Error after vSphere update

VMware specific discussions

Re: Error after vSphere update

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Mon Apr 18, 2011 4:59 pm

You could simply change workingDir VM configuration parameter. This is what defines the snapshot files location. This way you get to keep unique VM ID (otherwise, some VMware managements tools may get affected).
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21390
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Error after vSphere update

Veeam Logoby Daveyd » Mon Apr 18, 2011 5:29 pm

Does moving the vmx file and re-inventoring it move the vswap file as well? I know if I change the working directory, the vswap file will be created there as well taking up more space (the VM RAM size) on the datastore
Daveyd
Expert
 
Posts: 272
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 4:17 pm
Full Name: Dave DeLollis

Re: Error after vSphere update

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Mon Apr 18, 2011 5:53 pm

Not sure about this one. Might be best to check on VMware forums. I am assuming yes.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21390
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Error after vSphere update

Veeam Logoby Daveyd » Tue Apr 19, 2011 5:55 pm

What if I have a VM with 3 separate VMDKs on 3 different datastores with 3 different block sizes? Does the vmx file need to reside on the datastore with the largest block size?
Daveyd
Expert
 
Posts: 272
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 4:17 pm
Full Name: Dave DeLollis

Re: Error after vSphere update

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Tue Apr 19, 2011 6:42 pm

Correct.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21390
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Error after vSphere update

Veeam Logoby Daveyd » Wed Apr 20, 2011 1:11 am

So, an easy way to move the config file to a datastore with a larger block size is to do a svMotion with Advanced settings and choose just to svmotion the config file to the Datastore with the larger black size. :)

The other way would be to reformat the Datastore that the vmx file resides on, in my case a Datastore formatted with 1MB block size, to 8MB block size. However, I did see this question asked about formating a drive to 8MB block size...

The difference would be when talking about changed block tracking (vStorage API) and incremental blockbased backups (correct me if I'm wrong). When changing a 1KB file on a FS with 1MB blocksize, the incremental backup would consist of that 1MB block. When using a 8MB blocksize the backup would need to back up the entire 8MB block.

When dealing with a disk that has lots of small changes here and there throughout the disk (ie. OS disk), a smaller blocksize is preferrable from a backup standpoint. The implications of 1MB vs 8MB block sizes could potentially be a 8 times larger backup.

Does that seem logical? Would Veeam's deduping take care deduping the entire 8MB block causing less space to be taken up in a Veeam backup?
Daveyd
Expert
 
Posts: 272
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 4:17 pm
Full Name: Dave DeLollis

Re: Error after vSphere update

Veeam Logoby tsightler » Wed Apr 20, 2011 3:35 am

Veeam's block size is independent of the VMFS block size so there will be no effect on backup size.
tsightler
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4768
Liked: 1737 times
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 12:57 pm
Full Name: Tom Sightler

Re: Error after vSphere update

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Wed Apr 20, 2011 8:19 am

Correct. VMFS block size does not affect anything in our product.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21390
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Error after vSphere update

Veeam Logoby pburton » Tue Jun 07, 2011 3:50 pm

I have a VM with a 40GB (thin provisioned) OS drive and a 256GB (max size on our 1MB block datastore) data drive. I'm getting the same error as everyone else when I try to use Veeam to back it up. Instead of moving the VM to a new datastore with a different block size of reformatting my datastore, can I just shrink my data drive a couple gig? If so, what would be the easiest way to shrink it? The OS is not on this VMDK. I've read that I could use VMware Converter to shrink it, but then that would require moving the VM or renaming it to create the new VM with the smaller volume, right? Is there just a tool that I can use to shrink a vmdk file? I could even do this offline if that is required by some tools.
pburton
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2011 3:45 pm
Full Name: Philip Burton

Re: Error after vSphere update

Veeam Logoby pburton » Tue Jun 07, 2011 6:36 pm

I came across a website that explained how to manually edit a VMDK descriptor file to change the size of the VMDK. Once you modify the descriptor you have to migrate the VM to a different datastore. I shut down my VM and then used Veeam Fast SCP to connect to my datastore and edited the descriptor file. My VM's data drive was 256GB and I wanted it around 250GB to hopefully fix my inability to create snapshots and backups. See this link for the instructions I followed: http://professionalvmware.com/2009/09/how-to-shrink-a-vmdk-file-in-esx/
My VMDK was 536870912. I wanted to make it roughly 97% as big as it was so after a little math and erring on the side of caution I used the number 520764784. Then since my VM was already shutdown, I cold migrated it from my RAID10 datastore to my RAID5 datastore. I checked the settings of the VM through vCenter and it shows that my data drive on that VM is 248GB... Perfect. Then I cold migrated it back to my RAID10 datastore and booted it up. Everything seems happy.

I do want to note that in Windows my partition on the data volume was not fully provisioned. My data partition on the volume was actually significantly smaller than the total size that Disk Manager in Windows reported the volume to be. I don't know if it would be a problem in Windows if my data partition was the full size of the volume or not, but in Windows Server 2008 you can shrink a partition, so if you have a Windows partition that is the full size of the volume, it might not be a bad idea to go ahead and shrink the partition in Windows down a bit before shrinking the actual VMDK file.

Try all of this at your own risk. It worked for me so I wanted to post it for anyone else who is in this same situation as something to consider trying. It was REALLY quick and easy to do. Even with the moves back and forth between datastores the whole process took less than 15 minutes, and YES, I have run a sucessful Veeam backup on that VM since I performed these steps.
pburton
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2011 3:45 pm
Full Name: Philip Burton

Freezing guest operating system errors

Veeam Logoby cby » Mon Jul 25, 2011 8:17 am

[merged]

Hi

I've been running Veeam backup with a number of RHEL5.n VMs. Last week I had to increase the disk size on one of the VMs from 200GB to 256GB (single partition). The VM in question has multiple disks across 2 datastores (1MB block size). When I tried to back up this particular VM Veeam failed with one of the following errors depending on whether backup was run with/without Vmware tools quiescence...

With Vmware tools quiescence:

Code: Select all
Freezing guest operating system
CreateSnapshot failed, vmRef "vm-8017", timeout "1800000", snName "VEEAM BACKUP TEMPORARY SNAPSHOT", snDescription "Please do not delete this snapshot. It is being used by Veeam Backup.", memory "False", quiesce "True"
Cannot create a quiesced snapshot because the create snapshot operation exceeded the time limit for holding off I/O in the frozen virtual machine.


Without Vmware tools quiescence:

Code: Select all
Freezing guest operating system
CreateSnapshot failed, vmRef "vm-8017", timeout "1800000", snName "VEEAM BACKUP TEMPORARY SNAPSHOT", snDescription "Please do not delete this snapshot. It is being used by Veeam Backup.", memory "False", quiesce "False"
File <unspecified filename> is larger than the maximum size supported by datastore '<unspecified datastore>

I thought that perhaps because the disk size was on the limit of the 1MB block size datastore that if I migrated it to a 2MB block size datastore it would solve the problem, but it made no difference -- same error messages. I also tried excluding the 256GB disk from the backup though, again, this made no difference.

I've trawled through the forum but not found the solution to this rather pressing problem. The same error messages are produced by Veeam versions 4.1.2 and 5.0.2 at the point of creating the VM snapshot with and without Vmware tools quiescence.

Any help appreciated.
cby
cby
Expert
 
Posts: 106
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 5:02 pm

Re: Error after vSphere update

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Jul 25, 2011 8:31 am

Your errors are not related to each other, to resolve the the last one please look through this thread, as for the first one, please contact our support team as it is explained when you click New Topic. Thanks.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Error after vSphere update

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Mon Jul 25, 2011 11:09 am

Actually, the first one is known issue with VMware Tools quiescence. Disable it, and use the application-aware image processing option in backup job settings instead.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21390
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Error after vSphere update

Veeam Logoby cby » Thu Aug 11, 2011 7:18 am

Here are couple of things which worked for me:

- Try migrating the .vmx file to the datastore with the largest block size

- If you are running at the optimum file size for the designated block size (i.e. 256GB partition on a 1MB block datastore) try reducing this by 1GB (e.g. 256GB --> 255GB) using a Linux live CD with gparted (e.g. System rescue CD)

If you are familiar with the layout of the .vmx file you can leave it in place but define a different location for snapshots if different from default VM (see http://kb.vmware.com/selfservice/micros ... Id=1002929). I haven't tried this so can't vouch for its efficacy.

I guess others have covered this!

cby
cby
Expert
 
Posts: 106
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 5:02 pm

Re: Error after vSphere update

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Thu Aug 11, 2011 10:13 am

Changing workingDir is probably the easiest fix. By default, if workingDir is not set, so datastore with VMX file is used to hold snapshots (which is why moving VMX help). No need to edit VMX directly, you can add the setting through vSphere client. Power off VM, then go to vSphere Client > Select VM> Summary > Options > General > Configuration Parameters > Add Row. Add workingDir parameter as per KB above. Power on VM.

The good news is, this whole issue is going away with vSphere 5, because VMFS5 will have the same block size no matter of datastore size.

Thanks!
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21390
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

PreviousNext

Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests