Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Re: Unable to truncate Exchange logs.

Veeam Logoby patrickl78 » Wed Dec 03, 2014 4:59 pm

I will open a new ticket today and submit the logs on my new issue. The other case was closed but now that others have reported the same issue it would be great if dev could investigate those logs. I did ask before closing the ticket that the tech forward them to dev for review. I figure the more logs they have the better chance they will have to find and correct the isssue.

Thanks,
Patrick
patrickl78
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 27
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 11:16 pm
Full Name: Patrick Leonard

Re: Unable to truncate Exchange logs.

Veeam Logoby Zedification » Thu Dec 18, 2014 2:30 pm

Hi,

Did you have this problem solved ?
I have the same issue.

Thanks,

Lucien.
Zedification
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 31
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 8:34 am
Full Name: Zed

Re: Unable to truncate Exchange logs.

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Dec 18, 2014 9:37 pm

Hi Zed, while you're waiting a reply from Patrick, I would suggest contacting our technical team and posting your case ID in this topic. Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19474
Liked: 1092 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Unable to truncate Exchange logs.

Veeam Logoby patrickl78 » Sun Dec 21, 2014 3:16 am

There has been no resolution to my case on this issue.

Thanks,
Patrick
patrickl78
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 27
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 11:16 pm
Full Name: Patrick Leonard

Re: Unable to truncate Exchange logs.

Veeam Logoby ugauchr » Sun Dec 21, 2014 11:38 am

Same issue here, on some VMs we get error that the Exchange Logs can't be truncated but there is only SQL installed on it, NO Exchange.
Exact error: "Unable to Tuncate Exchange transaction logs; Details: Cannot finish snapshot: no job Found"
ugauchr
Service Provider
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 9:20 am
Full Name: Christof Ugau

Re: Unable to truncate Exchange logs.

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Sun Dec 21, 2014 12:10 pm

Christof, can you please let me know your case ID?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19474
Liked: 1092 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Unable to truncate Exchange logs.

Veeam Logoby ashman70 » Sun Dec 21, 2014 2:41 pm

I've been getting the error too since I upgraded to v8, happening with a terminal server backup, no exchange involved. My case number is #00704757
ashman70
Expert
 
Posts: 193
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2012 2:18 pm
Full Name: Both

[MERGED] Unable to truncate Exchange transaction logs (Non-E

Veeam Logoby rbushe » Wed Jan 21, 2015 1:47 pm

We have randomly been receiving the following warnings "Unable to truncate Exchange transaction logs. Details: Cannot finish snapshot: no job found." or "Unable to truncate Exchange transaction logs. Details: RPC function call failed. Function name: [BlobCall]. Target machine: [x.x.x.x]. RPC error:There are no more endpoints available from the endpoint mapper. Code: 1753" on different backup jobs and different VMs

We have not backing up any exchange servers and all the VMs do not have exchange installed and have never had exchange installed. All VMs that randomly receive these warnings are SQL and/or Sharepoint servers.

We started to experience the issue when we upgraded to the official 8.0 release, and we are still experiencing the issue when we upgraded to 8.0.917

I currently have case open with veeam support under 00725745 but have made little to no progress.

Any help is appreciated.
rbushe
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2015 12:55 pm

Re: Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Jan 21, 2015 2:59 pm

I've checked a couple of support cases mentioned above and they do not contain any particular resolution to this issue. In one of the cases the error went away by itself, in another one - after creating a new Veeam B&R console. So I recommend to continue investigation with support.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14601
Liked: 1064 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Veeam Logoby Moebius » Thu Jan 22, 2015 9:02 am

Case # 00732467

Right after upgrading from v7 to v8 patch#1 yesterday, about 90% of my VMs now give a warning saying :

"Unable to truncate SQL server transaction logs. Details: Failed to process 'TruncateSQLLog' command.
Failed to truncate SQL logs
Failed to logon user [<domain>\<user>]
Win32 error:Logon failure: the user has not been granted the requested logon type at this computer.
Code: 1385"

I just upgraded my Veeam installation and made NO change whatsoever to any of my jobs, nor did I touch the privileges of the domain user that logs onto the VMs. The jobs were ALL completing with no errors before the upgrade.
Moebius
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 139
Liked: 17 times
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 2:48 pm
Location: Reggio Emilia, Italy
Full Name: Lucio Mazzi

Re: Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Jan 22, 2015 11:56 am

Lucio, just to check, is SQL Server installed on those 90% VMs?
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14601
Liked: 1064 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Veeam Logoby Moebius » Thu Jan 22, 2015 12:03 pm

Foggy: no, only on few of them.
Moebius
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 139
Liked: 17 times
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 2:48 pm
Location: Reggio Emilia, Italy
Full Name: Lucio Mazzi

Re: Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Jan 22, 2015 12:48 pm

Thanks for confirmation. R&D is also looking into this.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14601
Liked: 1064 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Veeam Logoby rwilson » Fri Jan 23, 2015 9:34 pm

foggy wrote:Thanks for confirmation. R&D is also looking into this.

Thanks, I'm also having the same issue as the others. Enterprise plus customer. Please let us know of any improvements. Thank you
rwilson
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 5:13 pm

Re: Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Jan 26, 2015 9:08 am

rwilson wrote:Thanks, I'm also having the same issue as the others. Enterprise plus customer. Please let us know of any improvements. Thank you

I will. However, opening your own case and providing full logs for review will give us more information on the issue and speed up the investigation process. Thanks.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14601
Liked: 1064 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

PreviousNext

Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: foggy, v.Eremin and 61 guests