Moving To New Repository

VMware specific discussions

Re: Moving To New Repository

Veeam Logoby buddyfarr » Wed May 14, 2014 5:19 pm

No, I checked and made sure that there were no jobs running. I even tried rebooting my veeam server to make sure there were no lingering connections. we have a veeam server backing up to a Data Domain appliance.
buddyfarr
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 6:30 pm
Full Name: Buddy Farr

Re: Moving To New Repository

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed May 14, 2014 7:04 pm

No restoration tasks as well, no SureBackup/Instant Recovery? Any chance it is held by DD itself (DataDomain Retention Lock, for example)?
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Moving To New Repository

Veeam Logoby buddyfarr » Wed May 14, 2014 7:23 pm

yeah it is possibly in the Data Domain itself. still working on it. but there is nothing in Veeam that is holding it that I know of.
buddyfarr
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 6:30 pm
Full Name: Buddy Farr

Re: Moving To New Repository

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed May 14, 2014 7:25 pm

Let us know on your findings, please.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Moving To New Repository

Veeam Logoby buddyfarr » Wed May 14, 2014 7:26 pm

I just checked and there are no retention locks set on the Data Domain. It is currently disabled. hmmmmm....
buddyfarr
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 6:30 pm
Full Name: Buddy Farr

Re: Moving To New Repository

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed May 14, 2014 8:53 pm

I suggest contacting technical support then, they will be able to review this case via webex session and probably find something that is not so obvious through forum correspondence.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

[MERGED] : new backup location v7

Veeam Logoby CTCarp » Fri Jun 13, 2014 5:22 pm

I want to move my backups to a different drive and Veeam doesnt recognize the drive in the drop down is 'backup repository created by upgrade' and doesnt show the other drive. What do I need to do to have it see the drive? reinstall or change settings in add/remove programs ? the server recognizes the drive btw.
CTCarp
Influencer
 
Posts: 21
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2011 11:46 am

Re: new backup location v7

Veeam Logoby CTCarp » Fri Jun 13, 2014 5:45 pm

Sorry found it by poking around. I needed to add the repository and I am now importing backups and guest files.
CTCarp
Influencer
 
Posts: 21
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2011 11:46 am

Re: Moving To New Repository

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Sat Jun 14, 2014 10:01 am

Glad to hear that you've nailed it. Above you can find a complete description of migrating procedure. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Moving To New Repository

Veeam Logoby RomanAxBe » Thu Jun 19, 2014 6:41 am

Vitaliy S. wrote:Hello Justin, have you tried this procedure?

- Remove from Backups (do NOT delete)
- Move the files to the new repository
- Right click the repository -> Rescan Repository
- Edit the Job -> Pick New Repository and map the job to the existing backup files


After moving from Repsitory to a new Veeam server, the backup jobs must be exactly the same?
On the old Server was one backup job, now i want to do multiple jobs (schedule).

But VMs are always the same...
RomanAxBe
Influencer
 
Posts: 15
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2013 9:34 am

Re: Moving To New Repository

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Jun 19, 2014 9:10 am

You can split your job into multiple ones, however you would be able to map only one of them to the existing backup (you cannot map several jobs to the same backup), so other jobs would need to perform a full run.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

[MERGED] : changing repository and jobs

Veeam Logoby marky » Fri Jun 20, 2014 7:24 am

I want to change all my jobs and the repository they use, is there an easy way to do this without breaking the current backup schedules and history?

Thanks
marky
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 69
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2013 9:44 am
Full Name: Mark Coleman

Re: Moving To New Repository

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Jun 20, 2014 8:35 am

Please, see answers provided about for detailed instructions on how backup files can be moved to a new repository. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

[MERGED] Changing share name of CIFS backup repository drive

Veeam Logoby r.mckeon » Tue Aug 26, 2014 1:25 pm

I am using Veeam B&R 7.0. Currently I have some backup jobs which are using CIFS shares as backup repositories. Basically they are just external hard drives connected to a PC on the network. So I have a backup repository set for each external HDD, set as a CIFS backup repository, pointing to a network share mapped to a folder on the external drive. Now I need to move these hard drives to a new PC on the same network.

It seems that I cannot edit the share name of the CIFS share from the Backup Repository options in Veeam B&R (it's grayed out). Does this mean I have to create new backup repositories? Seeing as if before the share name to reach an external HDD was for example \\PC-A\share, it is now going to be for example \\PC-B\share. And if I create a new backup repository with the same settings except for the share name, will that affect the next backup run in any way? Are there any considerations I need to take?
r.mckeon
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 59
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Tue May 27, 2014 8:25 am
Full Name: Rick McKeon

Re: Moving To New Repository

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Aug 26, 2014 1:40 pm

Rick, please review the steps required to change the backup repository in the beginning of this thread. Thanks.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

PreviousNext

Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests