Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
davidb1234
Expert
Posts: 151
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Nov 15, 2011 8:47 pm
Full Name: David Borden
Contact:

Backup job fails after vmotion to different host

Post by davidb1234 » Apr 13, 2012 10:35 am

I am still testing and noticed today that after vmotion of a test VM from one host to another my test backup job is failing because it can't find the VM.

Is this normal? Isn't Veeam supposed to "know" when a VM has vmotioned when you use virtual center?

I can't just select the cluster or vcenter server because I need to be able to specify exclusions and backup order.

I was forced to remove the VM and readd it and set it up from scratch to the same job. Also instead of just picking up with an incremental backup where is left off it forced another full backup of the VM as well... Does this break the restore chain from the incrementals that are still out there?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18281
Liked: 1567 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Backup job fails after vmotion to different host

Post by foggy » Apr 13, 2012 10:54 am

davidb1234 wrote:I am still testing and noticed today that after vmotion of a test VM from one host to another my test backup job is failing because it can't find the VM.

Is this normal? Isn't Veeam supposed to "know" when a VM has vmotioned when you use virtual center?
David, how do you select VMs to backup in your job? If you use containers such as folders or resource pools that are not changed during vMotion, the job will continue backup the VMs successfully.
davidb1234 wrote:I was forced to remove the VM and readd it and set it up from scratch to the same job. Also instead of just picking up with an incremental backup where is left off it forced another full backup of the VM as well... Does this break the restore chain from the incrementals that are still out there?
You could map the job to existing backup file to avoid full backup of this VM. Your newly created full starts the backup chain from scratch but existing restore points are still valid and can be used for recovery.

davidb1234
Expert
Posts: 151
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Nov 15, 2011 8:47 pm
Full Name: David Borden
Contact:

Re: Backup job fails after vmotion to different host

Post by davidb1234 » Apr 13, 2012 11:06 am

We have 2 hosts in 1 cluster. We have no resource pools configured or anything special. I selected the VM by clicking ADD, HOSTS AND CLUSTERS, DATACENTER NAME, CLUSTER NAME, VM NAME. Since the container was the cluster I am assuming vmotion should not have impacted the job like it did.

It was a single VM backup job for testing. This morning I vmotioned the VM to the other host. I would have thought the job would have just ran properly but it failed and I have to remove the old VM and readd it the same way.

I used the same job that I had previously made I just removed the VM and readded it. I assume this is the proper procedure unless I missed something. It transferred the full size of the VBK file rather than just the amount for the size of the incremental file generated and the job took longer than the normal incremental run.

Cokovic
Expert
Posts: 295
Liked: 59 times
Joined: Sep 06, 2011 8:45 am
Full Name: Haris Cokovic
Contact:

Re: Backup job fails after vmotion to different host

Post by Cokovic » Apr 13, 2012 11:14 am

How did you add your ESX hosts to Veeam under Servers? Did you add your hosts directly or did you add your vcenter server?

davidb1234
Expert
Posts: 151
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Nov 15, 2011 8:47 pm
Full Name: David Borden
Contact:

Re: Backup job fails after vmotion to different host

Post by davidb1234 » Apr 13, 2012 11:31 am

Apparently this is not normal behavior. I opened a support case with VEEAM and have uploaded logs.

davidb1234
Expert
Posts: 151
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Nov 15, 2011 8:47 pm
Full Name: David Borden
Contact:

Re: Backup job fails after vmotion to different host

Post by davidb1234 » Apr 13, 2012 11:33 am

Cokovic wrote:How did you add your ESX hosts to Veeam under Servers? Did you add your hosts directly or did you add your vcenter server?
I added the vcenter server. Support confirms that the job is correct and using the cluster container however the Veeam can't seem to locate the VM. Support said it could take them awhile though.

gtuthill
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 18, 2010 9:25 pm
Full Name: Greg Tuthill
Contact:

Re: Backup job fails after vmotion to different host

Post by gtuthill » Apr 14, 2013 10:42 pm

Hi There,
Did you get a resolution to this? I have this issue also.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16901
Liked: 1440 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Backup job fails after vmotion to different host

Post by veremin » Apr 15, 2013 7:39 am

Hi, Greg.

I’m wondering how the given VMs have been added to the backup job. Through vCenter or standalone ESXi host?

You should know that only adding VMs to the backup job through vCenter Server connection makes backup/replication job vMotion aware.

Thanks.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: fnbisson and 37 guests