nworks 5.5 RC1

Unleash the power of System Center for vSphere and Hyper-V | Veeam Task Manager for Hyper-V

nworks 5.5 RC1

Veeam Logoby krowczynski » Wed Apr 28, 2010 8:56 am

Hi everybody,

would like to know your opinion if I should install the RC1 in my production enviroment, or better wait until the final release will be available?

Thx for your opinions!!!
krowczynski
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 62
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 6:34 pm
Full Name: Arkadiusz Krowczynski

Re: nworks 5.5 RC1

Veeam Logoby arseny » Wed Apr 28, 2010 1:17 pm

Hi there,

My opinion is: "Please go ahead with RC1 and enjoy the new functionality!" Only concern I'll have to mention here is support: although we will be supporting your production as an exception if you decide to leave RC there, if there is anything different in GA than in RC from code/issues perspective, we will enforce the upgrade in some reasonable amount of months after GA.

Don't forget, support@veeam.com and your Sales Representative are here to help you out with nworks installation, - so always include Veeam representatives in the project loop.

Cheers,
Kind regards,
Arseny
arseny
Influencer
 
Posts: 21
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Full Name: Arseny Chernov

Re: nworks 5.5 RC1

Veeam Logoby krowczynski » Thu Apr 29, 2010 4:17 am

Hi,

thank you for infirmation ynd your opinion.
I think the next day I will try the new RC.

I will let you know how I fell with it.
krowczynski
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 62
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 6:34 pm
Full Name: Arkadiusz Krowczynski

Re: nworks 5.5 RC1

Veeam Logoby arseny » Thu Apr 29, 2010 8:54 am

Hi Arkadiusz,

Sure thing, go ahead and post your impressions in this thread. Don't forget you can also always open support@veeam.com ticket, that would have dramatically lower response time than forum communication.

Have a good day,
Kind regards,
Arseny
arseny
Influencer
 
Posts: 21
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Full Name: Arseny Chernov

Re: nworks 5.5 RC1

Veeam Logoby krowczynski » Fri Apr 30, 2010 9:03 am

Hi,

the sys requirement says that the VEM Server must be an Windows 2008.
Now our Server where all components are installed togother is an 2003 x64 server.

So should I install here a brandnew server with 2008 R2 Operating System?
krowczynski
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 62
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 6:34 pm
Full Name: Arkadiusz Krowczynski

Re: nworks 5.5 RC1

Veeam Logoby Irina Simkina » Fri Apr 30, 2010 9:21 am

Hi Arkadiusz,

the system requirements for VEM Server are the following:
Architecture: x86, x64
OS: Microsoft Windows Server 2003 (SP2 recommended) OR Microsoft Windows Server 2008

So you can use your existing environment with 2003 x64 server installed - It's fully supported.

Irina
Irina Simkina
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 51
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2010 9:00 am
Full Name: Irina Simkina

Re: nworks 5.5 RC1

Veeam Logoby krowczynski » Fri Apr 30, 2010 10:47 am

Hi,

thank you for this information.
krowczynski
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 62
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 6:34 pm
Full Name: Arkadiusz Krowczynski

Re: nworks 5.5 RC1

Veeam Logoby krowczynski » Fri May 07, 2010 10:14 am

HI,

just updated my enviroment with 5.5 RC1.
Update worked perfectly without any issues.

I will let know everybody more if I get more data in the next days.
krowczynski
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 62
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 6:34 pm
Full Name: Arkadiusz Krowczynski

Re: nworks 5.5 RC1

Veeam Logoby Alec King » Fri May 07, 2010 10:17 am

Hi Arkadiusz,

That's great, thanks for the update! Glad you deployed the 5.5 RC successfully 8)

Please let us know how it goes.

Thanks again!

Regards
Alec
Alec King
Vice President, Product Management
Veeam Software
Alec King
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 700
Liked: 116 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am

Re: nworks 5.5 RC1

Veeam Logoby krowczynski » Mon May 10, 2010 3:20 am

Hi,

have a few questions, mybe someone can explain it for me.

At first the release go fine, until now no problems, but now here ae my few quesstions.

In the last Version (5.03) I got sometimes messages (at most during a backupphase of a vm) "VM XXX is using 88% allocated cpu ressources.

