Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
marius roma
Expert
Posts: 452
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Feb 01, 2012 12:04 pm
Full Name: Mario
Contact:

Editing replica job

Post by marius roma » Feb 22, 2017 1:09 pm

Everytime I try to edit a replica job I have to wait a long time as it looks to make checks with the target site.
Given I need to change only some simple information (let's say, the start time of my replica job) is there any way to avoid unnecessary checks and simply edit the job in a time similar to the time required to edit a backup job?
Regards
marius

DGrinev
Veeam Software
Posts: 1741
Liked: 221 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev
Location: St.Petersburg
Contact:

Re: Editing replica job

Post by DGrinev » Feb 22, 2017 1:38 pm 1 person likes this post

Hi Mario,

Please describe your current infrastructure configuration.
Where is replication job metadata located and do you have backup proxy on the target side?

Thanks!

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18253
Liked: 1559 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Editing replica job

Post by foggy » Feb 22, 2017 3:05 pm 1 person likes this post

Veeam B&R needs to request target inventory service prior to saving settings, so depending on its responsiveness, it might take some time.

marius roma
Expert
Posts: 452
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Feb 01, 2012 12:04 pm
Full Name: Mario
Contact:

Re: Editing replica job

Post by marius roma » Feb 22, 2017 4:23 pm

The problem occurs in an environment with 2 VMware vSphere infrasrtuctores, let's say site A and site B.
Site A is about 100 miles far from site B.
A Veeam server in site A replicates VMs to site B.
Either in site A and in site B there are other proxyies.
I presume that replica metadata are located on site A, but how can I check?
I connect to the Veeam console on the Veeam server in site A.
When I try to edit a replica job it takes a long time, like if the Veeam server connects to the proxyies in site B (does it make sense?).
If I create or edit a job (let's say, I add a VM) it makes sense to wait to verify the satus on site B.
How can I avoid waiting if the change I want to apply does not involve site B, let's say because I simply want to change the start time of the replica job?
If I need to change several jobs it's really frustrating...
how can I solve this problem and save time?
Regards
Marius

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18253
Liked: 1559 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Editing replica job

Post by foggy » Feb 23, 2017 11:33 pm 1 person likes this post

marius roma wrote:I presume that replica metadata are located on site A, but how can I check?
You can open the job settings and check what repository is selected to store replica metadata.
marius roma wrote:How can I avoid waiting if the change I want to apply does not involve site B, let's say because I simply want to change the start time of the replica job?
This is not possible. Currently, target virtual environment (site B vCenter server) is always requested during saving job settings, regardless of the change you make.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: edxh, ers_kentwick, Google [Bot], kelaros and 34 guests