How long should a Health Check take to run?

VMware specific discussions

How long should a Health Check take to run?

Veeam Logoby v_user » Tue Feb 07, 2017 4:12 am

I have 3 veeam backup jobs that I am running additional backup copy jobs with. I am backing up locally to a Synology NAS then copying across a 50Mb link to another Synology NAS.

Job 1 - Full Backup = 120GB
Job 2 - Full Backup = 500GB
Job 3 - Full backup = 1.2TB

The health check on the 500GB backup took about 2.5 hours to run, the health check on the 1.2TB file has been running for 17 hours now and only completed 22%. Can anyone explain what the disparity would be between these two jobs and their running time? Would it be possible to have a option in the future to dismiss the health check and proceed with the job?

While on the topic of the backup copy jobs, I found the help information to be incredibly light on useful information. Even a basic explanation on how the jobs work would be beneficial. I'm still trying to figure out how the backup copy windows work and the lack of documentation and information is very frustrating.
v_user
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2017 4:00 am

Re: How long should a Health Check take to run?

Veeam Logoby Andreas Neufert » Tue Feb 07, 2017 9:16 am

Hi, Health check read out all data from the last restore point. So it will read many random reads from the storage. So the Storage can be the bottleneck.
Depending on your version and how you added the repository the server used for the health check and their network connection can be as well a bottleneck when WAN links are used.
Can you please describe how you added the Synology NAS ?
Any Veeam component placed behind a WAN Link?
10GbE or 1GbE?
Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2289
Liked: 382 times
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Location: Germany
Full Name: @AndyandtheVMs Veeam PM

Re: How long should a Health Check take to run?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Feb 07, 2017 1:56 pm

v_user wrote:I'm still trying to figure out how the backup copy windows work and the lack of documentation and information is very frustrating.

Do you mean the copy interval setting or the data transfer window?
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15282
Liked: 1131 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: How long should a Health Check take to run?

Veeam Logoby v_user » Wed Feb 08, 2017 12:43 am

Hi Andreas,

- I have Veeam running at the production site with a proxy installed at the remote site.
- The repositories have been added as CIFS with automatic gateway selection.
- I have a 50Mb link between the sites.

Foggy -

Sorry - I meant copy interval. If I set the job to copy every day, starting at 2am, when will the backup copy commence? At 2am, when the source backup completes or 24 hours after the first sync? And what happens when I have 3 separate backup jobs, will they run concurrently or in series?
v_user
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2017 4:00 am

Re: How long should a Health Check take to run?

Veeam Logoby Andreas Neufert » Wed Feb 08, 2017 7:13 am

Automatic GW Selection is the problem.
With v9 and earlier the B&R Server run all background tasks, with v9.5 the mount server.

Select the Proxy (same site as the CIFS share) as GW Server that should fix it.
Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2289
Liked: 382 times
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Location: Germany
Full Name: @AndyandtheVMs Veeam PM

Re: How long should a Health Check take to run?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Feb 08, 2017 10:11 am

v_user wrote:Sorry - I meant copy interval. If I set the job to copy every day, starting at 2am, when will the backup copy commence? At 2am, when the source backup completes or 24 hours after the first sync? And what happens when I have 3 separate backup jobs, will they run concurrently or in series?

Backup copy monitors the source backup files created within the interval and starts copying immediately once they appear. That's why it is typically recommended to set the interval to start several minutes after the source backup job starts, to optimize the overall backup window. If you have several source jobs, data will be processed for each of them when the corresponding backup files appear.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15282
Liked: 1131 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest