Availability for the Always-On Enterprise
NightBird
Service Provider
Posts: 158
Liked: 21 times
Joined: Apr 28, 2009 8:33 am
Location: Strasbourg, FRANCE
Contact:

Re: Run time linux proxy server

Post by NightBird » Nov 15, 2013 9:39 am

Network mode and no CBT... :'( so all Windows VM are not eligible to act as a proxy

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15140
Liked: 1141 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Run time linux proxy server

Post by v.Eremin » Nov 15, 2013 9:44 am

If this proxy isn't used as a Hot Add proxy, you can explicitly set Network mode, and manually enable CBT on this proxy server. This way, proxy server will backup itself, using CBT mechanism.

Thanks.

vanbeek
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 25, 2013 12:58 pm
Full Name: Peet Klomp
Contact:

Re: Run time linux proxy server

Post by vanbeek » Dec 02, 2013 5:13 pm

And just a Linux destination "proxy" is that an option.

Like now veeam uses a Perl script for querying the linux file information of a linux server, but is still copying all data trough the backup proxy.
Making a job copy data directly to a repository shouldn't be that difficult.

Then all "stupid" linux based storage devices can be used as a nice NAS setup. without bringing the network to a hold because all data has to go over it twice.

Network resources are a far better reason then windows licenses to request for Linux proxy's in my opinion.

Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
Posts: 21543
Liked: 1283 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Run time linux proxy server

Post by Vitaliy S. » Dec 03, 2013 12:38 pm

anbeek wrote:Then all "stupid" linux based storage devices can be used as a nice NAS setup. without bringing the network to a hold because all data has to go over it twice.
Do you mean combining proxy and repository roles on these NAS devices?

Gostev
Veeam Software
Posts: 22995
Liked: 2890 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Run time linux proxy server

Post by Gostev » Dec 03, 2013 8:51 pm

These devices typically lack CPU power to be used as backup proxies.

ritontor
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Nov 26, 2010 4:22 am
Contact:

Re: Run time linux proxy server

Post by ritontor » Jul 03, 2014 2:00 am 1 person likes this post

Wait, so I have to buy additional windows licenses, just to run offsite backup proxies? I don't have any "existing Windows VMs", the ONLY windows box we even have is for vSphere and the Veeam server. Why isn't this mentioned up front when purchasing the product? I'm sure if you were buying a backup product and you were going to be slugged another $1000 each time you add a new remote location, you'd want to know about it too. This more than DOUBLES the cost of a Veeam license!

Gostev
Veeam Software
Posts: 22995
Liked: 2890 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Run time linux proxy server

Post by Gostev » Jul 03, 2014 11:28 am

Why $1000? We support pretty much every existing Windows version, and every edition. You definitely don't have to buy the most expensive one :D as far as mentioning Windows requirement up front, we do have fully documented System Requirements.

flongin
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: 1 time
Joined: May 26, 2015 3:16 pm
Full Name: francois Longin

Re: Run time linux proxy server

Post by flongin » May 26, 2015 3:25 pm 1 person likes this post

No news for a linux proxy server or appliance ?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16834
Liked: 1361 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Run time linux proxy server

Post by foggy » May 27, 2015 1:57 pm

No such plans currently.

dbazan
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 30, 2015 10:33 pm
Full Name: Dan Bazan
Contact:

[MERGED] Linux PROXY

Post by dbazan » Jan 22, 2016 5:53 pm 1 person likes this post

We need a proxy Linux appliance, it is a waste to use a windows license on this, please create an OVA but make sure VM Tools is also installed
while you at it, how about making B&R linux based too and use PostgreSQL
in other words get rid of windows altogether.

but I will settle with the proxy for now.
anyone else who would like this option?
if so please reply and let's make this happen

finaosta
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Apr 29, 2016 11:17 am
Full Name: Roberto Rossi
Contact:

[MERGED]: Linux backup proxy

Post by finaosta » Apr 29, 2016 11:29 am 1 person likes this post

The possibility to have a *NIX machine as a backup proxy would be great !!

antman157
Influencer
Posts: 13
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Apr 03, 2013 2:53 pm
Full Name: Anthony Jones
Contact:

[MERGED] Feature Request: Linux as a proxy

Post by antman157 » Dec 06, 2016 5:11 pm 1 person likes this post

As we move more virtualized, I would like to see the ability to add Linux as a proxy server. Ive read its best to not use a server that is backed up by Veeam as a proxy, so in my environment that would be 2 Windows 2008R2 servers. We have several Linux servers that are not being backed up by Veeam that we could use as proxy servers. I hate to burn a Windows License just for a proxy server.

mikeely
Enthusiast
Posts: 67
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Nov 07, 2016 7:39 pm
Full Name: Mike Ely
Contact:

[MERGED] Feature Request: backup proxy on Linux instead of W

Post by mikeely » Apr 24, 2017 7:40 pm

At nearly a grand per license, adding a proxy is a very expensive proposition for non-Windows shops (in other words, those of us who aren't already paying Microsoft much more money than they're worth). We have need to add a proxy to manage traffic at a remote location and $723 for the OS plus another $200 for a CAL pack... that just stinks frankly.

Given the high level of quality I see in the software Veeam currently ships for Linux it's obvious you have a talented team of Linux coders. Why not put them on this task now? In the aggregate, you'll be saving your customers millions of dollars.
Unless otherwise specified, I am asking about something pertaining to Linux. We use Windows as infrequently as possible, and enthusiastically seek ways to reduce that usage further.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16834
Liked: 1361 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Run time linux proxy server

Post by foggy » Apr 25, 2017 11:20 am

Hi Mike, Veeam B&R supports any version of Windows, including client ones, you do not need to buy the expensive server editions.

mikeely
Enthusiast
Posts: 67
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Nov 07, 2016 7:39 pm
Full Name: Mike Ely
Contact:

Re: Run time linux proxy server

Post by mikeely » Apr 25, 2017 8:57 pm

foggy wrote:Hi Mike, Veeam B&R supports any version of Windows, including client ones, you do not need to buy the expensive server editions.
Only then we're running mission-critical software on a client operating system which (per Microsoft's SKU shenanigans) means we won't have access to various needed security and availability features.

And it's still Windows, which means it's a Martian in a Linux environment. Martians are expensive to maintain because they have requirements that are incompatible with our existing ecosystem, so the license cost is only a fraction of the TCO for running such a host. A Linux box in a Windows environment will incur the same costs.

At minimum, poll your customers about what they'd like to see in Veeam and see if there's sufficient positive response to a Linux proxy to justify the project before the bean-counters.
Unless otherwise specified, I am asking about something pertaining to Linux. We use Windows as infrequently as possible, and enthusiastically seek ways to reduce that usage further.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], foggy, KennethCrowl, tdewin, Wad4iPod and 58 guests