Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
UampsIT
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 15, 2019 8:01 pm
Contact:

Copy backups to a second repository

Post by UampsIT »

I currently have backup jobs and backup copy jobs going to a Data Domain repository to meet retention policies. Our policy also states that these need to go to a second Data Domain in a remote office. How can I copy the data in the first DD to the second DD? Can this be done efficiently in Veeam? I don't want to use the DD utilities since we don't know how long we will be keeping this equipment. We are using VBR 9.5.4.2866.

Thanks!

jmmarton
Veeam Software
Posts: 1987
Liked: 288 times
Joined: Nov 17, 2015 2:38 am
Full Name: Joe Marton
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Re: Copy backups to a second repository

Post by jmmarton »

Could you use backup copy jobs to the secondary DD?

Joe

UampsIT
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 15, 2019 8:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Copy backups to a second repository

Post by UampsIT »

I was hoping for a more efficient method. That would mean having 3 backup/backup copy jobs to do what I was able to do in a single job on our old backup software. Timing with that many jobs going could become an issue also.

jmmarton
Veeam Software
Posts: 1987
Liked: 288 times
Joined: Nov 17, 2015 2:38 am
Full Name: Joe Marton
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Re: Copy backups to a second repository

Post by jmmarton »

The entire purpose of a BCJ is to copy backups from Repository A to Repository B. And since a BCJ can be linked as a secondary destination in a primary backup job, that means the BCJ will automatically copy RPs after the backup job finishes. That should not cause an issue.

https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... l?ver=95u4

Joe

PetrM
Veeam Software
Posts: 731
Liked: 100 times
Joined: Aug 28, 2013 8:23 am
Full Name: Petr Makarov
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Copy backups to a second repository

Post by PetrM »

Yes, I totally agree that backup copy is the best option in this case.

By the way, do you have backup and backup copy running to the same repository on a local site?
If it's true, I will suggest to use only one backup copy job which transfers backup data to a remote site from local repository: allows you to follow 3-2-1 rule and get rid of potential timing issue.

Thanks!

UampsIT
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 15, 2019 8:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Copy backups to a second repository

Post by UampsIT »

Yes, I have a backup job and a backup copy job aimed at the local repository to meet local retention policy and have another backup copy job pointed at the remote repository to meet the offsite requirements of the retention policy. This system does work, but I was hoping for a more elegant solution. As easy as most things are in VBR I was surprised that it took that many steps. So I thought I would ask and see if there was something I was missing in the setup of the jobs. A shortcut so to speak.

Thanks!

jmmarton
Veeam Software
Posts: 1987
Liked: 288 times
Joined: Nov 17, 2015 2:38 am
Full Name: Joe Marton
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Re: Copy backups to a second repository

Post by jmmarton »

Why are you doing both a backup job and copy job to the local repo? Is it for GFS? If so, please note that GFS in primary jobs is coming in v10. If that's your use case then you may be able to eliminate one of your copy jobs.

Joe

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 15 guests