Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
JoeIanni
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 27, 2011 2:40 am
Full Name: Joseph Ianni
Contact:

How to hide certain target network in v6

Post by JoeIanni »

Hi,

Is it possible to hide certain target networks in the version 6. I have managed to hide datastores, folders and resource pools but having difficult in hiding selective VMkernel Ports and Virtual Machine Port Groups. Even though I created a no access permissions for certain networks in vCentre located in Inventory > Network > I am still manage to see the entire network list. It appears to be grabbing the list from the servers directly, where I don't believe I can set the permissions.

Any help would be appreciated.
Regards,
Joe

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26693
Liked: 4273 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: How to hide certain target network in v6

Post by Gostev »

Hi Joe, v6 does not provide functionality to "hide" any object types you have mentioned above, so I am not even sure what you are talking about? Thanks.

JoeIanni
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 27, 2011 2:40 am
Full Name: Joseph Ianni
Contact:

Re: How to hide certain target network in v6

Post by JoeIanni »

Considering the way v6 works now I would redesign the environment for replication, but since we have a stable process in place I want to maintain it for the short term with the aim of moving towards a better solution (we have deployed proxies which have improved times greatly). Currently we have various branches that replicate back to a DR (vsphere cluster), the local branch admin has full access to the Veeam servers at each branch. We have security sectioned this previously by a matter of lack of features in v5. No resource pool, folders or networks to choose from, the only thing was the datastore, which we have been able secure using permissions in the VI client on vCenter. When selecting a datastore to replicate too, it would only present the allocated storage and not all storage from the DR Cluster.

Now with v6 we have the ability to show the additional resources I would still like to present only what is required to these branches. I have been successful in setting permissions for RP, and folders but not for Networks. Again, all these were set in vCenter. Unfortunately networks permissions does not apply to veeam in this case. as indicated previously, in the replication job when I select network mapping and browse Target Mapping, it will show all network list including iSCSI. I want the ability to only show specific networks assigned to the branch office and nothing more. I understand there are no features in Veeam to hide this but I was hoping there is a work around to accomplish this in VMware like I have done for the datastore, RP and folders.

Thanks in advance,
Regards,
Joe

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26693
Liked: 4273 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: How to hide certain target network in v6

Post by Gostev »

Oh, I see - thanks for the explanation. I will ask around and see if anyone can suggest anything.

stevenrodenburg1
Expert
Posts: 132
Liked: 20 times
Joined: May 31, 2011 9:11 am
Full Name: Steven Rodenburg
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: How to hide certain target network in v6

Post by stevenrodenburg1 »

What JoeIanni is basically asking for is "Role Based Access Control" within Veeam B&R itself. For objects and them being Context- / Location-aware.

I would like to see User-based RBAC for enterprises where the Backup-team consists of serveral people. When admins are responsible for specific virtualised servers, they can only work within their scope thanks to vCenter RBAC.
It would be good if this self-responsibility and supportability extends to them making their own backup-schedules and do restores etc. This requires RBAC in Veeam.

JoeIanni
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 27, 2011 2:40 am
Full Name: Joseph Ianni
Contact:

Re: How to hide certain target network in v6

Post by JoeIanni »

Hi Gostev,

Is there any workaround to this?

Regards,
Joe

richlane79
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: May 10, 2012 10:17 am
Contact:

Re: How to hide certain target network in v6

Post by richlane79 »

I would also like see this RBAC structure, particularly in the Enterpsie Manager file restore ability.

Currently any File Restore Operator has the ability to browse the files of any protected server, and either download or restore them to the server.

While this is techinically a great feature, we can't use it extensively because these operators cannot be restricted to certain servers.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 38 guests