RPC Server Unavailable

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

RPC Server Unavailable

Veeam Logoby sstoveld » Sun May 08, 2016 2:49 am

Hey guys, currently coming across an intermittent issue. I had a case opened, case number 01788884, but we decided it wasn't a technical issue with Veeam, and more of an issue with our server, looking for some help on how to troubleshoot this.

We had Veeam 8 set up on a server, everything was running fine. We decided to move it to a new server and upgrade to Veeam 9. We had some issues restoring the config, so we scrapped it and set our jobs back up from scratch. Everything is set up, running 9.0.0.1491 Update 1. When all is well, everything runs smooth. Intermittently, and more often than not, jobs start failing, giving an error that the RPC server in unavailable.

Code: Select all
Task failed. Failed to expand object App3. Error: The RPC server is unavailable. (Exception from HRESULT: 0x800706BA)


So on the Virtual Machines tab, I select my Hyper-V server, and none of the VMs are showing up. I try to Rescan, and discovery fails, stating the RPC server is unavailable.

During this time, I can ping my Hyper-V host, the name resolves no problem, firewalls are disabled, everything should be good, but Veeam can't see my VMs on the host.

Then after some time, the VMs show back up under my Hyper-V host, jobs run flawlessly, complete, no issues. It's an intermittent issue.

I look in the event viewer, and I see corresponding errors for failed jobs:
Code: Select all
DCOM was unable to communicate with the computer (computer name) using any of the configured protocols; requested by PID     1054 (C:\Program Files\Veeam\Backup and Replication\Backup\Veeam.Backup.Manager.exe).


I've checked to make sure RPC services are running on both my server running Veeam and my Hyper-V host, firewalls disabled, dns resolution seems fine, connectivity seems fine.

Any ideas what else I should be checking?

Thanks
sstoveld
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Sun May 08, 2016 2:34 am
Full Name: Steve Stoveld

Re: RPC Server Unavailable

Veeam Logoby vmniels » Sun May 08, 2016 12:59 pm

Did you contact support already for assistance? Pasting log snippets doesn't really give a good few on what might be the issue.

RPC errors can be related to several things such as DNS or firewall issues. Which Windows server are you running on your hosts & veeam server?
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be
vmniels
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1583
Liked: 349 times
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen

Re: RPC Server Unavailable

Veeam Logoby sstoveld » Sun May 08, 2016 2:53 pm

Yes I did contract support, but they said this is more of a server issue than a veeam issue.

I've disabled Windows firewall, computer names are resolving correctly

Running Windows server 2012 r2
sstoveld
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Sun May 08, 2016 2:34 am
Full Name: Steve Stoveld

Re: RPC Server Unavailable

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Sun May 08, 2016 8:49 pm

Did you consider reinstalling Windows on this server by doing clean install?
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21510
Liked: 2381 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: RPC Server Unavailable

Veeam Logoby sstoveld » Mon May 09, 2016 3:24 am

I haven't considered that yet, as this was a new server instance we just set up to move Veeam onto
sstoveld
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Sun May 08, 2016 2:34 am
Full Name: Steve Stoveld

Re: RPC Server Unavailable

Veeam Logoby mattmoore » Wed Mar 22, 2017 2:38 pm

Interested to know if this was resolved.
mattmoore
Service Provider
 
Posts: 12
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2015 2:55 pm

Re: RPC Server Unavailable

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Mar 22, 2017 3:10 pm

Hi Matt, I do not see any additional details in the OP's case except that it was an intermittent problem that sounded more like a connectivity issue rather than Veeam B&R related. If you experience any particular errors, please contact technical support directly for investigation. Thanks.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15087
Liked: 1110 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: RPC Server Unavailable

Veeam Logoby kevin_lane » Wed Mar 22, 2017 3:42 pm

have you checked your DNS?

or try this

test RPC connectivity from the server you are on to another computer/server using the following command:
Get-WmiObject Win32_ComputerSystem –ComputerName OTHERSERVER

if it works then you should see results
kevin_lane
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 9:05 am
Full Name: Kevin Lane

Re: RPC Server Unavailable

Veeam Logoby sstoveld » Thu Mar 23, 2017 5:53 pm

The issue actually was resolved. We were on a support call with Dell for another issue with our Dell server which is the Hyper-V host, and asked him to take a look to see if he could figure it out.

After a couple hours, he did find a fix. Damned if I could remember what it was though. I believe it was a setting on the local NIC adapter that did the trick.

-----------

After some investigation, I believe changing the NetBIOS setting on the VM host NIC was what did the trick. Changed it from 'Default' to 'Enable NetBIOS over TCP/IP'

Under Advanced TCP/IP Settings > WINS tab. Screenshot below

http://i.imgur.com/kkY2CzJ.png
sstoveld
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Sun May 08, 2016 2:34 am
Full Name: Steve Stoveld


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 50 guests