Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
briggs
Enthusiast
Posts: 73
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mar 22, 2013 11:01 am
Full Name: Alan Thompson
Contact:

Veeam on Win 7 instead of server 2003?

Post by briggs » May 29, 2013 2:34 pm

Hi,
We're about to deploy a VMWare cluster, running 2 live hosts (4 CPU sockets total) with around 13 VM's across them.
We potentially needs a Windows 2003 R2 license free for another server we're migrating, and we don't have the luxury of more than 1 sing spare license, so if we use that, Veeam will have to be deployed on Windows 7.
Buying a new Windows server license is not really an option, so can we get away with using Veeam (standard edition) on Windows7 64-bit instead of a Win2003 R2 server OS?
What disadvantages will I face, I'm talking actual noticeable failings here, not theoretical limitations?
Has anyone got Veeam on Win7 for a production environment? It'll be backing up lots of those VM's daily, total data across all VM's of around 3TB currently. Will it cope?

Many thanks, Alan

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18457
Liked: 1589 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam on Win 7 instead of server 2003?

Post by foggy » May 29, 2013 2:43 pm

Alan, Veeam B&R is licensed per physical CPU socket of source hosts (where protected VMs reside), not by the OS it is installed on. Microsoft Windows 7 SP1 is among supported OS's (please review system requirements provided in the release notes document available with your download).

Hope this helps.

briggs
Enthusiast
Posts: 73
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mar 22, 2013 11:01 am
Full Name: Alan Thompson
Contact:

Re: Veeam on Win 7 instead of server 2003?

Post by briggs » May 29, 2013 2:57 pm

Sorry, I maybe didn't explain... I know it'll run on Win7, but will it's performance/stability be effected as a result? In other words, why wouldn't I run it on Win7 64bit and keep the server OS license free for something else?

kjc3303
Expert
Posts: 167
Liked: 24 times
Joined: Dec 02, 2010 12:25 pm
Full Name: Kevin Clarke
Location: Cheshire
Contact:

Re: Veeam on Win 7 instead of server 2003?

Post by kjc3303 » May 29, 2013 3:16 pm

I would suspect if you offload your proxies elsewhere it will have no performance deterioration versus the 2003 license.
If the proxies (Brawn) are offloaded then the Veeam server is simply the SQL server (Brains).

If you were to run everything on one box I would still suspect that win7 64bit is probably better than 2003 R2, but you would need to run rests against your enviroment

Kev

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18457
Liked: 1589 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam on Win 7 instead of server 2003?

Post by foggy » May 29, 2013 3:36 pm

Yes, it is less a question of the Veeam B&R server itself, than of the proxy server. I would say that generally any server OS is recommended. Also, it should be noted that Windows Vista and Windows 7 proxies put a limitation on VMware replication that could affect your choice in some cases.

briggs
Enthusiast
Posts: 73
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mar 22, 2013 11:01 am
Full Name: Alan Thompson
Contact:

Re: Veeam on Win 7 instead of server 2003?

Post by briggs » May 29, 2013 3:51 pm

Oh dear... To be fair, I assumed the whole thing would sit on the same box, ie I was never intending to split the proxy and the B&R server. I was only ever under the impression that it would sit on the same machine / same OS.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18457
Liked: 1589 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam on Win 7 instead of server 2003?

Post by foggy » May 29, 2013 3:58 pm

In the default setup, it does sit on the same machine. However, you can optionally use additional proxy servers to spread the backup load. I suggest reviewing the possible deployment scenarios given in the product user guide (p.16) for better understanding. Thanks.

kjc3303
Expert
Posts: 167
Liked: 24 times
Joined: Dec 02, 2010 12:25 pm
Full Name: Kevin Clarke
Location: Cheshire
Contact:

Re: Veeam on Win 7 instead of server 2003?

Post by kjc3303 » May 29, 2013 4:01 pm

There is no issue in doing that if the box is spec'd to meet your backup window, and to backup 13 VM's there should be no issue to be fair.

briggs
Enthusiast
Posts: 73
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mar 22, 2013 11:01 am
Full Name: Alan Thompson
Contact:

Re: Veeam on Win 7 instead of server 2003?

Post by briggs » May 30, 2013 9:36 am

Thanks all! I'll see how I get on, with it all on the same Win7 box initially...

briggs
Enthusiast
Posts: 73
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mar 22, 2013 11:01 am
Full Name: Alan Thompson
Contact:

Re: Veeam on Win 7 instead of server 2003?

Post by briggs » Jun 17, 2013 10:04 am

OK, Backing up our VM's now, at different schedules to avoid simultaneous backups, and as far as I can tell, Windows 7 is coping with it all just fine, no issues.
Cheers, Alan

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17073
Liked: 1475 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Veeam on Win 7 instead of server 2003?

Post by veremin » Jun 17, 2013 10:19 am

Thanks for keeping us updated about the results you get.

Should any additional help be needed, feel free to contact us.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: marco.luske and 38 guests