Sync option missing in VeeamOne v8

Monitoring and reporting for Veeam Backup & Replication, VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V

Sync option missing in VeeamOne v8

Veeam Logoby ashleyw » Fri Nov 14, 2014 12:09 am

Hi,
When we make changes to the categorisation tool, we used to have an option on Veeam One v7 to be able to force a sync of the data back to vCentre.
I no longer see this option in the VeeamOne menu - has it been removed?
How do we force a sync of the data bank to the vSphere servers and how do we see the status or sync process?
ashleyw
Service Provider
 
Posts: 137
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 10:55 pm
Full Name: Ashley Watson

Re: Sync option missing in VeeamOne v8

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Fri Nov 14, 2014 9:47 am

Hi Ashley,
ashleyw wrote:I no longer see this option in the VeeamOne menu - has it been removed?

No, it has not. The option is still there. We`ve just change the options` structure a bit.
You can synchronize categorization data stored in the Veeam ONE database with custom attributes or tags on the vCenter Server side. To do so, you need to change Veeam ONE Business View configuration options to enable updates of custom attributes or tags. If updates of custom attributes or tags is enabled, every time when a data collection is performed, Veeam ONE will not only gather data from the vCenter Server, but will also write category values from the Veeam ONE database to the vCenter Server.
You can also check the categorization status or export it to exclel.
Thanks.
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4861
Liked: 396 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Sync option missing in VeeamOne v8

Veeam Logoby ashleyw » Mon Nov 17, 2014 12:01 am

thanks. I think we are talking crossed lines here. In the previous edition there was an option to force the sync back of category/group data to the custom attribute columns on the vsphere hosts themselves, and there was a process which ran every 24 hours by default to force the sync of the data (which could be triggered on demand). Those options are now missing.
I do not have a Veeam One v7 installation any more to compare, but it looks like the feature I'm referring to was the "session history" option - which is visible on this screen shot;
http://www.veeam.com/blog/veeam-busines ... eased.html
ashleyw
Service Provider
 
Posts: 137
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 10:55 pm
Full Name: Ashley Watson

Re: Sync option missing in VeeamOne v8

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Nov 17, 2014 9:32 am

This option was not removed. If you want to force the sync back of custom attributes and write data to the vSphere hosts, you need to select "use custom attributes to categorize objects" (third radio button) in the Configuration -> Options tab.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Sync option missing in VeeamOne v8

Veeam Logoby ashleyw » Mon Nov 17, 2014 11:12 pm

thanks - here is a screenshot of the option setting I'm using. There is option showing the sync status that I can see. The option for "session history" was definitely there on the v7 release as we used to use it all the time to force a sync of the data back to the attributes on the VM so that we could interrogate those vSphere attributes through other automation scripting.
To put this into context, we were quite happily running v7 and then attempted an in place upgrade to v8. This was crashing out and I had a support ticket open with Veeam. The only way I could get the thing working was to uninstall VeeamOne, then Reinstall VeeamOne but pointing it to the existing database (to preserve all our configurable).
So I'm confused as to how to proceed.
Image
ashleyw
Service Provider
 
Posts: 137
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 10:55 pm
Full Name: Ashley Watson

Re: Sync option missing in VeeamOne v8

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Nov 18, 2014 10:15 am

ashleyw wrote:The option for "session history" was definitely there on the v7 release as we used to use it all the time to force a sync of the data back to the attributes on the VM so that we could interrogate those vSphere attributes through other automation scripting.

Veeam ONE Business View and Veeam ONE Reporter now have the same engine, so if you want to force categorization and run the job, you need to navigate to Veeam ONE Reporter and start the collection job. This will write all data to custom attributes in your vSphere infrastructure.

Let me know if that helps!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Sync option missing in VeeamOne v8

Veeam Logoby ashleyw » Wed Nov 19, 2014 12:44 am 1 person likes this post

great. That is perfect and explains everything. I can now see the sync option on the Reporter interface. thanks again.
ashleyw
Service Provider
 
Posts: 137
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 10:55 pm
Full Name: Ashley Watson


Return to Veeam ONE



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: max.che and 7 guests