Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
TurboBG
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 09, 2011 2:12 pm
Contact:

Veeam restoration space requirements

Post by TurboBG »

I am trying to restore a VM. There is not enough space on the datastore for the entire VM to be on there twice. When I use the Restore Wizard I receive this error message:

"Not enough free space on destination, additional 208.40 GB needed
Continue anyway?"

I get this when I click Next on the Choose Destination screen. What are the consequences of choosing Yes? Do I need to have enough space for two copies of the VM during the restoration process?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1789 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam restoration space requirements

Post by foggy »

What VBR version are you using? I cannot find the Choose Destination screen in the Restore Wizard in v6.

In v6, if you are not restoring the VM to its original location, it will be registered as a new VM (thus requiring appropriate space on the datastore). If you select to continue restoration in case of not enough space, the job will fail. When restoring to the original location (over existing VM), restore job will overwrite the existing VM files.

TurboBG
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 09, 2011 2:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam restoration space requirements

Post by TurboBG »

I'm using Veeam Backup and FastSCP version 4.1.2 (sorry for not supplying this).

Image

This is the Choose Destination screen I was looking at. I believe you have answered my question though. I plan to restore to the original location. I'm selecting the same Host, Virtual machine name, Datastore, and Resource pool as the original VM.

I'll go ahead and give it a try.

Thanks. :D

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24355
Liked: 1897 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Veeam restoration space requirements

Post by Vitaliy S. »

I believe you should see a warning message offering you to overwrite existing VM when you hit Next. Cannot check that as I do not have 4.1.2 version deployed in the lab, sorry.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 38 guests