Since the the release I didn't get this message, so my question is is it a falilure or get the nworks better? :D

I've also noticed that now the cpu ans memory messages were collected if the are going into a red state and back from vcenter.
I've disabled this messages because a vom often get into a red state and after back into thr normal one.

Also would like to know explained the new message

"VMGuest 'XXX' (on YYYYY) has exceeded threshold for total disk IOPS over 2 samples by using 232 IOPS"


Thank you very much for information.
krowczynski
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 62
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 6:34 pm
Full Name: Arkadiusz Krowczynski

Re: nworks 5.5 RC1

Veeam Logoby Alec King » Mon May 10, 2010 7:20 am

Hi Arkadiusz,

For your first question - I believe nworks just got better :D

The performance Monitors are now based on consecutive or averaged samples- this means that we do not alert on a single cpu usage spike. Out-of-box we will alert if the metric is over threshold for TWO samples - and you can override thу number of samples, using SCOM overrides in the usual way.

Agree with you on disabling the CPU & Memory Alarm events from vCenter - our performance Monitors are much more flexible anyway. (When we ship 5.5 those VC Alarms will be disabled out-of-box too)

For diskIOPS - this is a new metric, and new Monitor, in 5.5. I would really like your feedback! :)
We take disk reads + writes and calculate total input+output per second.
We're still researching the final threshold for 5.5 release - it's not easy to set a threshold for everyone, because workloads inside a VM can vary, and also performance of disk subsystems varies too.
Are you getting many alerts from this? What kind of values do you have for diskIOPS for your Vms? You can see this in the new Disk I/O VM Dashboard view.

Thanks for the feedback!
Cheers
Alec
Alec King
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 700
Liked: 116 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am

Re: nworks 5.5 RC1

Veeam Logoby krowczynski » Mon May 10, 2010 7:42 am

Hi,
thanks for you fast reply and your answers.


Yes I get a lot of messages because of IOPS, I will send you some values in the next day I hope, because I deleted all my mails because of it!! :oops:
krowczynski
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 62
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 6:34 pm
Full Name: Arkadiusz Krowczynski

Re: nworks 5.5 RC1

Veeam Logoby krowczynski » Tue May 11, 2010 3:06 am

Hi Alec,

so lets take as sample the mails I got during the night.
Our enviroment is an iSCSI one, with HP SAS Storage. (Just as information for you)

I got aroung 15 Mails and the IOPS were alway above 100.

Once Server was 186 another was 285, it it different and I also think that it depends if at this time the vm was backup up maybe.

Just this as information for you.
krowczynski
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 62
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 6:34 pm
Full Name: Arkadiusz Krowczynski

Re: nworks 5.5 RC1

Veeam Logoby Alec King » Tue May 11, 2010 8:53 am

Hi Arkadiusz,

Thanks for the info!
I think you are right, overnight there could be some jobs (such as backup, update, virus-scan etc) that cause high disk IOPS.

285 IOPS is pretty high, I think - that could require investigation. What application runs inside that VM? However there are many factors, and you can decide that it is normal for your environment (especially if it does not stay around 285 all the time)

If you look at the VM Disk I/O Dashboard (in VMware Virtual Machine\ Performance Views) - how long do these VMs stay above 100 IOPS? How many samples? (5 mins by default).

If you look at the Host Disk I/O Dashboard (in VMware ESX Host Server\ Performance Views) - what is the totalDiskIOPS at the host level during these times?
If you drill-down into \disk performance views you can also see diskIOPS for each Host vmhba.

You might find after investigation that you can re-schedule VM backup jobs, virus-scans or patching/updates so that VMs on same Host, or same storage, do not all demand high disk I/O at the same time.
This is one purpose of the nworks MP - to help you optimise your environment :)

But anyway, you also have the option of using SCOM Override(s) if you decide that the high IOPS values are normal operation for you. You can -
1. increase the default threshold of 100
2. increase the default sample count of 2

Please let me know how it goes - this is great feedback for me! :D
Thanks again!
Alec King
Vice President, Product Management
Veeam Software
Alec King
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 700
Liked: 116 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am

Re: nworks 5.5 RC1

Veeam Logoby krowczynski » Tue May 11, 2010 10:15 am

Hi Alec,

can I also post you e.g. two screenshots?
krowczynski
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 62
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 6:34 pm
Full Name: Arkadiusz Krowczynski

Next

Return to Veeam Management Pack for Microsoft System Center



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests