Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
lukeup
Influencer
Posts: 13
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 06, 2012 4:13 pm
Full Name: Luke
Contact:

Best way to copy VM to test lab

Post by lukeup » Mar 26, 2013 6:55 pm

Hello,

I have a Veeam Enterprise server creating backups to storage and also replicas to a DR ESXi host. What is the best/easiest way to copy VMs to a standalone test server that is not on the network? I have already successfully restored backups but this involved setting up a test Veeam server as well in order to do the restore of VBK files.

Would it be a better idea to copy the replicas complete folder (raw data) to the test lab datastore via USB drive, as the replica is not running, and then start it up using the vSphere client? Or use Veeam copy to get a raw copy on a USB drive and copy that?

I know there are many ways to do this but what is the most efficient way for a test environment?

Thanks

dellock6
Veeam Software
Posts: 5734
Liked: 1625 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca
Location: Varese, Italy
Contact:

Re: Best way to copy VM to test lab

Post by dellock6 » Mar 26, 2013 9:12 pm

No chance to connect the test ESXi to the network? That would solve half of your problems. If it's because there would be duplicated IPs, you can simply fence the networks, just like for example Veeam does with its Virtual Lab appliance.

Luca.
Luca Dell'Oca
Principal EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
https://www.virtualtothecore.com/
vExpert 2011 -> 2019
Veeam VMCE #1

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23001
Liked: 1557 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Best way to copy VM to test lab

Post by Vitaliy S. » Mar 26, 2013 10:49 pm 1 person likes this post

lukeup wrote:Would it be a better idea to copy the replicas complete folder (raw data) to the test lab datastore via USB drive, as the replica is not running, and then start it up using the vSphere client? Or use Veeam copy to get a raw copy on a USB drive and copy that?
Not the best idea for sure, as your VM virtual disks will be automatically converted to thick disks (thin disks is a VMFS feature only). If I were you I would either connect your standalone host to the network our use VeeamZIP functionality to offload your production VM to the test server.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests