[Veeam 7.0] Delete/Suppress ALL alarms

Monitoring and reporting for Veeam Backup & Replication, VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V

[Veeam 7.0] Delete/Suppress ALL alarms

Veeam Logoby polaco1977 » Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:40 pm

Hi Everyone!
Is there any sql command to suppress/delete all alarms?
Also.. its possible to delete alarms based on their status (Error/Warning/Resolved)?

Veeam is generating LOTS of Resolved alarms (I have 500+ stand alone ESX) and the DB keeps growing.

Any ideas?
Thanks in advance,
Paulo
polaco1977
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:07 pm
Full Name: Martin Garcia

Re: [Veeam 7.0] Delete/Suppress ALL alarms

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:48 pm

Hi,

If you want to suppress all alarm, kindly, take a look at this script provided in the adjacent thread. Be aware to specify time period in accordance with your needs.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: [Veeam 7.0] Delete/Suppress ALL alarms

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:57 pm

polaco1977 wrote:Veeam is generating LOTS of Resolved alarms (I have 500+ stand alone ESX) and the DB keeps growing.

What kind of alarms are these? Do you see issues happening and resolving all the time automatically?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: [Veeam 7.0] Delete/Suppress ALL alarms

Veeam Logoby polaco1977 » Tue Jan 28, 2014 2:15 pm

Vitaliy S. wrote:
polaco1977 wrote:Veeam is generating LOTS of Resolved alarms (I have 500+ stand alone ESX) and the DB keeps growing.

What kind of alarms are these? Do you see issues happening and resolving all the time automatically?


Vitaliy,
There isnt any issues about that. What I want is to delete a "Resolved/Warning/Error" alarm that was fired on November 2013 for ie.
polaco1977
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:07 pm
Full Name: Martin Garcia

Re: [Veeam 7.0] Delete/Suppress ALL alarms

Veeam Logoby polaco1977 » Tue Jan 28, 2014 2:16 pm

v.Eremin wrote:Hi,

If you want to suppress all alarm, kindly, take a look at this script provided in the adjacent thread. Be aware to specify time period in accordance with your needs.

Thanks.


Eremin, thanks for your quick reply.
I saw that script a few days ago but I think I expressed my self incorrectly.
I want to DELETE ALL the alarms that are shown in the Infrastructure view and/or delete them by their Status.
polaco1977
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:07 pm
Full Name: Martin Garcia

Re: [Veeam 7.0] Delete/Suppress ALL alarms

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Jan 28, 2014 2:18 pm

Got it! In order to do that automatically (purge old alarms/performance and events data) you can use retention policy settings that are available through our support utility:
Code: Select all
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Veeam\Veeam ONE Settings\VeeamOneSettings.exe

As to removing all alarms based on their status, then there is no GUI method for this, probably some kind of SQL script can do that.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: [Veeam 7.0] Delete/Suppress ALL alarms

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Jan 28, 2014 2:27 pm

polaco1977 wrote:What I want is to delete a "Resolved/Warning/Error" alarm that was fired on November 2013 for ie.

May I ask you why you want to do it?

I'm wondering, since if you're after cleaning up database, then, please be aware, that "alarm" components contribute to 5% of the whole database, while the rest is occupied by "performance" components, etc. So, you're unlikely to gain any additional space or reduce the database size, especially, by cleaning alarms generated on one day.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: [Veeam 7.0] Delete/Suppress ALL alarms

Veeam Logoby polaco1977 » Tue Jan 28, 2014 2:44 pm

Vitaliy S. wrote:Got it! In order to do that automatically (purge old alarms/performance and events data) you can use retention policy settings that are available through our support utility:
Code: Select all
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Veeam\Veeam ONE Settings\VeeamOneSettings.exe

As to removing all alarms based on their status, then there is no GUI method for this, probably some kind of SQL script can do that.


Very helpful! Thanks!
Although our veeam is running less than 3 months ago. But, for a future version, can you add more options to shorten the retention period? Like 1-3 months, 15 days, etc?
Could you tell me which is the table where the alarms are stored? Could it be "monitor.Event" ?
Thanks again!
polaco1977
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:07 pm
Full Name: Martin Garcia

Re: [Veeam 7.0] Delete/Suppress ALL alarms

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Jan 28, 2014 3:31 pm

How large is your infrastructure? How many hosts, VM and datastores do you have?

Usually 6 months of data can be stored in SQL Server Express with no issues for not large infrastructures, but adding more options to the retention should also be possible to do.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: [Veeam 7.0] Delete/Suppress ALL alarms

Veeam Logoby polaco1977 » Tue Jan 28, 2014 4:50 pm

Vitaliy S. wrote:How large is your infrastructure? How many hosts, VM and datastores do you have?

>> 500+ Stand Alone ESX + 3 vm's per ESX + 2 datastore per ESX

Usually 6 months of data can be stored in SQL Server Express with no issues for not large infrastructures, but adding more options to the retention should also be possible to do.


>> It would be great! =)
polaco1977
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:07 pm
Full Name: Martin Garcia

Re: [Veeam 7.0] Delete/Suppress ALL alarms

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Jan 28, 2014 9:12 pm

500 hosts? That's great! Can you please tell me how large your Veeam ONE DB is now?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: [Veeam 7.0] Delete/Suppress ALL alarms

Veeam Logoby polaco1977 » Thu Jan 30, 2014 3:57 pm

Vitaliy S. wrote:500 hosts? That's great! Can you please tell me how large your Veeam ONE DB is now?


17gb aprox BUT all real-time scanning (CPU-memory) are disabled. Only 3 alarms are active.
We use Veeam to have a "view" of ALL our 500 stand alone esx
polaco1977
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:07 pm
Full Name: Martin Garcia

Re: [Veeam 7.0] Delete/Suppress ALL alarms

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Jan 31, 2014 8:54 am

Thanks for sharing! Real-time counters are not stored within the database, so even if you disable it, it will not affect the database size. Actually I'm quite surprised that your database is 17 GBs, I was expecting to see larger figures :)
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov


Return to Veeam ONE



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests