Availability for the Always-On Enterprise
Post Reply
davidkeis
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 14, 2011 8:09 am
Full Name: David Keis
Contact:

backup server settings

Post by davidkeis » Aug 16, 2011 12:05 pm

[merged]

Hi all.

Since the search function is not working right now I dont know if this has been answered before:

Is it possible to make a backup of the Veem Backup & Replication settings, including all the jobs, locations, etc.?

I would like to make a regular backup of the settings, along with all the VM backups that i have.

laxi
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 15, 2010 9:31 am
Full Name: Michael Laxganger
Contact:

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Post by laxi » Dec 18, 2011 9:27 am

Hi,

in Veeam B&R V5.x we solved the selfbackup of the backup server with a replication job. Destination: another ESXi-Host and another Datastore.
Described here: http://www.bn-its.de/index.php?option=c ... &Itemid=78

In Veeam B&R V6.x this solution does not work. Turning of "Application aware Image Procession" does not improve.
This error occurs: Unable to allocate processing resources. Error: No backup proxy is able to backup this VM. Check processing mode settings on proxies.
The Backup Proxy is located on the B&R Server itself (because our customers have a relatively small VMware Infrastructure.)
VMware 4.1, iSCSi-SAN, 1-3 ESXi-Hosts

Is there a way to Replicate the Backup-Server V6 itself?
Is there a solution as described in detail at least the job / repositories / proxy settings can be saved?
In my opinion the database seems not to be backed up necessarily because the key settings (about the backups) are stored in the backup files.

Thank you very much

Gostev
Veeam Software
Posts: 22992
Liked: 2888 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Post by Gostev » Dec 18, 2011 9:30 am

Sounds like you have disabled failover to network mode in the backup proxy server settings. You need to enable this as backup proxy cannot hotadd its own disks. Thanks!

laxi
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 15, 2010 9:31 am
Full Name: Michael Laxganger
Contact:

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Post by laxi » Dec 18, 2011 10:50 am

Hi Gostev,

in the proxy server setting i have tried many:
- Automatic Selection (with Failover to Network)
- Virtual Appliance (with Failover to Network)
- Network

I also tried:
- selecing the VM over the ESXi-Host (not over vCenter Server). This was "the magic solution" under V5.
- "Automatic selection" or explicitly selction of the proxy server

At each selected setting the error remains the same. What else can still trigger the error?
Thank you

Gostev
Veeam Software
Posts: 22992
Liked: 2888 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Post by Gostev » Dec 18, 2011 12:36 pm

Any processing mode setting on proxy will work as long as failover to network mode checkbox is selected. In fact, this should work with the default settings. No other special measures are required. If you cannot make it work, please open a support case and we will assist you in setting this up. Thanks!

laxi
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 15, 2010 9:31 am
Full Name: Michael Laxganger
Contact:

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Post by laxi » Dec 20, 2011 7:04 am

Hi Gostev,

the support told me that it would not work until the next release. Right now the self-backup is not working with V6 if the database is located on the same server.
Case ID: 5161851

Gostev
Veeam Software
Posts: 22992
Liked: 2888 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Post by Gostev » Dec 20, 2011 10:31 am

Self-backup works fine with the database located on the same server if you have application aware image processing disabled (which was the requirement with all previous versions as well).

msidnam
Influencer
Posts: 20
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Aug 19, 2011 3:23 pm
Full Name: Mike Sidnam
Contact:

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Post by msidnam » Dec 27, 2011 12:39 pm

What is the proper procedure to move the database from the MSDE (the SQL that gets installed by the installer) to a remote 2005/2008 SQL server?

Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
Posts: 21536
Liked: 1281 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Post by Vitaliy S. » Dec 27, 2011 1:21 pm

Take a look at existing topic for more details: Moving Veaam B&R to another VM?

bunger
Expert
Posts: 114
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Jun 23, 2010 5:39 pm
Full Name: Bill Unger
Contact:

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Post by bunger » Dec 27, 2011 8:46 pm

I am encountering the exact issue with the same, non-successful results. Is it no longer possible to backup the Veeam server as long as its DB is on the same server?

Gostev
Veeam Software
Posts: 22992
Liked: 2888 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Post by Gostev » Dec 27, 2011 8:53 pm

bunger wrote:backup the Veeam server as long as its DB is on the same server?
No changes in this scenario - same considerations as outlined on the first page of this topic (method 2).

bunger
Expert
Posts: 114
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Jun 23, 2010 5:39 pm
Full Name: Bill Unger
Contact:

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Post by bunger » Dec 27, 2011 8:57 pm

My Veeam server is also my vCenter server, which I would like to be able to backup. This used to work in v5, but this no longer supported in v6?

Gostev
Veeam Software
Posts: 22992
Liked: 2888 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Post by Gostev » Dec 27, 2011 9:38 pm

bunger wrote:My Veeam server is also my vCenter server
No changes in this scenario either. Just like in v5, you need to configure the backup job for your vCenter Server VM through standalone ESX(i) host. However, this is offtopic to this discussion - please refer to the existing discussions on vCenter Server backup if you have further questions.

kklo
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 13, 2012 12:51 pm
Full Name: Juan Carlos Martin
Location: Basque Country
Contact:

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Post by kklo » Jan 13, 2012 12:58 pm

If someone needs to restore a Veeam database backup made with larry's ms-dos batch script, here is a sample code that allows that.

Thanks larry for this tip.

Code: Select all

@Echo Off
SET FILE=%1

IF "%FILE%"=="" GOTO NOFILE
if NOT EXIST "%FILE%" GOTO NOTFOUND

NET STOP "Veeam Backup Service"
SQLCMD -S .\VEEAM -E -Q "RESTORE DATABASE VeeamBackup FROM DISK='%FILE%'"
NET START "Veeam Backup Service"
GOTO FIN

:NOTFOUND
ECHO.
ECHO ERROR: Backup file '%FILE%' not found.
ECHO        VEEAM database has not been restored.
ECHO.
GOTO FIN

:NOFILE
ECHO.
ECHO VEEAM Database Restore Utility.
ECHO. 
ECHO USAGE: %0 BackupFile 
ECHO        Where:
ECHO        - BackupFile: File that contains a previous Veeam database backup.
ECHO.

:FIN
SET FILE=
http://kakaladas.blogspot.com

jgar
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 21, 2009 3:53 pm
Full Name: Jose Garcia
Contact:

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Post by jgar » May 19, 2012 6:37 pm

Hi, using v6/patch3, and about backing up the Veeam VM, when uses the SQLExpress DB on itself (no remote SQL).

By coincidence, I noticed that at one of my customers, the Veeam VM was being backed-up in VSS Application-aware mode, apparently without any issues.
Actually because I forgot to disable the VSS-aware processing for that VM, when I did the initial setup a couple of months ago.

How can this be possible, as I've read a lot of times through the forums that this doesn't work, period?

Furthermore, at another site, where another Veeam VM was backed-up with VSS-aware processing disabled, I enabled it by curiosity.
And it worked as well.

Of course I can be wrong, but as far as I can see:
-the windows system log reports the start of the MS VSS + Veaam VSS support (and their stop at end of job)
-the application log reports the DB's of the SQL Express as transactionally correctly backed-up
-the vssadmin utility displays the active VSS snaphot while the backup job is running

What am I missing here?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Google [Bot] and 38 guests