Since v6.5 upgrade "Host hardware sensor status changed"

Monitoring and reporting for Veeam Backup & Replication, VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V

Re: Since v6.5 upgrade "Host hardware sensor status changed"

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Dec 18, 2012 12:48 pm

Guys, the patch addressing host hardware sensors issue is already available, see this topic for more details: Patch #1 (build 6.5.0.686) [December 18, 2012]
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19545
Liked: 1099 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Since v6.5 upgrade "Host hardware sensor status changed"

Veeam Logoby reizarf27 » Fri Dec 28, 2012 3:16 pm

Patch 1 still did not resolve this issue for me. All my ESXi hosts are still generating alarms in Monitor for an unknown host hardware status. For now, I have disabled the unknown state. Should I open a support request?
reizarf27
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 2:45 pm

Re: Since v6.5 upgrade "Host hardware sensor status changed"

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Sat Dec 29, 2012 3:00 pm

This patch suppresses alarms triggering for stateless sensors only. Can you please take a look at vSphere Client to see what state you have there for the sensors in question?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19545
Liked: 1099 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Since v6.5 upgrade "Host hardware sensor status changed"

Veeam Logoby reizarf27 » Mon Dec 31, 2012 2:22 pm

In Monitor, the hardware alarm I am getting is for 'Proc 1 Level-1 Cache' being in an unknown state. In vSphere, the 'Read Policy' state of this hardware is currently showing as 'unknown'. I am getting this alarm for all the Processor cache hardware on all my esxi servers. I take it unknown is different than stateless?
reizarf27
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 2:45 pm

Re: Since v6.5 upgrade "Host hardware sensor status changed"

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Dec 31, 2012 2:30 pm

Yes, you need to investigate why these sensors are reported as "unknown" in vSphere Client and in Monitor Client. What is your ESXi server make and model? Is it a branded hardware?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19545
Liked: 1099 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Since v6.5 upgrade "Host hardware sensor status changed"

Veeam Logoby reizarf27 » Mon Dec 31, 2012 8:08 pm

They are all HP Proliant DL380's.
reizarf27
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 2:45 pm

Re: Since v6.5 upgrade "Host hardware sensor status changed"

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Jan 01, 2013 2:03 am

Hmm...seems like you're not the only one who has HP Proliant with unknown sensors (check this thread for more examples). I wonder what other HP users have found to resolve this issue, probably they will be able to chime in to this discussion.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19545
Liked: 1099 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Since v6.5 upgrade "Host hardware sensor status changed"

Veeam Logoby ijefferson » Fri Jan 04, 2013 3:20 pm

Happy New Year!

Just to say I've applied the patch today and all the stateless sensors have been removed except the CPU cache which is showing as unknown in Veeam One, but vCenter doesn't have anything listed next to it like the rest of them which the patch removed. :)

The only unknown listed there is like reizarf27 with the read policy.

Screenshot below:

Image
ijefferson
Influencer
 
Posts: 14
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 10:53 am
Full Name: Ian Jefferson

Re: Since v6.5 upgrade "Host hardware sensor status changed"

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Jan 04, 2013 7:55 pm

Hi Ian, thanks for the screenshot, I will forward this info to our R&D for further research.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19545
Liked: 1099 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Since v6.5 upgrade "Host hardware sensor status changed"

Veeam Logoby KiwiJJ » Mon Jan 21, 2013 1:42 am

Hi,
I have exactly the same problem as Ian. On all of my Dell R620 servers.
KiwiJJ
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 84
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 8:05 pm
Location: New Zealand
Full Name: John Jones

Re: Since v6.5 upgrade "Host hardware sensor status changed"

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Jan 21, 2013 10:09 am

John, can you please contact our support team and let them have a look at this issue a bit closer?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19545
Liked: 1099 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Since v6.5 upgrade "Host hardware sensor status changed"

Veeam Logoby KiwiJJ » Mon Jan 21, 2013 9:38 pm

Hi Vitaliy,
I have raised a case, number 00174635.

thanks,

John
KiwiJJ
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 84
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 8:05 pm
Location: New Zealand
Full Name: John Jones

Re: Since v6.5 upgrade "Host hardware sensor status changed"

Veeam Logoby GarethWilson » Thu Jan 24, 2013 9:56 am

i am also seeing these error being generated on my HP BL460 G6's & G7 's

These error only started appearing after installing patch 686 yesterday
GarethWilson
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 48
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am

Re: Since v6.5 upgrade "Host hardware sensor status changed"

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Jan 24, 2013 9:57 am

Can you please let our support team take a look at this problem live?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19545
Liked: 1099 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Since v6.5 upgrade "Host hardware sensor status changed"

Veeam Logoby GarethWilson » Thu Jan 24, 2013 10:07 am

Yes No problem i am more than happy for them to remote in and have a look at this issue if they want

Cheers

Gareth
GarethWilson
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 48
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am

PreviousNext

Return to Veeam ONE



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Arturo Pedroza and 3 guests