Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
cas_three
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 23, 2012 5:23 pm
Full Name: Carrie Shaw
Contact:

Still not able to backup due to block size

Post by cas_three » May 31, 2012 2:42 pm

[merged]

I'm trying to backup my VM, but keep getting 5/30/2012 1:47:00 AM :: Error: File <unspecified filename> is larger than the maximum size supported by datastore '<unspecified datastore>

I have made sure that my block size is set to 8mb. I don't know what else to do?

Thank you!

xunil321
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 25, 2012 1:45 pm
Contact:

File <unspecified filename> is larger than the maximum size

Post by xunil321 » Jul 27, 2012 9:51 am

[merged]

Dear all,
at the beginning of a backup job for our VM we are getting this (famous) message:
File <unspecified filename> is larger than the maximum size
Of course we had a look to this topic here: Backup job failing on 1 VM
but this is not the answer to our problem.
Indeed our VM has 2 disks but they are within the same vmfs5 datastore:
Disk01 – 80GB stored on STORE01 with a 1MB Block size
Disk02 – 1998,04687GB stored on STORE01 with a 1MB Block size
STORE01 has still around 165GB free space.
Is this free space vpossibly to less?
Thanks for any hint!
Rainer

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22311
Liked: 1415 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Error after vSphere update

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jul 27, 2012 10:04 am

Where is the VMX file located at?

xunil321
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 25, 2012 1:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Error after vSphere update

Post by xunil321 » Jul 30, 2012 4:00 pm

Sorry for the delay, dear Vitaly!
Our VMX file is located in the STORE01 datastore
ie [STORE01]/TEST folder where TEST is our VM's name.
Disk02 is in [STORE01]/TEST_1.
Should I show the TEST.vmx content?
Regards, Rainer

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22311
Liked: 1415 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Error after vSphere update

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jul 30, 2012 4:11 pm

Are you able to create the snapshot of this VM through vSphere Client manually?

xunil321
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 25, 2012 1:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Error after vSphere update

Post by xunil321 » Jul 31, 2012 6:46 am

No!
I got the same error:
File <unspecified filename> is larger than the maximum size

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24020
Liked: 3255 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Error after vSphere update

Post by Gostev » Jul 31, 2012 7:29 am

Then this issue has nothing to deal with Veeam. Read the beginning of this topic.

KeithW
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 30, 2012 4:40 pm
Full Name: Keith Wiedemann
Contact:

Re: Error after vSphere update

Post by KeithW » Oct 02, 2012 10:04 pm

I realized this is "off topic", but in the interests of helping out a fellow administrator, reference this link for your solution. In essence, the disparity in block sizes between your VMFS datastores is what is causing the issue, if you migrate the VMDKs to datastores with the same block size you should be fine.

https://support.quest.com/SolutionDetai ... d=SOL76519

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24020
Liked: 3255 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Error after vSphere update

Post by Gostev » Oct 02, 2012 10:39 pm

Actually, this issue is described in Veeam's own support KB as well
http://cp.veeam.com/knowledgebase/article/KB1091

mgd5
Enthusiast
Posts: 25
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 05, 2012 6:36 am
Full Name: Christer Sundqvist
Contact:

[MERGED] Snapshot creation

Post by mgd5 » Nov 23, 2012 12:55 pm

Hi

when performing backup with proxyservers is it the proxy that handels the snapshot?. I have had an error where the server that is backuped got error that the vmdk is bigger than the maximum file size supported on datastore.

first when i tried to backup both server being backed 542 GB and proxyserver was on a 1024GB 80GB free vmfs with a 2mb blocksize. moved 500GB server it to a new VMFS with 4 mb blocksize an ran backup only to find out the same error. First when i moved proxyserver to the same vmfs as backed server the backup started to run ok.?????


Regards

MGD

mgd5
Enthusiast
Posts: 25
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 05, 2012 6:36 am
Full Name: Christer Sundqvist
Contact:

Re: Error after vSphere update

Post by mgd5 » Nov 23, 2012 1:36 pm

-

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17717
Liked: 1482 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Error after vSphere update

Post by foggy » Nov 23, 2012 2:07 pm

Christer, while I can explain the error before migrating the VMs to the new datastore (this is right what this thread all about), I can only guess regarding the error after the migration of the VM being backed. Are you sure the error was exactly the same in this case?

mgd5
Enthusiast
Posts: 25
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 05, 2012 6:36 am
Full Name: Christer Sundqvist
Contact:

Re: Error after vSphere update

Post by mgd5 » Nov 23, 2012 2:25 pm

Yes in the agent.log presents the same error. as i said earlier now that proxy and vm being backed up is on the new datastore it works. therfor my question, is it backupproxy who handels the snapshot?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17717
Liked: 1482 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Error after vSphere update

Post by foggy » Nov 23, 2012 2:40 pm

Actually, neither proxy nor any other Veeam B&R component does perform any snapshot processing. All we do is issue a snapshot creation VMware API call and all the rest is done by VMware.

My guess was that proxy could not hotadd the VM's disks when it resided on a different datastore, but in this case the error would be different (and failover to network should be disabled).

hongman
Influencer
Posts: 16
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 18, 2012 3:35 pm
Contact:

[MERGED] : Backing up Veeam Server

Post by hongman » Jun 11, 2013 4:18 pm

Hi

This is NOT a question of if Veeam can back itself up, I have already read the threads which say it can as long as certain features are turned off in the settings.

I am running Veeam 6.5 and on vSphere 5.1. The VM also has some storage attached as backup datastores.

Now, all I want to do is backup the system drive (OS) so my job is as follows:

Name: Veeam Server
Virtual Machines: Added VM, selected only System Disk (summary here still shows VM size as 1.9TB though)
Storage: Backup Proxy - Automatic | Backup Repository - One of its own backup drives
Advanced: Reversed Incremental | VMware Tools quiescence is OFF
Guest Processing: No options ticked

The error I get is " Creating VM snapshot Error: File <unspecified filename> is larger than the maximum size supported by datastore '<unspecified datastore>"

I think this is because it is still "seeing" the backup datastores which are a couple of TB.

How do I get around this?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: secretdk and 23 guests