Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
Posts: 21536
Liked: 1281 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Changing target location of replication job in V6.

Post by Vitaliy S. » Aug 26, 2016 3:55 pm

Ok, thanks for the update. Can you please describe how did you do mapping? Did you run the job a couple of times and then re-mapped it to a replica VM?

philfreund
Enthusiast
Posts: 49
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Apr 01, 2016 6:16 pm
Full Name: Phil Freund
Contact:

[MERGED] Feature Request - integrate Storage vMotion with Re

Post by philfreund » Apr 13, 2017 1:50 pm

Please integrate Storage vMotion awareness with Replication. I just replaced the disk array that provides storage for one of my VMware 6.0 clusters. Rather than migrate a large number of TB of data between old and new disk arrays, I created new datastores on the new disk array and used Storage vMotion to move my replica VMs to those datastores. Everything seemed fine until my replication jobs started failing after trying to use the old datastore as a target and not finding it since I had deleted it.

I opened a case (02127298) and based on the info from the support engineers, found that I had to either remove the configuration information from the database and rerun the replication job using the low latency option for replica seeding or delete all of the replicas and rebuild as new so that it would recognize the new datastore name. (On a practical basis, it is massively faster to delete the replica(s) and rebuild as new due to the time required to process through the disk digests; however you do lose all of the historical restore points.)

This is terrible since it means that I can't dynamically adjust the replica datastore locations without having to go through a messy process of rebuilding the replicas and losing the replica restore points.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16832
Liked: 1361 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Changing target location of replication job in V6.

Post by foggy » Apr 14, 2017 5:43 pm

Hi Phil, you should re-point the job to the new location prior to its first run after the migration. In this case it should continue normally.

davidwh
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 04, 2018 9:10 am
Full Name: David Whittle
Contact:

[MERGED] Change Datastore of replicated VM's

Post by davidwh » Oct 04, 2018 9:20 am

Does anyone know the procedure to move replicated VM's from one datastore to another?

Nothing fancy, its the same vcenter/host, we just want to if possible storage vMotion the replicas then reconfigure the job if it is that simple?

Cheers

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16832
Liked: 1361 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Change Datastore of replicated VM's

Post by foggy » Oct 04, 2018 9:46 am

storage vMotion shouldn't affect Veeam B&R jobs, since VM ID will not change. Just check the job settings - destination datastore specifically.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: enrique.frisoli, jrbaumann and 25 guests