Where to install Backup & Replication?

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Where to install Backup & Replication?

Veeam Logoby Brudertac » Mon Oct 24, 2016 1:01 pm

Hey,

we want to test Backup & Replication.
We´re running one HyperV Host (NOT a Domain Member) with some VMs running on it. (SBS2011 and other Windows Servers, all in the same Domain :) ).

What is the best Setup for BE in this case? Install it on the HyperV Host or on a VM Server?
IMHO i would install it on the HyperV Host. Because the Restore of the Host would be easy and fast. (Using Entpoint Backup for it)

Thanks for Info an that.

best regards
Danny
Brudertac
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2015 12:39 pm
Full Name: Danny Wackes

Re: Where to install Backup & Replication?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Oct 24, 2016 2:00 pm

It doesn't really matter where to install Veeam B&R, restoring its configuration onto a new installation would also be fast and simple.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1080 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Where to install Backup & Replication?

Veeam Logoby Brudertac » Mon Oct 24, 2016 2:32 pm

Thanks @foggy

But, are they any Pro´s and Con´s?
Brudertac
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2015 12:39 pm
Full Name: Danny Wackes

Re: Where to install Backup & Replication?

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Oct 24, 2016 3:38 pm

The performance would be about the same, but what is more important is how you used to manage your applications. Having Veeam backup deployed as a VM will make it more portable (you can always migrate this VM from a faulty host to a healthy one). If you deploy it on a physical server, then it will remove additional layer between the hardware and the application, but will make you dependent on the host health state. If host dies for some reason, you will also temporary lose your backup server until you migrate it to another host or deploy a new VM and import a backed up configuration. Thus said, it's really up to you, as both methods are fully supported and widely used by our existing customers.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Where to install Backup & Replication?

Veeam Logoby ACC » Mon Oct 24, 2016 5:30 pm

My preference for hypervisors that run business critical VMs is to keep them as clean as possible. An important one for me is that in numerous cases i fixed a malfunctioning Windows application with a reboot, not ideal if that so happens to be your hypervisor. Another one is stability issues, when that occurs i want to keep the list as short as possible and not having go through a long list of possible causes. Another important one is security, i prefer to keep the attack surface of my hypervisors as small as possible by installing only the required component and by not allowing software being installed on the hypervisor the list of users with administrator rights on the hypervisor can be limited. Software developers maybe good at writing software, but are usually horrendous at server management. With HyperV hypervisors i do install the Veeam onhost proxy because of the performance benefits when the backups are made.
ACC
Influencer
 
Posts: 24
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2015 10:38 am
Full Name: ACC

Re: Where to install Backup & Replication?

Veeam Logoby sanjaykrk » Mon Oct 24, 2016 6:27 pm

Danny,
If you have a lot of VMs and the underlying storage is not local (but say some SAN), you might consider implementing Proxy on a different machine.
Otherwise, depending on when backups are run, VMs requirements for system resources, proxy will consume/compete with VMs for Hyper-V resources(compute/mem).
sanjaykrk
Influencer
 
Posts: 11
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2016 12:12 am
Full Name: Sanjay kumar

Re: Where to install Backup & Replication?

Veeam Logoby Brudertac » Tue Oct 25, 2016 6:34 am

Hello and thanks for the insights.
I also like to keep the hypervisor as clean as possible... But currently we use an competitor Backup Solution (well, not really a competitor :) ) which is also installed on the hypervisor.
This is running fine right now. (apart from other Problems with that Software, that's why i like to change that....)
(we have also the timewindow to run the Backups at night when there is no heavy load on those Servers...)

So, i thing we will install B&R on the Host for now.
Thanks again!

best regards
Danny
Brudertac
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2015 12:39 pm
Full Name: Danny Wackes

[MERGED] Best deployment practices for small environment

Veeam Logoby WEEAMNoob » Wed Jun 07, 2017 2:36 pm

Hey,

Just got a new B&R license and I wonder what would be the best place for installing the VEEAM components.

Currently we have 2 Hyper-V hosts (although only 1 server is in production currently) and multiple NAS boxes for backup storage.

Should I create a VM and install all the components into it or separate them to various virtual machines/physical servers?

The license came with a VEEAM ONE license as well.

Cheers
WEEAMNoob
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2017 2:29 pm
Full Name: WEEAMNoob

Re: Best deployment practices for small environment

Veeam Logoby DGrinev » Thu Jun 08, 2017 10:06 am

Hi and welcome to the community!

You can use simple deployment scenario, however, it doesn't really matter where to install.
Please review this existing thread for additional information.

Thanks!
DGrinev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 386
Liked: 48 times
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev

Re: Best deployment practices for small environment

Veeam Logoby WEEAMNoob » Thu Jun 08, 2017 4:08 pm

Thanks, I'll go through those.
WEEAMNoob
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2017 2:29 pm
Full Name: WEEAMNoob

[MERGED] Veeam installation on WinServer 2012r2 - Best metho

Veeam Logoby hasayeretFMG » Tue Jun 20, 2017 12:50 pm

Hi guys,

Any recommendations installation-wise when it comes to the Windows Server itself and Veeam? We're using Windows Server 2012r2 std and planning to install Veeam on the OS drive (2 1TB RAID1 disks) and then all the backup data repository on a different drive (our "D" drive which is a combination of 10 4TB RAID6 disks). Sound reasonable? anything else windows-wise you'd recommend (Roles etc. ...)?
I just want to make sure I do it once and do it by the book :)

Thanks!!
hasayeretFMG
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 37
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2017 1:18 pm
Full Name: Rotem Ben

Re: Veeam installation on Windows Server 2012r2 - Best metho

Veeam Logoby DGrinev » Tue Jun 20, 2017 2:44 pm

Hi Ben,

In the previous thread we discussed with you RAID 10 for your all-in-one server that would be faster than RAID 6, however, this way you will get more usable space.
There are no special conditions related to the OS except system requirements for the Veeam B&R server.
Please review this existing thread for additional information. Thanks!
DGrinev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 386
Liked: 48 times
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev


Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Dilupa, Google [Bot], Google Feedfetcher, Yahoo [Bot] and 24 guests