Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
jfarr2008
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: May 06, 2010 7:04 pm
Full Name: Jeremy Farr
Location: Anniston, AL
Contact:

Install VEEAM and vCenter on same server?

Post by jfarr2008 » May 07, 2010 9:29 pm

Are there any issues with vCenter and VEEAM Backup existing on the same physical server? I will eventually move vCenter to another server once I have everything sorted out if I need to. Thoughts? Comments?

Thanks!

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24174
Liked: 3301 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Install VEEAM and vCenter on same server?

Post by Gostev » May 07, 2010 10:36 pm

Hi Jeremy, this should be fine, I have not heard of any issues reported with such deployment scenario before.

However, I want to note that it only makes sense to install Veeam Backup on a physical computer if it is connected into the SAN fabric, this will enable you to perform direct from SAN backups (good thing!). Otherwise, if there is no SAN connectivity, you will only be able to do backups over LAN, and this works pretty slow on ESX4. Installing Veeam Backup in a VM and using Virtual Appliance mode will give you much better performance than network backup (just give the VM 4 vCPU).

Thanks!

jfarr2008
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: May 06, 2010 7:04 pm
Full Name: Jeremy Farr
Location: Anniston, AL
Contact:

Re: Install VEEAM and vCenter on same server?

Post by jfarr2008 » May 08, 2010 4:19 am

We have a small environment, were are planning to use ESXi and local storage. So would your suggestion still be best practice? I must have missed Virtual Appliance mode in my user guide.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24174
Liked: 3301 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Install VEEAM and vCenter on same server?

Post by Gostev » May 08, 2010 8:21 am

How many hosts do you have?

jfarr2008
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: May 06, 2010 7:04 pm
Full Name: Jeremy Farr
Location: Anniston, AL
Contact:

Re: Install VEEAM and vCenter on same server?

Post by jfarr2008 » May 08, 2010 1:27 pm

We have 3 hosts total. We use the vSphere Essentials package.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24174
Liked: 3301 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Install VEEAM and vCenter on same server?

Post by Gostev » May 08, 2010 7:05 pm

Virtual Appliance mode is best with shared storage, because ESX running Veeam Backup VM must have access to all VM is backs up, no matter which host they run on. However, in you case (multiple hosts with local storage), network backup mode indeed seems to be the only option. On the other hand, you probably don't have that many VMs to worry about slower network backup performance.

I would recommend setting up 3 jobs (one per host), using vStorage API processing mode ("Network" option), and running all jobs in parallel for best overall performance and smallest backup window. Initial job run will take a few hours (this is when full backups will be created), however all further job runs will read changed blocks only, and thus will finish up to 10 times faster.

jfarr2008
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: May 06, 2010 7:04 pm
Full Name: Jeremy Farr
Location: Anniston, AL
Contact:

Re: Install VEEAM and vCenter on same server?

Post by jfarr2008 » May 09, 2010 3:08 am

Ok, great. I'm really looking forward to getting this setup. This is going to really enhance our DR strategy and make me look like solid gold! Not to mention ease backup and recovery. I appreciate your input on this.

skayser
Enthusiast
Posts: 27
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 13, 2010 8:28 am
Full Name: Sebastian Kayser

Re: Install VEEAM and vCenter on same server?

Post by skayser » Jul 26, 2010 12:08 pm

Is it possible to not only use the same server as vCenter, but also share the SQL Express database or install a second one alongside (not much of a SQL specialist)? I am trying to come up with a minimalistic setup for a mostly linux-based environment. Currently, their vCenter server (with SQL express) is their only windows host and it would be the path with the least resistance to also place VBR there.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22527
Liked: 1475 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Install VEEAM and vCenter on same server?

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jul 26, 2010 1:58 pm

Hi Sebastian, you can use both, local or a remote SQL Server to store Veeam Backup and Replication configuration database. For more information please have a look at the corresponding topic: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup server?

JJAA
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 16, 2010 10:08 pm
Full Name: Jean-Jacques Astier
Contact:

Re: Install VEEAM and vCenter on same server?

Post by JJAA » Mar 05, 2011 2:45 am

Hello, I faced the same problem, stoping IIS admin was not enough but stoping IIS did it.
I suppose installing Search server and going along with Sharepoint services setup didn't help.
Veeam Enterprise manager uses IIS too.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22527
Liked: 1475 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Install VEEAM and vCenter on same server?

Post by Vitaliy S. » Mar 05, 2011 10:01 am

Jean-Jacques, that's correct. As for best practices I wouldn't recommend mixing vCenter Server installation with other products.

stevil
Expert
Posts: 112
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Sep 02, 2010 2:23 pm
Full Name: Steve B
Location: Manchester, UK
Contact:

Veeam installed on vCenter VM

Post by stevil » Apr 07, 2011 10:27 am

[merged]

Is it recommended to install Veeam on/off a vCenter server?

We've done this a few times without issue, but at one site we have a replication running every hour where we occasionally get errors with snapshots not being removed. One of the reasons given in the log is that vCenter was too busy to service the request in a timely fashion. I'm thinking that Veeam is hogging the vCenter VM and stopping it completing the task quickly enough.

