Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
mikeely
Enthusiast
Posts: 84
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Nov 07, 2016 7:39 pm
Full Name: Mike Ely
Contact:

Feature Request for Virtual Lab: 2 subnets 1 port

Post by mikeely » Nov 30, 2017 10:49 pm

Sorry for vague title, but ran out of chars in the subject line when trying to be more clear.

Here's our problem: we have the bulk of our VMs at one site live on a vSphere port group whose addresses look something like this (I've obfuscated the actual addresses as they're non-private the masks are accurate):
192.168.1.32/27 gw 192.168.1.33
192.168.1.128/26 gw 192.168.1.129

This works fine in VMWare but per case 02405885 it's not possible to support this configuration in the Veeam virtual lab. The fact that VMWare supports it is my justification for the feature add.

Can we please add this level of compatibility to Veeam so that we can actually use the virtual lab? Thanks!
Unless otherwise specified, I am asking about something pertaining to Linux. We use Windows as infrequently as possible, and enthusiastically seek ways to reduce that usage further.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18285
Liked: 1568 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Feature Request for Virtual Lab: 2 subnets 1 port

Post by foggy » Dec 11, 2017 3:51 pm

Thanks for the request, Mike. Indeed, such configuration is currently not possible, unless you create two separate virtual labs for different types of addressing and distribute VMs between SureBackup jobs manually.

mikeely
Enthusiast
Posts: 84
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Nov 07, 2016 7:39 pm
Full Name: Mike Ely
Contact:

Re: Feature Request for Virtual Lab: 2 subnets 1 port

Post by mikeely » Dec 11, 2017 4:41 pm

foggy wrote:Thanks for the request, Mike. Indeed, such configuration is currently not possible, unless you create two separate virtual labs for different types of addressing and distribute VMs between SureBackup jobs manually.
...which unfortunately won't work at all if the virtual application that needs to be tested within a SureBackup job utilizes VMs in both network segments, as is currently the case for something I was hoping to do. :(
Unless otherwise specified, I am asking about something pertaining to Linux. We use Windows as infrequently as possible, and enthusiastically seek ways to reduce that usage further.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ahenselmans, foggy, Google [Bot] and 24 guests