Error after vSphere update

VMware specific discussions

Still not able to backup due to block size

Veeam Logoby cas_three » Thu May 31, 2012 2:42 pm

[merged]

I'm trying to backup my VM, but keep getting 5/30/2012 1:47:00 AM :: Error: File <unspecified filename> is larger than the maximum size supported by datastore '<unspecified datastore>

I have made sure that my block size is set to 8mb. I don't know what else to do?

Thank you!
cas_three
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 5:23 pm
Full Name: Carrie Shaw

File <unspecified filename> is larger than the maximum size

Veeam Logoby xunil321 » Fri Jul 27, 2012 9:51 am

[merged]

Dear all,
at the beginning of a backup job for our VM we are getting this (famous) message:
File <unspecified filename> is larger than the maximum size
Of course we had a look to this topic here: Backup job failing on 1 VM
but this is not the answer to our problem.
Indeed our VM has 2 disks but they are within the same vmfs5 datastore:
Disk01 – 80GB stored on STORE01 with a 1MB Block size
Disk02 – 1998,04687GB stored on STORE01 with a 1MB Block size
STORE01 has still around 165GB free space.
Is this free space vpossibly to less?
Thanks for any hint!
Rainer
xunil321
Influencer
 
Posts: 14
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2012 1:45 pm

Re: Error after vSphere update

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Jul 27, 2012 10:04 am

Where is the VMX file located at?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19564
Liked: 1104 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Error after vSphere update

Veeam Logoby xunil321 » Mon Jul 30, 2012 4:00 pm

Sorry for the delay, dear Vitaly!
Our VMX file is located in the STORE01 datastore
ie [STORE01]/TEST folder where TEST is our VM's name.
Disk02 is in [STORE01]/TEST_1.
Should I show the TEST.vmx content?
Regards, Rainer
xunil321
Influencer
 
Posts: 14
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2012 1:45 pm

Re: Error after vSphere update

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Jul 30, 2012 4:11 pm

Are you able to create the snapshot of this VM through vSphere Client manually?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19564
Liked: 1104 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Error after vSphere update

Veeam Logoby xunil321 » Tue Jul 31, 2012 6:46 am

No!
I got the same error:
File <unspecified filename> is larger than the maximum size
xunil321
Influencer
 
Posts: 14
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2012 1:45 pm

Re: Error after vSphere update

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Tue Jul 31, 2012 7:29 am

Then this issue has nothing to deal with Veeam. Read the beginning of this topic.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21396
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Error after vSphere update

Veeam Logoby KeithW » Tue Oct 02, 2012 10:04 pm

I realized this is "off topic", but in the interests of helping out a fellow administrator, reference this link for your solution. In essence, the disparity in block sizes between your VMFS datastores is what is causing the issue, if you migrate the VMDKs to datastores with the same block size you should be fine.

https://support.quest.com/SolutionDetai ... d=SOL76519
KeithW
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 4:40 pm
Full Name: Keith Wiedemann

Re: Error after vSphere update

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Tue Oct 02, 2012 10:39 pm

Actually, this issue is described in Veeam's own support KB as well
http://cp.veeam.com/knowledgebase/article/KB1091
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21396
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

[MERGED] Snapshot creation

Veeam Logoby mgd5 » Fri Nov 23, 2012 12:55 pm

Hi

when performing backup with proxyservers is it the proxy that handels the snapshot?. I have had an error where the server that is backuped got error that the vmdk is bigger than the maximum file size supported on datastore.

first when i tried to backup both server being backed 542 GB and proxyserver was on a 1024GB 80GB free vmfs with a 2mb blocksize. moved 500GB server it to a new VMFS with 4 mb blocksize an ran backup only to find out the same error. First when i moved proxyserver to the same vmfs as backed server the backup started to run ok.?????


Regards

MGD
mgd5
Influencer
 
Posts: 20
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2012 6:36 am
Full Name: Christer Sundqvist

Re: Error after vSphere update

Veeam Logoby mgd5 » Fri Nov 23, 2012 1:36 pm

-
mgd5
Influencer
 
Posts: 20
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2012 6:36 am
Full Name: Christer Sundqvist

Re: Error after vSphere update

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri Nov 23, 2012 2:07 pm

Christer, while I can explain the error before migrating the VMs to the new datastore (this is right what this thread all about), I can only guess regarding the error after the migration of the VM being backed. Are you sure the error was exactly the same in this case?
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14743
Liked: 1081 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Error after vSphere update

Veeam Logoby mgd5 » Fri Nov 23, 2012 2:25 pm

Yes in the agent.log presents the same error. as i said earlier now that proxy and vm being backed up is on the new datastore it works. therfor my question, is it backupproxy who handels the snapshot?
mgd5
Influencer
 
Posts: 20
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2012 6:36 am
Full Name: Christer Sundqvist

Re: Error after vSphere update

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri Nov 23, 2012 2:40 pm

Actually, neither proxy nor any other Veeam B&R component does perform any snapshot processing. All we do is issue a snapshot creation VMware API call and all the rest is done by VMware.

My guess was that proxy could not hotadd the VM's disks when it resided on a different datastore, but in this case the error would be different (and failover to network should be disabled).
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14743
Liked: 1081 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

[MERGED] : Backing up Veeam Server

Veeam Logoby hongman » Tue Jun 11, 2013 4:18 pm

Hi

This is NOT a question of if Veeam can back itself up, I have already read the threads which say it can as long as certain features are turned off in the settings.

I am running Veeam 6.5 and on vSphere 5.1. The VM also has some storage attached as backup datastores.

Now, all I want to do is backup the system drive (OS) so my job is as follows:

Name: Veeam Server
Virtual Machines: Added VM, selected only System Disk (summary here still shows VM size as 1.9TB though)
Storage: Backup Proxy - Automatic | Backup Repository - One of its own backup drives
Advanced: Reversed Incremental | VMware Tools quiescence is OFF
Guest Processing: No options ticked

The error I get is " Creating VM snapshot Error: File <unspecified filename> is larger than the maximum size supported by datastore '<unspecified datastore>"

I think this is because it is still "seeing" the backup datastores which are a couple of TB.

How do I get around this?
hongman
Influencer
 
Posts: 16
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2012 3:35 pm

PreviousNext

Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 11 guests