I could just create a new Vm and move Veeam to it, but it's extra work I could do without at the moment :mrgreen:

Any thoughts?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22527
Liked: 1475 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Install VEEAM and vCenter on same server?

Post by Vitaliy S. » Apr 07, 2011 1:32 pm

stevil wrote:One of the reasons given in the log is that vCenter was too busy to service the request in a timely fashion. I'm thinking that Veeam is hogging the vCenter VM and stopping it completing the task quickly enough.
Yes, I think you've nailed it, moreover I guess it might also happen if you try to use any other resource-intensive software on this machine.

By the way what's the hardware configuration for this vCenter Server? Is it powerfull enough? Furthermore, how do you protect this vCenter Server? Anyway, reading back through my posts above I suggest having two seprate machines, one for backup console and another for vCenter Server.

silviom
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 27, 2013 2:22 pm
Full Name: Silvio
Contact:

Re: Install VEEAM and vCenter on same server?

Post by silviom » Jun 27, 2013 5:20 pm

Hi, we are planning to install Veeam backup and SQL express on the same vCenter VM server, do you have an estimation of the requirements (RAM, vCPUs, etc) for such machine?

vCenter is managing an environment consisting of 19 cores, 4 datacenters, 2 or 3 hosts per datacenters, 10 – 20 VMs per host.

Thanks!

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22527
Liked: 1475 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Install VEEAM and vCenter on same server?

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jun 27, 2013 9:46 pm

Hi Silvio,

My answer would be it depends. It depends on whether you're going to use default proxy server or you will have a dedicated machine doing all the job. Anyway, please take a look at our system requirements for Veeam B&R server (included with your download) and make sure your vCenter Server and Veeam B&R have enough resources to share.

Btw, what is your current vCenter Server VM configuration?

Thanks!

v.eremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16342
Liked: 1344 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Install VEEAM and vCenter on same server?

Post by v.eremin » Jun 28, 2013 8:07 am

Additionally, and if you’re planning to utilize this VB&R instance also as a default proxy server, kindly keep the following proxy resource considerations in mind:

Ram : 2GB + 2GB*Concurrent Job
(v)CPU : 2*Concurrent Job


Thanks.

silviom
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 27, 2013 2:22 pm
Full Name: Silvio
Contact:

Re: Install VEEAM and vCenter on same server?

Post by silviom » Jun 28, 2013 3:25 pm

Hi guys, thanks for the replies.

The vCenter machine will contain SQL + Veeam backup & repl console and a proxy for one local datacenter (there will be dedicated backup proxies for the other datacenters because they are geographically separated)

Usually we'll have only one concurrent job for each backup proxy at a time.

Currently vCenter has 2 vcpus and 2GB RAM; I guess that 4 vcpus and 8-10 GB RAM will be enough for that scenario, right? (4GB Veeam console & SQL + 2GB backup proxy + 2-4GB vCenter)

Regards,
Silvio

v.eremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16342
Liked: 1344 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Install VEEAM and vCenter on same server?

Post by v.eremin » Jun 28, 2013 3:45 pm

Assuming that, you’ll run only on job per time, you should be ok with the aforesaid deployment. To be on the safe side, though, it might be wort adding few GB of RAM to this server. Also, I recommend you to set 1 as a maximum number of concurrent task default proxy can handle, it guarantees that your server wouldn't be overloaded with backup tasks.

Thanks.

yizhar
Service Provider
Posts: 179
Liked: 48 times
Joined: Sep 03, 2012 5:28 am
Full Name: Yizhar Hurwitz
Contact:

Re: Install VEEAM and vCenter on same server?

Post by yizhar » Jun 30, 2013 5:20 pm

Hi.

I would go with more RAM.
For VCenter - recommended 8gb so that you can also install vsphere web client (unless you plan to install it on other host).
Add some more RAM for Veeam, so I suggest that you have 16gb (or atleast 12gb) on the shared VC+Veeam host.

Yizhar

vdesktopguy
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 24, 2013 1:47 pm
Contact:

[MERGED] Very small Environment

Post by vdesktopguy » Jul 24, 2013 1:51 pm

Hey folks,

I am doing a very small installation, one server on the primary site (physical) and the DR side is one ESXi host with a win2k8 R2 vCenter server. Can the vCenter also serve as the proxy and repository? The user doesn't want to purchase another windows license.

The replication will be about 15 VM's and less than 1TB of total data with a average to low change rate.

Thanks,

vdesktopguy

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17915
Liked: 1506 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Install VEEAM and vCenter on same server?

Post by foggy » Jul 24, 2013 2:29 pm

Considering the backup load you're going to have, I would say that it's ok to have the target side proxy role assigned to vCenter VM. Regarding repository, it is recommended to have the repository at the source side to be responsible for storing replica metadata. Otherwise this could seriously affect replication performance.

tuscani
Enthusiast
Posts: 62
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Dec 28, 2012 8:00 pm
Full Name: Justin Durrant
Contact:

Re: Install VEEAM and vCenter on same server?

Post by tuscani » Jul 25, 2013 2:45 pm

Just to add.. we have several small clients that run vCenter and VEEAM on the same server.. never had an issue doing so.

stevenfoo
Expert
Posts: 103
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jun 26, 2009 3:11 am
Full Name: Steven Foo
Contact:

Re: Install VEEAM and vCenter on same server?

Post by stevenfoo » Mar 17, 2014 1:12 am

Opinion needed.

We have an existing veeam backup 6.x located on old physical server windows 2003. Our vcenter appliance in located at another old physical server. We backup our VMs via our backup LAN.

We would like to purchase a new server and install veeam backup 7.x and also vcenter into windows 2008 R2 SP1 64 bit.
It's like consolidate both of them into 1 server.

1) We understand that both will be using sql express windows 2008 SP2 database by default? Can they shared? Any issue if they do? We only have 4 physical (max 2 CPU 4-6core each) VMware host with around 20 VMs to backup and manage.

2) We 10GB size and 1 CPU limit for the sql express version is that sufficient to perform?

3) Is it a good idea to install veeam into VM?
Understand that certain functionality required on veeam require physical server to work? eg. single file restore.

v.eremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16342
Liked: 1344 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Install VEEAM and vCenter on same server?

Post by v.eremin » Mar 17, 2014 9:05 am

With such a small virtual infrastructure, you can, probably, stick to SQL Server Express and all-in-one deployment. You can see this topic for more information regarding SQL Express limitations and VB&R server recommendations.
Understand that certain functionality required on veeam require physical server to work?
Currently, we only require physical VB&R server for tape device support. However, even this limitation can be bypassed with certain workarounds. All other functionality works flawlessly with both physical and virtual backup management servers.

Thanks.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22527
Liked: 1475 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Install VEEAM and vCenter on same server?

Post by Vitaliy S. » Mar 17, 2014 9:22 am

stevenfoo wrote:1) We understand that both will be using sql express windows 2008 SP2 database by default? Can they shared? Any issue if they do? We only have 4 physical (max 2 CPU 4-6core each) VMware host with around 20 VMs to backup and manage.
You can share the same SQL Server instance, but not the database.
stevenfoo wrote:2) We 10GB size and 1 CPU limit for the sql express version is that sufficient to perform?
I would suggest sticking to SQL Server recommended system configuration, should be sufficient.

stevenfoo
Expert
Posts: 103
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jun 26, 2009 3:11 am
Full Name: Steven Foo
Contact:

Re: Install VEEAM and vCenter on same server?

Post by stevenfoo » Mar 18, 2014 12:33 am

All,

What is the preferred case?

Option 1)
Installed Veeam and vcenter on top of windows 2008 R2 SP1 on vmware ESXi as VM

Option 2)
Installed veeam on top of windows 2008 R2 SP1 on vmware ESXi as VM and vcenter as virtual appliance on separate M

Option 3)
Install both on a physically windows 2008 R2 SP1 machine.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22527
Liked: 1475 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Install VEEAM and vCenter on same server?

Post by Vitaliy S. » Mar 18, 2014 9:21 am

Hi Steven,

I would say number two is preferable. It is always not a good idea to mix all important infrastructure services on the same server. And I wouldn't go with physical vCenter Server either, as in this case you will have to use other backup solution to protect it.

Thanks!

dellock6
Veeam Software
Posts: 5653
Liked: 1589 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca
Location: Varese, Italy
Contact:

Re: Install VEEAM and vCenter on same server?

Post by dellock6 » Mar 18, 2014 10:16 am

I would go with option 2 too. Since the vcenter appliance does not consumes any windows license, there is no real problem in using it, it has some limitations like the lack of Update Manager, but this role can then be installed on the Windows VM holding Veeam.
With two separated VMs, you can do maintenance operations (upgrades, patches, reboots...) to both without impacting the other one.
Luca Dell'Oca
Principal EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
https://www.virtualtothecore.com/
vExpert 2011 -> 2019
Veeam VMCE #1

BriFar
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 23
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Oct 24, 2011 12:55 pm
Full Name: Brian Farrugia
Location: Malta, Europe
Contact:

Re: Install VEEAM and vCenter on same server?

Post by BriFar » Mar 18, 2014 2:49 pm

If a physical machine is available, as per Option 3, would you consider an Option 4?
Veeam on a physical server and vcenter as a virtual appliance?

This might be a better fit should you wish to backup to tape? You will also have your backup resources separate from your production, unless you will be using the same storage.

stevenfoo
Expert
Posts: 103
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jun 26, 2009 3:11 am
Full Name: Steven Foo
Contact:

Re: Install VEEAM and vCenter on same server?

Post by stevenfoo » Mar 19, 2014 2:20 am

All,

Thank you for all your reply.

Depends on our budget:

Option 2) install veeam as VM and use vcenter appliance as VM in a ESXi environment
Option 4) install veeam as physical server and remain our existing vcenter virtual appliance as VM in the ESXi environment

In that case, it seems option 2 to consolidate both physical servers into one as install both on VM will a good idea case.

Any disadvantages running Veeam on VM? Does it able to restore single file or perform all the task as on a physical machine?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 19 guests