What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup server?

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

backup server settings

Veeam Logoby davidkeis » Tue Aug 16, 2011 12:05 pm

[merged]

Hi all.

Since the search function is not working right now I dont know if this has been answered before:

Is it possible to make a backup of the Veem Backup & Replication settings, including all the jobs, locations, etc.?

I would like to make a regular backup of the settings, along with all the VM backups that i have.
davidkeis
Influencer
 
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2011 8:09 am
Full Name: David Keis

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Veeam Logoby laxi » Sun Dec 18, 2011 9:27 am

Hi,

in Veeam B&R V5.x we solved the selfbackup of the backup server with a replication job. Destination: another ESXi-Host and another Datastore.
Described here: http://www.bn-its.de/index.php?option=c ... &Itemid=78

In Veeam B&R V6.x this solution does not work. Turning of "Application aware Image Procession" does not improve.
This error occurs: Unable to allocate processing resources. Error: No backup proxy is able to backup this VM. Check processing mode settings on proxies.
The Backup Proxy is located on the B&R Server itself (because our customers have a relatively small VMware Infrastructure.)
VMware 4.1, iSCSi-SAN, 1-3 ESXi-Hosts

Is there a way to Replicate the Backup-Server V6 itself?
Is there a solution as described in detail at least the job / repositories / proxy settings can be saved?
In my opinion the database seems not to be backed up necessarily because the key settings (about the backups) are stored in the backup files.

Thank you very much
laxi
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 9:31 am
Full Name: Michael Laxganger

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Sun Dec 18, 2011 9:30 am

Sounds like you have disabled failover to network mode in the backup proxy server settings. You need to enable this as backup proxy cannot hotadd its own disks. Thanks!
Gostev
VP, Product Management
 
Posts: 20960
Liked: 2239 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Full Name: Anton Gostev

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Veeam Logoby laxi » Sun Dec 18, 2011 10:50 am

Hi Gostev,

in the proxy server setting i have tried many:
- Automatic Selection (with Failover to Network)
- Virtual Appliance (with Failover to Network)
- Network

I also tried:
- selecing the VM over the ESXi-Host (not over vCenter Server). This was "the magic solution" under V5.
- "Automatic selection" or explicitly selction of the proxy server

At each selected setting the error remains the same. What else can still trigger the error?
Thank you
laxi
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 9:31 am
Full Name: Michael Laxganger

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Sun Dec 18, 2011 12:36 pm

Any processing mode setting on proxy will work as long as failover to network mode checkbox is selected. In fact, this should work with the default settings. No other special measures are required. If you cannot make it work, please open a support case and we will assist you in setting this up. Thanks!
Gostev
VP, Product Management
 
Posts: 20960
Liked: 2239 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Full Name: Anton Gostev

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Veeam Logoby laxi » Tue Dec 20, 2011 7:04 am

Hi Gostev,

the support told me that it would not work until the next release. Right now the self-backup is not working with V6 if the database is located on the same server.
Case ID: 5161851
laxi
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 9:31 am
Full Name: Michael Laxganger

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Tue Dec 20, 2011 10:31 am

Self-backup works fine with the database located on the same server if you have application aware image processing disabled (which was the requirement with all previous versions as well).
Gostev
VP, Product Management
 
Posts: 20960
Liked: 2239 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Full Name: Anton Gostev

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Veeam Logoby msidnam » Tue Dec 27, 2011 12:39 pm

What is the proper procedure to move the database from the MSDE (the SQL that gets installed by the installer) to a remote 2005/2008 SQL server?
msidnam
Influencer
 
Posts: 20
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 3:23 pm
Full Name: Mike Sidnam

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:21 pm

Take a look at existing topic for more details: Moving Veaam B&R to another VM?
Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
 
Posts: 18986
Liked: 1046 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Veeam Logoby bunger » Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:46 pm

I am encountering the exact issue with the same, non-successful results. Is it no longer possible to backup the Veeam server as long as its DB is on the same server?
bunger
Expert
 
Posts: 110
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 5:39 pm
Full Name: Bill Unger

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:53 pm

bunger wrote:backup the Veeam server as long as its DB is on the same server?

No changes in this scenario - same considerations as outlined on the first page of this topic (method 2).
Gostev
VP, Product Management
 
Posts: 20960
Liked: 2239 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Full Name: Anton Gostev

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Veeam Logoby bunger » Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:57 pm

My Veeam server is also my vCenter server, which I would like to be able to backup. This used to work in v5, but this no longer supported in v6?
bunger
Expert
 
Posts: 110
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 5:39 pm
Full Name: Bill Unger

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Tue Dec 27, 2011 9:38 pm

bunger wrote:My Veeam server is also my vCenter server

No changes in this scenario either. Just like in v5, you need to configure the backup job for your vCenter Server VM through standalone ESX(i) host. However, this is offtopic to this discussion - please refer to the existing discussions on vCenter Server backup if you have further questions.
Gostev
VP, Product Management
 
Posts: 20960
Liked: 2239 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Full Name: Anton Gostev

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Veeam Logoby kklo » Fri Jan 13, 2012 12:58 pm

If someone needs to restore a Veeam database backup made with larry's ms-dos batch script, here is a sample code that allows that.

Thanks larry for this tip.

Code: Select all
@Echo Off
SET FILE=%1

IF "%FILE%"=="" GOTO NOFILE
if NOT EXIST "%FILE%" GOTO NOTFOUND

NET STOP "Veeam Backup Service"
SQLCMD -S .\VEEAM -E -Q "RESTORE DATABASE VeeamBackup FROM DISK='%FILE%'"
NET START "Veeam Backup Service"
GOTO FIN

:NOTFOUND
ECHO.
ECHO ERROR: Backup file '%FILE%' not found.
ECHO        VEEAM database has not been restored.
ECHO.
GOTO FIN

:NOFILE
ECHO.
ECHO VEEAM Database Restore Utility.
ECHO.
ECHO USAGE: %0 BackupFile
ECHO        Where:
ECHO        - BackupFile: File that contains a previous Veeam database backup.
ECHO.

:FIN
SET FILE=
http://kakaladas.blogspot.com
kklo
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 12:51 pm
Location: Basque Country
Full Name: Juan Carlos Martin

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Veeam Logoby jgar » Sat May 19, 2012 6:37 pm

Hi, using v6/patch3, and about backing up the Veeam VM, when uses the SQLExpress DB on itself (no remote SQL).

By coincidence, I noticed that at one of my customers, the Veeam VM was being backed-up in VSS Application-aware mode, apparently without any issues.
Actually because I forgot to disable the VSS-aware processing for that VM, when I did the initial setup a couple of months ago.

How can this be possible, as I've read a lot of times through the forums that this doesn't work, period?

Furthermore, at another site, where another Veeam VM was backed-up with VSS-aware processing disabled, I enabled it by curiosity.
And it worked as well.

Of course I can be wrong, but as far as I can see:
-the windows system log reports the start of the MS VSS + Veaam VSS support (and their stop at end of job)
-the application log reports the DB's of the SQL Express as transactionally correctly backed-up
-the vssadmin utility displays the active VSS snaphot while the backup job is running

What am I missing here?
jgar
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2009 3:53 pm
Full Name: Jose Garcia

PreviousNext

Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 18 guests