Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
potzuk
Influencer
Posts: 16
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 10, 2013 8:05 pm
Contact:

Copy job woes

Post by potzuk » Mar 09, 2015 11:34 am

Case ID : 00826480

Hi guys,

Just wondering if someone can point me in the direction of what I'm doing wrong here.

We have a fairly simple setup :

2x vmWare 5.5 hosts, 1 Dell EQL SAN all hooked up via separate iSCSI network
2x NAS boxes, one on the local LAN, one on the WAN

What I want to do is back up the VMs onto the LAN NAS, with a copy job also storing to the LAN NAS for archival backups (Monthly/Quarterly etc), with another copy job running to take less frequent copies to the WAN NAS so there's offsite cover. I thought the backup copy job is the one I needed but perhaps there's a better way, because at the moment I'm tempted to just set up a robocopy script to copy the backup files manually!

The backup jobs themselves are running fine, but the copy-jobs are causing no-end of email warning/failures, but mostly seem to be "Incremental copy was not processed during the copy interval" or "Initial copy did not complete, and will resume on the next copy interval"

I've tried different permutations of start time, interval, selecting the VMs by infrastructure/backup/jobs but nothing seems to work. The only thing that seems to work is to create backup jobs rather than copies.

The other thing I've noted is that on the odd occasion where it does run, the files on the NAS are only 30MB, even when the backup job is between 200GB and 1.2TB?

Thanks in advance,

Tony

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22968
Liked: 1555 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Copy job woes

Post by Vitaliy S. » Mar 09, 2015 1:16 pm

Hi Tony,

What is your "Copy every" interval configuration? Based on the message I can say that there is a lot of data to transfer for the initial seed and your job cannot do that with the defined interval.

Check out these existing topics for further reading > Incremental copy was not processed during the copy interval

Thanks!

potzuk
Influencer
Posts: 16
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 10, 2013 8:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Copy job woes

Post by potzuk » Mar 09, 2015 1:21 pm

Hi Vitaliy,

Thanks for responding.

I've tried a few permutations, but even on the smaller backup jobs (~100GB VBK) they've not had an effect.

The main backup jobs run daily starting at 2030 and the longest job completes around 0000, the LAN copy jobs are daily at 1am, the archival (WAN) copies at 6am. The WAN is a 1GB fibre to a neighbouring warehouse unit on the estate and was used by Veeam to back up to until recently with no problems.

I'd like to run them daily, or as soon as the backup completes but not having much joy it seems.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22968
Liked: 1555 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Copy job woes

Post by Vitaliy S. » Mar 09, 2015 1:28 pm

So both backup copy jobs have "Copy every" configuration set to 1 day, but they start at 6 AM and 1 AM?

potzuk
Influencer
Posts: 16
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 10, 2013 8:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Copy job woes

Post by potzuk » Mar 09, 2015 1:30 pm

Correct

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22968
Liked: 1555 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Copy job woes

Post by Vitaliy S. » Mar 09, 2015 1:34 pm

Have you tried doing initial seeding for these jobs? What is the performance of your backup copy jobs?

potzuk
Influencer
Posts: 16
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 10, 2013 8:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Copy job woes

Post by potzuk » Mar 09, 2015 1:37 pm

I was just about to try disabling them all and doing a sync now on one of them.

Performance varies depending on the VM, but typically it's around 25-30MB/s. Some are target and some are source bottlenecked.

potzuk
Influencer
Posts: 16
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 10, 2013 8:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Copy job woes

Post by potzuk » Mar 09, 2015 2:12 pm

A backup job can be copied more than once by two separate copy jobs can't it? The WAN copy job is saying that there are no new restore points, but the file on the NAS is dated 2 weeks ago...

potzuk
Influencer
Posts: 16
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 10, 2013 8:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Copy job woes

Post by potzuk » Mar 10, 2015 10:26 am

OK I think I may have got somewhere.

The backups were going to NAS3\Veeam, as were the local Backup copies. On a hunch I created a separate share (\VeeamArchives) and recreated the backup job and copy jobs and now things seem to be working.

I'll monitor it for a few days to make sure the retention is working and update this thread accordingly

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16867
Liked: 1429 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Copy job woes

Post by veremin » Mar 10, 2015 10:41 am

Yep, it's required that source and target for backup copy job are represented by different repositories, because there is built-in mechanism preventing backup copy job from looking restore points in the repository that is specified as backup copy job target.

rganer
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 16, 2014 9:06 pm
Full Name: Rodney Garner
Contact:

Re: Copy job woes

Post by rganer » Jun 02, 2015 3:29 pm

Did you ever find out what causes this issue? I have the exact same problem with the inital backup not completing after creating a backup copy job. The backup copy job runs for about a min then stop and gives a warning saying initial copy not completed and leaves 30mb files after each attempt.

I run backup copy jobs to a different repository from my primary backups on a separate storage array connect to a separate server. I've tried creating several different repositories on that 2nd storage array and creating new backup copy jobs to them but I get the exact same warning and 30mb file.

I have had one backup copy job on that array work when I tested after first installing veeam and i have a successful backup copy job that runs through to cloud connect but cant seem to get a job to work currently to the 2nd storage array.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18242
Liked: 1557 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Copy job woes

Post by foggy » Jun 02, 2015 3:38 pm

Rodney, I recommend contacting support for a closer look at your setup and logs review, if required.

Btw, how the regular backup job and backup copy job are scheduled?

larry
Expert
Posts: 387
Liked: 92 times
Joined: Mar 24, 2010 5:47 pm
Full Name: Larry Walker
Contact:

Re: Copy job woes

Post by larry » Jun 02, 2015 7:42 pm

I had this yesterday, was my fault. I had a current copy on a different drive letter ( left from testing ) I would run new job, 30 meg files to new disk and that's it. when I remove disk ( not part of repository just there ) alI worked as it should.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], evander, tim.hudson and 27 guests