Changing target location of replication job in V6.

VMware specific discussions

Re: Changing target location of replication job in V6.

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Aug 26, 2016 3:55 pm

Ok, thanks for the update. Can you please describe how did you do mapping? Did you run the job a couple of times and then re-mapped it to a replica VM?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19564
Liked: 1104 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

[MERGED] Feature Request - integrate Storage vMotion with Re

Veeam Logoby philfreund » Thu Apr 13, 2017 1:50 pm

Please integrate Storage vMotion awareness with Replication. I just replaced the disk array that provides storage for one of my VMware 6.0 clusters. Rather than migrate a large number of TB of data between old and new disk arrays, I created new datastores on the new disk array and used Storage vMotion to move my replica VMs to those datastores. Everything seemed fine until my replication jobs started failing after trying to use the old datastore as a target and not finding it since I had deleted it.

I opened a case (02127298) and based on the info from the support engineers, found that I had to either remove the configuration information from the database and rerun the replication job using the low latency option for replica seeding or delete all of the replicas and rebuild as new so that it would recognize the new datastore name. (On a practical basis, it is massively faster to delete the replica(s) and rebuild as new due to the time required to process through the disk digests; however you do lose all of the historical restore points.)

This is terrible since it means that I can't dynamically adjust the replica datastore locations without having to go through a messy process of rebuilding the replicas and losing the replica restore points.
philfreund
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 29
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2016 6:16 pm
Full Name: Phil Freund

Re: Changing target location of replication job in V6.

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri Apr 14, 2017 5:43 pm

Hi Phil, you should re-point the job to the new location prior to its first run after the migration. In this case it should continue normally.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14743
Liked: 1081 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Previous

Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests