Keeping a surebackup running

VMware specific discussions

Keeping a surebackup running

Veeam Logoby Petta » Tue Jun 09, 2015 4:14 pm

How should I make a surebackup running for like a week or so? When I have a surebackup running and the nightly backups start the surebackup is killed. Do I have to create the surebackup job from a backup that is created soley for the surebackup purpose?

Thanks

P
Petta
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2015 3:59 pm

Re: Keeping a surebackup running

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Tue Jun 09, 2015 5:15 pm

Hi Petta,

SureBackup is a verification job which could be scheduled to run on a predefined schedule or started manually, so for your case you can schedule sure backup to run after the needed backup job. Here is a reference to Help Center - Creating a SureBackup Job
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6253
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Keeping a surebackup running

Veeam Logoby dellock6 » Wed Jun 10, 2015 9:07 am

Dima, I understood it differently: Petta would like to keep a surebackup job running for many days after it's started. This is not possible in normal circumstances as the new execution of a backup job involving the same backup set will shut down the surebackup job. A workaround quoted in other threads is to copy the backup set, import it as a new backup and use it as a source for surebackup, so that this set will not be used by any incoming backup job.
Luca Dell'Oca
EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
http://www.virtualtothecore.com
vExpert 2011-2012-2013-2014-2015-2016
Veeam VMCE #1
dellock6
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5052
Liked: 1331 times
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Location: Varese, Italy
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca

Re: Keeping a surebackup running

Veeam Logoby Petta » Wed Jun 10, 2015 10:13 am

delloc6, you are absolutely correct in your interpretation of my question :) I was thinking that your solution might work but beeing on a tight timeframe (and before I read your answer) I just created a new backupjob with all the servers needed. Then I created the surebackup from that job. Is this way okay or is there anything I forgot to think of?
Petta
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2015 3:59 pm

Re: Keeping a surebackup running

Veeam Logoby dellock6 » Wed Jun 10, 2015 10:36 am

No, it's ok. As long as the original job that you use to spin up the VMs is not executed, the virtual lab can be powered on as long as you need.
Luca Dell'Oca
EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
http://www.virtualtothecore.com
vExpert 2011-2012-2013-2014-2015-2016
Veeam VMCE #1
dellock6
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5052
Liked: 1331 times
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Location: Varese, Italy
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 30 guests