Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
hannisch
Enthusiast
Posts: 34
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Dec 15, 2011 8:14 pm
Full Name: Sven Hannisch
Contact:

Replication fails after installing Update 4

Post by hannisch » Jan 09, 2019 1:55 pm

Hi all
since installing Update4 the replication Job Fails. I got this message:

Code: Select all

09.01.2019 03:20:15 :: Job started at 09.01.2019 03:20:13  
09.01.2019 03:20:16 :: Building list of machines to process  
09.01.2019 03:20:21 :: Virtual Machine XXX is unavailable and will be skipped from processing.  
09.01.2019 03:20:21 :: Virtual Machine YYY is unavailable and will be skipped from processing.  
09.01.2019 03:20:21 :: Virtual Machine ZZZ is unavailable and will be skipped from processing.  
09.01.2019 03:20:21 :: Job finished with error at 09.01.2019 03:20:21  
The 3 vm are old VM which were replaced a few weeks ago and they are not in the joblist anymore.

Any idea ?

b/r
Sven
ID# 03353248

DGrinev
Veeam Software
Posts: 1519
Liked: 179 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev
Location: St.Petersburg
Contact:

Re: Replication fails after installing Update 4

Post by DGrinev » Jan 09, 2019 2:24 pm

Hi Sven,

I think this issue isn't related to the update.

Can you clarify how these VMs were added to the job as a container or explicitly?
You should re-add replaced VMs to the replication job once again and re-map it to the replica chain. Thanks!

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22127
Liked: 1380 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Replication fails after installing Update 4

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jan 09, 2019 2:35 pm

Keep in mind that all existing restore points will be removed after replica mapping procedure.

CSSensus
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: 1 time
Joined: May 05, 2014 3:25 pm
Full Name: Chris Stefan
Contact:

Re: Replication fails after installing Update 4

Post by CSSensus » Jan 10, 2019 1:35 pm

I am seeing this same error in backup jobs also. Items that have been gone for a very long time, and also items that are excluded.

1/10/2019 7:53:52 AM :: Virtual Machine XXX is unavailable and will be skipped from processing. - This VM is excluded and throws the error.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22127
Liked: 1380 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Replication fails after installing Update 4

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jan 10, 2019 1:56 pm

CSSensus wrote:Items that have been gone for a very long time, and also items that are excluded.
Can you please check if these VMs are still present in the backup files?

CSSensus
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: 1 time
Joined: May 05, 2014 3:25 pm
Full Name: Chris Stefan
Contact:

Re: Replication fails after installing Update 4

Post by CSSensus » Jan 10, 2019 2:45 pm

I spot checked a few, they do not exist in my backups any longer.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22127
Liked: 1380 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Replication fails after installing Update 4

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jan 10, 2019 3:19 pm

If there are no existing backups of these VMs, and these VMs are excluded (not part of the job), then please reach out to our support team to analyze where this message comes from.

hannisch
Enthusiast
Posts: 34
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Dec 15, 2011 8:14 pm
Full Name: Sven Hannisch
Contact:

Re: Replication fails after installing Update 4

Post by hannisch » Jan 11, 2019 11:57 am

CSSensus wrote:
Jan 10, 2019 1:35 pm
I am seeing this same error in backup jobs also. Items that have been gone for a very long time, and also items that are excluded.

1/10/2019 7:53:52 AM :: Virtual Machine XXX is unavailable and will be skipped from processing. - This VM is excluded and throws the error.
the same at my replication Jobs. Replacing on my first post meant deleting the old vm from Job and replica and add a new vm with the same name. All vm in the joblist succeds. But at the end I got a failure regarding the old deleted vm.


DGrinev wrote:
Jan 09, 2019 2:24 pm

Hi Sven,

I think this issue isn't related to the update.

Can you clarify how these VMs were added to the job as a container or explicitly?
You should re-add replaced VMs to the replication job once again and re-map it to the replica chain. Thanks!
Regarding your post and the supporter question: I checked the exclusion list. The list is emty. All vm in the Job are added as vm from a vc.
I think the error is related to the update. It worked for weeks, without changing the Job and after update, I got the fail message.

b/r

Sven

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22127
Liked: 1380 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Replication fails after installing Update 4

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jan 11, 2019 12:51 pm

Anyone who is experiencing this issue and which does not relate to adding and removing VMs from the virtual infrastructure, please post your case ID as a reference to the support ticket. This would help us to escalate this issue within the R&D team. Thank you!

hannisch
Enthusiast
Posts: 34
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Dec 15, 2011 8:14 pm
Full Name: Sven Hannisch
Contact:

Re: Replication fails after installing Update 4

Post by hannisch » Jan 12, 2019 1:39 am

You find my ticket ID at the end of the 1st post.
Regarding the issue I checked the dbo.ObjectsInJobs and found this 3 vm. The type is 4 instead of 0 like the active vm in Job. Maybe this Information helps. Can you clarify what Type=4 means.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 23847
Liked: 3207 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Replication fails after installing Update 4

Post by Gostev » Jan 13, 2019 7:36 pm

So, the reason for this issue looks to be the fact that these VMs are still referenced in the advanced application aware processing settings. According to one of the support case notes, removing these obsolete entries from the list of objects there makes the issue go away.

hannisch
Enthusiast
Posts: 34
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Dec 15, 2011 8:14 pm
Full Name: Sven Hannisch
Contact:

Re: Replication fails after installing Update 4

Post by hannisch » Jan 14, 2019 7:00 am

thanks for the Information, but how can I remove them? I see only one of them in the Application-Aware processing Options list, and the remove button greyed out. And what is about the Type=4 entries in dbo.ObjectsInJobs, can I ignore them ?

b/r

Sven

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17583
Liked: 1467 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Replication fails after installing Update 4

Post by foggy » Jan 14, 2019 1:00 pm

Looks like VMs with this type can have replica mapping configured and/or alternative destination settings. I would check the former, chances are the rest of the affected VMs are mentioned there.

RRastopshin
Veeam Software
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 30, 2018 8:09 am
Full Name: Roman Rastopshin
Contact:

Re: Replication fails after installing Update 4

Post by RRastopshin » Jan 14, 2019 3:09 pm

hannisch wrote:
Jan 14, 2019 7:00 am
thanks for the Information, but how can I remove them? I see only one of them in the Application-Aware processing Options list, and the remove button greyed out. And what is about the Type=4 entries in dbo.ObjectsInJobs, can I ignore them ?
Hello,
please check not only Application-Aware processing Options list, but also Guest file system indexing (Indexing...) and guest OS credentials (Credentials...) Options lists. I assume you will find them (old machines) there.

p.s. there is Guest file system indexing only for backups (not for replicas), guest OS credentials for both

CSSensus
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: 1 time
Joined: May 05, 2014 3:25 pm
Full Name: Chris Stefan
Contact:

Re: Replication fails after installing Update 4

Post by CSSensus » Jan 14, 2019 3:55 pm 1 person likes this post

Vitaliy S. wrote:
Jan 10, 2019 3:19 pm
If there are no existing backups of these VMs, and these VMs are excluded (not part of the job), then please reach out to our support team to analyze where this message comes from.
I removed the exclusions from these no longer existing machines and the errors are gone.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], joshcanoy and 57 guests