Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
zak2011
Expert
Posts: 367
Liked: 41 times
Joined: May 15, 2012 2:21 pm
Full Name: Arun
Contact:

Backing up a VM on a different network

Post by zak2011 » Feb 09, 2013 10:30 pm

Hi,
Recently we had to move one of our VMs to a seperate ESX host with an additional network card configured on a seperate network controlled by a govt entity due to govt legal requirements.
I can add the VM from Veeam backup job. It works fine as long as i dont enable application aware image processing.
However as this VM is on a different network when application aware image processing is enabled the backup fails also after creating a seperate user account with admin privelages on that VM. The VM is not accessible by UNC name from the Veeam server. Would adding an additional network interface configured for that network on the Veeam server help or is there a better way to do this?

Thanks.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24804
Liked: 3566 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Backing up a VM on a different network

Post by Gostev » Feb 09, 2013 10:43 pm 1 person likes this post

Hi Arun, assuming your question is about VMware (I will move the topic to the correct subforum once you confirm), actually network connection from backup server to VM is not required for the application-aware processing to work. Make sure you are using the actual local Administrator account on this VM (and not just a member of Local Administrators group). Thanks!

zak2011
Expert
Posts: 367
Liked: 41 times
Joined: May 15, 2012 2:21 pm
Full Name: Arun
Contact:

Re: Backing up a VM on a different network

Post by zak2011 » Feb 09, 2013 10:53 pm

Thats correct. It would be better to move it to the VMware subforum. Strange though! I did try using the local Administrator account on this VM..however says Cannot connect to the host's administrative share.
Thanks!

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24804
Liked: 3566 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Backing up a VM on a different network

Post by Gostev » Feb 09, 2013 11:05 pm

Please make sure the VM has VMware Tools installed, and open the support case for further troubleshooting.

ZachW
Enthusiast
Posts: 68
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Aug 02, 2011 6:09 pm
Full Name: Zach Weed
Contact:

Re: Backing up a VM on a different network

Post by ZachW » Feb 09, 2013 11:23 pm 1 person likes this post

Just to add on to Gostev's post if the VM is not accessible through the network then AAIP should be able to be called through the use of VIX.. So there is a likely a failure that you are not seeing within the real-time statistics. As gostev said it would be best to open up a support case so that we can look through the logs and see why the use of VIX is failing.

zak2011
Expert
Posts: 367
Liked: 41 times
Joined: May 15, 2012 2:21 pm
Full Name: Arun
Contact:

Re: Backing up a VM on a different network

Post by zak2011 » Feb 10, 2013 12:23 am

The VM has Vmware tools installed. I will open a support case and update the post.
Thanks for the help Gostev and Zach!

zak2011
Expert
Posts: 367
Liked: 41 times
Joined: May 15, 2012 2:21 pm
Full Name: Arun
Contact:

Re: Backing up a VM on a different network

Post by zak2011 » Feb 15, 2013 2:31 pm 2 people like this post

Support resolved the issue. Pretty surprising the logs showed as the following VIX Error:The guest does not support empty passwords Code:3033-
Seemed like something was going wrong with the credentials when each time I thought i was putting in the required credentials.
Really glad it was resolved!

Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 9 guests