windows server licensing costs as well :)

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24813
Liked: 3573 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Redesigning my veeam install

Post by Gostev » Aug 11, 2011 7:47 pm

Unless you just reuse your existing Windows servers... remember that backup activities are typically scheduled for off-hours, when everything else sleeps ;)

J1mbo
Expert
Posts: 261
Liked: 29 times
Joined: May 03, 2011 12:51 pm
Full Name: James Pearce
Contact:

Re: Redesigning my veeam install

Post by J1mbo » Aug 12, 2011 2:54 pm

larry wrote:I have my veeam servers with 100 gig for C and 9 tb F drive of local sata disks on a raid 5 controler. Preaty low cost.
Similar config here, except I've deployed RAID-10. Re-purposed a decommissioned 2950 with 2TB WD RE4 drives and a new Perc-6i controller (supports SATA NCQ to get the best from the RE4's). CPUs are the limiting factor (2x 5110), but it manages 80MB/s even so.

I went for RAID-10 because the creation of roll-backs and synthetics is highly intensive on small writes, hence should be significantly faster than RAID-5.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 34 guests